Steamer Quay Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Hi

Hi, I have previously written a review on this campsite, however I feel I must add to it Following a very wet spell in the beginning of the season, most responsible members were impressed with the site managers constant effort to try and keep the pitches in good condition, having travelled extensively during the summer, one gets used to the gradual deterioration of grass pitches through constant use, not at Steamer quay! The pitches were outstanding! It was so nice to return for the last week of the site opening to find the pitches were as green as the day the site opened, what with that and the gorgeous weather, it made for a very pleasant stay, thank you Marianne and Kev for your efforts On another topic, it never ceases to amaze me how some dog owners think it perfectly acceptable to let their animal do it’s business on someone else’s pitch! The practice seems to be getting worse each year and surely the club should enforce the ruling that dogs should be kept on a short lead at all times whilst on site, and in the case of Steamer Quay, it clearly states in the book that there is no dog walk on site, so come on dog owners give us all a break eh?,,,not everyone loves your beloved pet!., Finally, arrival time,,,there is very limited access at the reception at Steamer Quay,and as it states, arrival time is 1pm, luckily for Motor homers, there is a place further down the road that they are able to park up and wait for the arrival time if they turn up early, but the car park does not allow caravans,so if you have a caravan,make sure you don’t get there too early as there really is nowhere you can go without blocking off the roadway,, and you really don’t want to face the wrath of the site managers if you do,,so be warned!!

Indeboy

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/09/2021 18:38

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice little stop over

We stopped overnight here on our way to Looe in Cornwall, the site was full to capacity but surprisingly peaceful. There is no EHU which we were aware of. The location of the site is great, Morrisons is a few minutes walk away and so is the town centre of Totnes with lots of bars & cafes. Facilities were clean but tired looking. A very pleasant stay & we would definitely return.

Angieb13

Reviewed on 07/09/2021 19:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A nice site in a great location

This is a small site not without its challenges. The club seems to be limited in what it can achieve on the site. Therefore there is no mains and the facilities are a bit limited and tired. The site is susceptible to flooding and soft ground. However it is a nice grassy site set close to the river and the centre of Totnes. The staff were first class. It is pleasant to be there and reasonably quiet. No facilities for children's play; quite grown up site. We like the site and have been more than once, and will be happy to go back another time. Totnes is great for a mooch around with lots of independent shops, a brew pub aand local pubs in back streets. The South Devon Railway is a great day trip and walking distance away. You can also do the round robin bus, steam engine and river trip to Paignton and Dartmouth.

C and C again

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 13:44

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

exceptional

Gem of a site. immaculately kept. walkable to Totnes centre for the restaurants and bars. lovely scenery and walks on the doorstep. Although set in a residential area, was very quiet. Extremely friendly and helpful site warden (sorry forgot his name)

lambster

Motorhomer from Cornwall

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 20:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Perfect for Totnes

We arrived following a ‘biblical’ spell of wet weather at around 5pm. ‘Mein host’ was extremely busy is chaperoning motor homes onto suitable pitches and desperately trying to ensure we minimised our impact on the landscape. Not an easy feat in such dreadful conditions and the relentless footfall of arriving Motorhomes…👍 We we’re consistently impressed by our hosts in their completely professional and diligent way in which they ensured everything was functioning as guests expected…👏 As for Totnes itself, what a genuinely lovely place…So many lovely independent shops, several very suitable pubs and a great feel for the 1960’s ..😃👍😆 We will definitely be back..!👍🤩 I’d like to endorse AndyChrisW and their earlier review - well done Kevin & Marianne..!👍😆

Jack172

Motorhomer from Suffolk

Reviewed on 28/06/2021 21:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Wardens - peaceful site

We have just returned from 6 nights here and were not disappointed. 2 days before our arrival we had a phone call to ask if we would be taking our 8 metre motorhome off site - thankfully we do not do this otherwise we would not have been able to go there. There had been so much heavy rain for the 2 weeks before our visit that approximately only one third of the site was open, it was waterlogged. Kevin did an heroic job organising mats for everyone to get on and off pitches as the ground was so boggy but he wanted to spoil as few holidays as possible. Day after day he was trundling up and down with mats and always very friendly and helpful. Club members do not help when it says arrival 1pm and they start queuing at 11am. It does not give the wardens time to do cleaning, grass cutting and all the other multitude of jobs they have to do before accepting new arrivals. Come on club members be a bit more considerate , arrival times are there for a reason. The site is at the bottom of town and conveniently placed for shops, buses, river trips and many lovely places all around. One last huge thank you to Kevin and Marianne who worked tirelessly for our enjoyment.

AndyChrisW

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/06/2021 17:57

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

We love this site

We have stayed here several times and like that: It’s very close to the town centre of lovely quirky Totnes but despite this is relatively peaceful It’s right on the River Dart. Beautiful. Lots of things to do locally and pleasant river walks right from the site. Plus you can catch the boat to Dartmouth. Facilities are not lavish but perfectly acceptable and very clean. There is no hook up electricity and I’m pretty sure all pitches are grass. On this occasion we were looked after by the relief wardens who did an outstanding job. There had been recent torrential rain and they were outstanding in looking after members booking in and out and going to great lengths to protect the grass pitches. The toilet facilities were spotless. A sincere well done to you for doing a great job with a welcoming smile! Give this site a try and you won’t be disappointed.

henniek

Campervanner

Reviewed on 22/05/2021 21:20

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent - and lovely wardens!

We returned to Steamer Quay and enjoyed it just as much as we always do. The wardens were particularly friendly and made us feel very welcome, talked a lot of common sense. This makes a big difference to me and would make me hesitate to return if we did not feel welcome. Great position with easy access to Totnes town which is always worth a walk around, quite unique in many ways. Great meal at the Pie restaurant and loved the Saturday market with great stalls.

esperelda

Reviewed on 04/10/2020 18:49

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Don’t forget your wristband!

Stopped here for a couple of nights in our campervan. Site facilities are using individual wristbands which you leave outside when you are using one of the two areas. One household can use at a time. Problem was people forget to take their band away so you could be queueing when no one is in them! Wardens advise you to lock outer door when inside so you could of course knock and open with key code to see if someone is really in there. Of course if you lock outer door and have a medical emergency no one would be able to get in! Nice walk across to Ashprington pub on Dart valley trail.

sjsticky

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/10/2020 17:19

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Return Visit

We like Steamer Quay very much and have made several visits here over the years. It's a small site in a good position on the edge of the river Dart and just a stroll over the bridge from the interesting streets of Totnes. Without EHU on site it's relatively quiet and pleasant. The grass can get a bit soggy in wet weather so take some mats or borrow the ones from the site managers. The Covid arrangements were good, the small facility block became unisex and either side could be for the sole use of a single person or family. We used our own facilities but rarely saw more than two people waiting at peak times. This year we did the walk to Dartington (beware the reduced opening times.) A good walk or cycle way with some nice riverside spots and a view of the Archimedes Screw hydro generator for some of the Totnes inhabitants. There is also a good cycle/footpath to the Sharpham vineyards. A local map is worth having to explore around this area. There are two shops for papers etc. in the nearby Bridgetown area of the site and many to choose from over the river in Totnes itself. Plenty of places to eat out too. Lovely walks into the Longmarsh parkland, just along from the site, past the jetties and rowing club.

brue

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/09/2020 20:46

60 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer