Natterer See

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Probably the best site we have ever stayed at in 35 of touring

All the good things written about it in other revues are true. However, the lakes are artificially created and drained and cleaned every year. They may look uninviting to those who prefer a swimming pool but it is just what the locals like and are prepared to travel to and pay for. Open water swimming is their best substitute for the sea. Water temp is around 27C. We think the best pitches are the fully serviced large pitches at the back of the site looking at the mountains. Just make sure you have got one with a clear view. Its a fantastic sight through the window in the morning ever changing throughout the day. Make good use of the bus pass. Visited June 2019.

RogerCL

Reviewed on 13/08/2019 11:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic Campsite in great central location

The arrival (either through Natters or Mutters) has a very tight turn at one point between buildings. Also watch you sat-nav directions as these may try to take you in an even narrower route. The reception was busy but very friendly with good English spoken. Didn’t use the wifi, but the phone signal & data were good here. The campsite in August was very busy but enough room to move around. We opted for a large pitch with electricity, water & drainage which had plenty of room. A little disappointed as we were put right at the back of the site with no views other than a hedge & other caravans. The price for the pitch worked out at almost £70/night when you add-in the local tourist & green taxes, which seems quite steep. Plenty to do in the area whether on-site, Innsbruck or if you with to travel a little further. Would recommend Innsbruck centre, Bergisel ski jump, Intertux glacier, Solden.

AndrewK

Caravanner from Tyne & Wear

Reviewed on 18/08/2018 09:48

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Children will love this site

Previous reviewers have given chapter and verse on the merits of the pitches and facilities and busyness of the site. This is a great destination for families and those who are visiting for the great outdoors and enjoy sharing pleasantries with the international crowd of campers. The lake wipeout course, slide and SUPs kept the children (11years) happy for hours and there was an animation programme too. I was able to run out from the site into some beautiful wooded trails (not steep!) The free welcome card also gives access to the cable car at Mutters which has a enchanting forest playground - good for younger ones) and access to the (chargeable) mountain cart downhill course which was a real highlight for adults and kids alike. We also went to the family Tyrol music evening with dinner and were thoroughly swept away with the thigh slapping and yodelling extravaganza! Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend to families and active adults.

Reviewed on 15/08/2018 08:28

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

OK but would go elsewhere next time.We stayed here in June and after a bit of haggling got a pitch looking directly at the mountain range to the rear

We stayed here in June and after a bit of haggling got a pitch looking directly at the mountain range to the rear of the shower block. No complaints re the pitch, it had electricity, mains water and drainage. However the original one we were allocated nearer the lake wasn’t anything special, too cramped, as most pitches lakeside appeared to be. Finding it en route from Lake Garda was simple but the queue at reception was (as it was most days) long and continued through most of the day. It is a very busy camp, with people coming and going however reception staff were welcoming and helpful throughout. The two lakes, one for swimming with a variety of inflatables, canoes and a slide, looked murky and unwelcoming. No thanks !! The lakeside restaurant looks very nice and is comfortable but the food is no better than OK and quite expensive, restaurants in Innsbruck were cheaper and better value. We also thought that some staff using their segways went far too fast regardless of the age of people using the walkways. They are an accident waiting to happen ! The toilet and shower block is simply superb, we’ve never quite seen anything like it. However the showers are on the first floor accessed by a reasonably steep slope. This might prove challenging to some. Wifi was expensive so didn’t bother. There are footpaths direct from site into Innsbruck and to local villages. Innsbruck is a ten minute drive, parking there was easy and its worth the visit. Local supermarkets at Gotzen, a 5 minute drive, were not expensive. Diesel was the cheapest we found whilst doing our 6 week trek at 1 euro 28. We will definitely visit Austria again but in honesty we were a bit disappointed with this camp, it didn’t seem to match up to the pre visit reviews we read. They could do with using the views they have much better, far too many trees blocked what would other wise have been fantastic mountain views.

Croydeorbust

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/07/2018 17:07

20 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

DISAPPOINTED

We stayed here in June and had booked a lakeside pitch. Access was ok, but couldn't see the lake because of the hedge and the lake was rather murky to say the least. When we saw the swimming lake, OH and I agreed that we wouldn't have wanted to swim in it as it looked very muddy and stagnant. Reception staff were welcoming and were always very helpful. We ate in the restaurant once, but would not use again as we have never had a waitress take our order whilst talking to some-else and this continued when food was delivered; also it was expensive for what it was. Other gripe was staff whizzing round on segways and motorised scooters - far too fast when there were young children around. Bathrooms were clean, although I believe they would become rather challenged in high season due to the number of them. Wifi was expensive, but worked. I would add that we have stayed on another site c.30 miles away which was much better in every respect.

deaness

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/07/2018 18:12

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Mud!

As people have said, this is a very busy site. We paid extra for a lakeside pitch and wished we hadn't bothered as it also meant we faced the footpath alongside the lake , so had lots of people walking past only 6 feet away, and very little privacy. Also the weather had been very wet and our pitch was a mudbath: impossible to leave the camper without getting filthy. The staff came around trying to rake the tyre marks away which just allowed more dirty puddles. The facilities are superb, apart from the rubbish bins which are quite a long way across the site and are the only bins. The staff were very nice and friendly and we liked the free bus into Innsbruck.

JJJC

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/09/2017 17:36

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Extremely Busy But Lovely Site

Make no mistake this is a very busy site with arrivals pitching up until dusk and a queue waiting to come on from first thing each morning. We arrived late afternoon and joined a long queue of caravans and motor-homes waiting to register. Given the narrow access road, which is also a bus route, we experienced gridlock which the site management had to go and resolve. That said, facilities are first class. The toilets, showers and wash rooms were always clean and we never queued to use them. There was always ample hot water etc. We were not thrilled with our pitch - It was serviced and extra large but not overly flat and a little scruffy and with no direct sun. It is an ideal base for covering this area - we go for the walking and found plenty of mountain access within a 20 minute drive of the site. There are footpaths direct from site into Innsbruck and to local villages. Plenty local supermarkets and not overly expensive - we didn't think costs were significantly different from the UK. Site staff were always very helpful and friendly.

Lena

Reviewed on 04/07/2017 14:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Views!

Large commercial site. Pitches - these vary from:- standard 55-70 m sq 6 amp electric comfort 90 m sq with water, drainage and 16 amp electric luxury 100 m sq with water, drainage and 16 amp electric luxus S* 110-155 m sq with water, drainage and 16 amp electric These pitches are dotted around the site. We were told that caravan club pitches are certain allocated ones. (Up in the woods "south" area - no views). We would suggest you leave your outfit and look for a pitch you like, then pay the difference. We were happy to pay an extra 3 euros per night to upgrade in the "panorama" area. We didn't use the facilities as we had water and drainage on the pitch, however they looked modern and clean. The washing machine area was being "renovated" however we could have used the ones in the "south" area. Plenty for children and people wishing to partake in water activities. The restaurant was very good, reasonably priced - recommend the fresh pizza. So much I took half home for the next day. Reception staff very friendly and spoke English well. I saw a red squirrel in the pine trees next to our pitch. Stunning views. We ignored the satnav and when we came off A13 taking the first right to Natters and followed the signs. There is a sharp right hand just passed the roundabout/crossroads in the village of Natters (I would suggest taking a quick look on google streetview, so you know where this is). DO NOT go through Mutters! Great free shuttle to Innsbruck which took approximately 20 minutes - the stop to get back on was across the central section. Once in Innsbruck we did the tourist thing and rode the hop off/hop off bus tour for 15 euros each. Once you get off the shuttle bus at the main train station, cross the road to the middle section and look for the TS stop B - The Sightseer. This was not an open top bus. Great value to get orientation and also on the loop there is a 18 minute break at the panorama. So take photos and enjoy the views. There is also an extension for the "J" bus up to Lans and the Olympic Village which was a "free" extra. Get the return bus 4142 at stop F. Would definitely return to this site.

Williampat

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2017 14:59

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very Positive Site but Very Busy....

We were there in June 2017 and I am so glad we booked via the Club or we would not have got in. It was full and one M/Home was turned away in front of us. Stunning setting with mountainous views and short walk down to the two 'leisure' lakes where children (and adults) were having great fun. State of the art toilet/shower facilities upstairs (ramp) in the main reception block and modern shop/bar/cafe/sun terrace area. Reception staff lovely but booking in via computer system is slow. We paid extra for a larger pitch with water/waste as part of pitch, but it was still tight with our 7m 20cm van, awning and car. Motormover very useful as there simply wasn't room to swing the unit round while attached. Great to get a 'Welcome' card on arrival giving free bus access into Innsbruck (beautiful city) and a free trip up one of the cable cars to give stunning views. Great area - only wish the pitches were a touch bigger and it wasn't as popular - it was full! However, if in the area would use again.

paul56

Caravanner from South Yorkshire

Reviewed on 20/06/2017 11:10

48 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Very Good Site

Clean - lovely setting - handy shop - friendly staff - great views of the mountains Handily placed for a stop over on the way to Italy or for a longer stay - great to have a free bus pass into Innsbruck- my only suggestion to the owners is to cut the grass as our plot was a little overgrown - overall a good place to stay

Matthew Hiley

Reviewed on 16/06/2017 09:20

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer