Huttopia Calvados-Normandie

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Charming Calvados

Spacious site but pitches not very clearly defined. Staff were very helpful and welcoming and received a site plan and information on arrival. There was a water tap near us that worked but not all taps did. Toilet block was new and pristine. Swimming pool was lovely and warm and open for a good length of time. There were areas to go and sit in and watch TV or play games and games to borrow. Site got quite busy whilst we were there as must have been the start of the European school holidays. We walked into nearby Moyeaux and the site gave us a map of local walks. There is also a cider farm near to the entrance. We took the campervan to Lisieux and parked near the abbey which was well worth a visit. We also drove around the cider route in the camper, which has some pretty villages and well marked out, but kept missing the farms as they are not well signed.

Coops3

Reviewed on 24/07/2023 11:05

37 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A peaceful site

The site facilities have been significantly improved since we were last here. (2016). The toilet/shower/laundry etc block is new and very clean with ample facilities. The touring pitches are generally located (relatively) close to the facilities. The pitch we had was a 'normal' pitch but it was an excellent size with a good view over adjacent fields. The only downside is that the fresh water top up was either outside the entrance (next to the chemical disposal facility) or in the toilet/wash block - where there was no low level tap for refilling containers - you needed to lift your water contained into a sink to refill it! The site shop stocks some very basic goods; bread etc can be ordered for the next day. The reception staff were very helpful. There are two pools, one under cover and heated (it was too hot at the time we were there in a June heatwave.) and a shallow outdoor pool with sunbeds etc. The site has many luxury tents, holiday homes etc to hire but they are well spread around so it does not congested. (unlike other sites with serried ranks of holiday homes) The adjacent roads are quiet and good for country lane cycling. I would go back, if we wished to explore the region again

Mapnut

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2023 15:19

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Quiet Site during our stay

The toilet block has been revamped and is outstanding and spotlessly clean with soap and paper towels. The staff in reception are very pleasant and helpful - there are some very limited groceries there and bread can be ordered for the following day. Cormeilles (and Moyaux) cater for your day-to-day needs and there is a vet in Cormeilles. We did find there were very few taps for filling our aquaroll and the toilet and grey water emptying are outside the main gate. The site was quiet while we were there. There are still 150 pitches but only 88 are for touring now with the rest taken up by safari tents and cabins, these are all grouped together so the ‘touring section’ has still retained some of its character. The pitches are all of a good size and grass cuttings are collected. We have been using this site for over 40 years and although it has changed dramatically we hope to return as we love the area. Out of season ACSI makes this an excellent value site.

iandac

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/06/2022 17:38

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very restful visit

Spent a great week here at the end of September, as it was the end of the season some of the facilities were closed, but the shower block was quite adequate and the water always warm. Reception staff were always helpful and bread could be ordered for the next day even this late in the season. The site appears to be in transition and will probably be very different next year, with new toilet blocks promised. One thing that could be improved is the location of the grey water and chemical toilet disposal site, at present this is located in the roadway outside the site.

kingfisher26

Reviewed on 07/10/2019 14:06

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very disappointing

We stopped over for 4 nights in early September, having had two wonderful holidays here with our then young family 29 and 20 years ago. Sadly we were very disappointed. It is now under new ownership, quite run down, and clearly in a process of change. The description in the 2019 Club brochure of the beautiful grounds of a chateau are misleading as the site is now separate from and fenced off from the chateau. The lovely dovecote, after which the site is named and was an integral part of the site, can be seen but only from behind the fence. Gone also from view and access are the lovely large open-air swimming pool, tennis courts and the chateau. The new swimming pool is very small and will struggle to cope in high season. The toilet blocks are very dated but are due to be upgraded; they are however very clean and the water very hot. Also gone is the creperie. The staff were however very friendly and helpful. Understandably quiet in early September, sadly the site now just looks like a very ordinary campsite.

Iacobus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/10/2019 16:54

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Will it be better in future?

This is s delightful site. It looks like it’s been taken over by Huttopia so I expect even more changes in n the future. The pools were spotless and warm, plenty for kids to do including a volleyball/basketball court. There is a bar menu including pizza and burgers and we had a delicious coffee for only one Euro. The staff were terrific! The shower blocks were spotlessly clean although hot water was only available at some times - we never quite worked out these times but we were on holiday - go with the flow! Our pitch was right by an open field space used for children (and adults) playing so was incredibly spacious and open.

jond52

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 14:17

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Always a quiet place

Stayed there for a second time since 2015 and always enjoyed the place and nice people. Of course the bar and restaurant are gone but this is understandable and was a luxury before. For legal reasons they claim that the pool and surrounded area does not belong to the campsite. The showers and toilets are very clean and we observed the team cleaning thoroughly. We enjoyed it as a quiet change for the busier sites at the coast.

Reviewed on 05/08/2018 13:58

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Loved the site

Our very first site ever on the continent. We chose a pitch right next to the cow field and enjoyed watching the peaceful creatures grazing whilst enjoying glasses of the local Cider. No evidence of flies at all. The campsite was very quiet and peaceful. The showers were very clean. Walking around the grounds was lovely as was relaxing in the old barn with the TV.

Ilovecows

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/08/2017 11:56

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Not sure what's happening here?

We use this site as a stopover but have always had some reservations about certain aspects- for example never quite sure where the so called shared drainage is and the proximity of the field with the cows means that the flies are a nuisance, however the pitches are a good size and the showers very good. However, on arrival this week we were told that the ownership has changed so there was no longer a shop and we saw that the dovecote, pool & eating areas seem to no longer be a part of the site, although we are allow to access them. As we were only staying one night we were not inconvenienced but the setup seemed a bit strange. We had considered booking a week here next year but now may wait to see what changes happen and what other reviews are posted

SallyD

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 12/07/2017 20:56

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Changes for 2017

We have used this site over many years and am sorry to report the new management have made changes which mean we will probably go elsewhere in future. The bar in the Dovecote has gone. The bar is now in the creperie but closes at 9pm. The on site shop has gone but you can get essentials at reception. Bread needs to be pre-ordered the day before so if you arrive without any you now have to go to the supermarket.The bouncy castle has gone too. Overall, I am disappointed with the changes.

robhar

Caravanner from Cumberland

Reviewed on 11/07/2017 18:45

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer