Le Coin Tranquille

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

So disappointed . . .

We stayed at this site in August 2019 and felt really disillusioned with it. Tranquil it most certainly was not. We arrived early evening on a Wednesday with our 6 & 9 year old children following a long drive, but couldn’t book for a meal in the restaurant as there was a big bbq planned. The noise from the very average holiday singers went on until well past midnight. Hoping this was a one off we settled down into our first full day, only to be greeted again by booming music from the bar area throughout the late morning. The evening was then no different with booming music again until late, this time from the bar as well as a number of nearby guests who had decided they would host their own parties. We booked this site based on it’s descriptions as a “haven of peace and serenity”, but it honestly felt like we had come to a different site. On a couple of occasions we walked down to see what all the noise was about. On one we saw some children’s entertainment with about 5 young children taking part in some dancing (the same music then seemed to be repeated day after day), and on another there was a children’s event going on in the indoor swimming pool accompanied by loud music for the benefit of 3 children in the pool. We stayed for 8 days and there were a couple of more peaceful evenings, however we were constantly on tender hooks for when the next thing would start up. We felt quite trapped with something we simply hadn’t wanted or bargained for. Our feeling was that, for some inexplicable reason, this site has decided to try and be something that it isn’t. It is in a beautiful rural setting, but for some reason they have decided to try and replicate a sea side resort. If you want to party in the alps, then this is the place for you. However if you want a more peaceful setting, then our strong advice is to avoid - we will certainly never be returning.

Reply from the Site:

Thank you for your review, but we are really surprised – it would appear that you do not speak about our campsite as we are located in the countryside (no roads, no trains, no traffic…) only fields rabbits and birds but in July and August, families are on holidays, and we  do organise 4 animations per day : Kids club each morning, Sports competitions during afternoon, mini disco at 5.30 pm (for 15 minutes) and some activities or ‘spectacles’ each evening around 8pm which always finish around 10-10.30pm maximum.
We only organise one time per week (Wednesday evening) a theme evening (like barbecue, paella, mussels & chips…) with two singers who sing until midnight maximum.
We were sorry if we were already fully booked in the restaurant the day of your arrival but we offered you pizza, or the dish of the day to take away.
We only have two ladies who work for animation so it’s much smaller than a sea side resort.
All of our activities take place around the swimming pool or playing area. If you took a pitch there we advised it was not the quiet area, we have plenty of quiet pitches with field or mountain view.
We are a family run campsite, we are always on hand to our customers.

Reply from the Club:

We are sorry to read you did not enjoy your time at this site. We have contacted our regional campsite Inspector for his opinion and he has submitted the following comments.

Most pitches are large, many with superb views of the idyllic surrounding countryside. It is a great base to explore this delightful corner of France. In high season, there is an ‘animation’ programme but this is very well managed and has always proved very popular with Club members. Compared to many sites, the entertainment programme is rather low-key but it provides a great opportunity to make new friends and is always very family focused. Quiet pitches, away from the entertainment are available on request.

TW1980

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/08/2019 17:27

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic family site - Tranquille it certainly is.

we spent 5 nights at this site in mid August. They recently completed a new indoor/outdoor pool which is a fantastic addition allowing children and adults plenty of room to swim and play. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The facilities were first class. Lots of clean toilets, showers and wash rooms. Our pitch was large and shady with a beautiful view and the site is very quite at night. We will definitely be returning in the near future.

Roadie17

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/09/2018 17:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Its all about the staff

We've just returned from three weeks at this fabulous site. Family owned and run where everyone involved in the running of the site cares about the guests and always has a smile and kind word. The restaurant is the best in the area and gets plenty of local people using it. The pitches are generous and have little hedges round them to ensure some privacy. Most people we met at the site had been there before. Anacy and Chambrey are just a short trip up the motorway and there's plenty of local lakes. The only fault in the area for us was the amount of lakes that didn't allow dogs to swim in them. We had a heat wave and keeping our dog cool was quite an issue.

baggie08

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/07/2017 18:56

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Tranquille but plenty to se and do

This was our second stay at Le Coin Tranquille, and we immediately felt relaxed and "at home". Our generous and well screened pitch had stunning views to the Chartreuse Mountains. The facilities are plentiful and spotless. Family run, the staff are very friendly and willing to help with any questions you may have. Les Abrets is a small town, but has all the shops, cafe's to sit and watch the world go by, and hypermarkets for holiday supplies. We only stayed 2 nights this time, but the mountain attractions are easy to reach and many will be familiar to anyone who likes winter sports. An easy drive just south of the A43 autoroute, with final access either by turning left just before the railway bridge as you enter town (beware the sharp bend just before the site) or off the D1006, over the level crossing and up the hill. We would rate this as one of the best in France, and could go back time and again.

HollysPack

Motorhomer from Surrey

Reviewed on 09/09/2016 22:30

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic holiday

We love this site, been twice now and our last visit for 14 nights in July/August. We are a family with 2 teenage girls and there was plenty of entertainment for them which was great as teenagers are rarely catered for, staff very friendly, helpful and we love there wednesday soirée evenings they are great value and brilliant entertainment and you feel part of the family. We have met some wonderful people and even my girls had there own circle of Dutch friends which was great. The area is great plenty to see and do for all ages! We had a great pitch with great views. Will definitely be going back again soon. Thankyou  le coin tranquille!!

melbeginner

Reviewed on 17/08/2016 17:28

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

2016 Visit

Stayed July/August. Very good site, the staff went out of their way to be extremely helpful. Good food at the restaurant. Although we did not have children there, they appeared to be very well catered for including the teenagers. Would thoroughly recommend the site whatever the age range.

GrahamPenny

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/08/2016 16:09

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Very well run site.

Stayed two nights on way to South of France , Beautiful and Comfortable site, was allowed to choose pitch, best showers we have ever had, very helpful and efficient staff.  Didn't have much time to investigate the area as we rely on our bikes but ventured into the local town which like many other places in Europe has the usual shut shops but big superstores on the outskirts, which is a shame.  We have to say that the family work very very hard to please everyone and we were made to feel very welcome. We feel this site is more suited to caravans rather than motor homes.  

BriaryBeetles

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/10/2015 08:29

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

2015 visit

Lovely site with friendly, helpful staff and one of the ladies on reception was very good with tips for places to visit. Only a few pitches have the best views but when possible they offer a choice of pitches for you to choose from. We couldn't hear any of the entertainment noise from our pitch and the whole site was almost silent from 11pm. Very good site for families with younger children but you may struggle to keep teenagers entertained. The site's access road off the main road is almost a single track but does have passing places just beware of the blind corners. The site itself has a few tight corners depending on your pitch location and larger vans may struggle on some pitches but on the whole access was very good. Would definitely like to return to this site.

gls64

Reviewed on 03/08/2015 20:04

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Holiday 2015

good entrance to Site, although approach road and corner close to site has bad visability so be careful. facilities on site are excellent, Good pool and restaurant, pich sizes are quite large and have well established borders for your privacy, lots of drainage and water taps all round park, had wonderful 10 days lots to visit, lakes, waterfalls etc, local supermache, fuel all within 5 minutes, all in all well worth a visit. Only down side is they have a barbeque each week with 'entertainment which is very loud and not to everyones taste (the music not the food)

cooperpete

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/07/2015 10:14

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer