Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5


Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Oh Dear

When was the last time this site was visited by a CC inspector? This is the worst site we have ever stayed on in the 20+ years we have been visiting France! We arrived in the middle of the heatwave so all the grass pitches were very dry and barren which is understandable. However the first thing you see on arrival is the caravan storage area, once checked in the next unsightly thing is the open fronted bin area on your way to your pitch. Pool area was just about adequate with the strangest tap for the shower! The whole site needs massive investment. We realise the current owners are not only new to the site but it appears they are new to the caravan industry. Contrary to other reviews we did not find the owners to be pleasant or helpful. The outdoor area of the restaurant is unfinished and the menu practically non-existent! We have never been to a restaurant on a site to be served fish and chips in a take away container when you are dining in! If you are looking for a 'British' experience in France then maybe this is the site for you, but we will never return! Such a shame as the area has a lot to offer.

Response from the Campsite:

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay on our site. I hope my comments answer any queries you have.

The caravan storage is below road level and is screened by mature trees that were in full leaf at the time. The storage area has been next to the site which was set up by the people who started the camp site 24 years ago. The bin shed is not totally open fronted and is housed in an old stable, there is an opening which is one bin width wide to allow people to access to the bin that is in operation. The shower tap in the swimming pool is a French tap which you have to turn 90 degrees to turn the shower on. We are investing heavily in the campsite, projects completed to date include a porch on the shower block, a new reception, a games room with pool table, an outside seating area with shady pergola, the surround of the swimming pool concreted for extra seating and sun bathing area, a new liner in the swimming pool, a purpose built outside terrace with block paving. We have also upgraded the WiFi system. Ongoing projects include extending the bar area which is part of a large extension to the living accommodation. We are also installing a number plate recognition system to access the campsite. We will start building a new purpose built shower block in November 2018.

We have just completed our third season and have been very keen campers and caravanner’s for the last 45 odd years. We do our utmost to be pleasant and helpful. The outside area of the restaurant is finished what was not completed was the block paved area which will be part of the entrance to the new bar. The restaurant offers a choice of 4 or 5 starters, 5 or 6 main meals, a choice of desserts including a selection of tarts and ice creams, a full cheese selection and specialty tea and coffee. Thursday night is fish and chip night which is extremely popular, we offer to eat in or take away which is served in a take away carton. We can serve fish and chips on plates if diners request that and want to eat in.

We store circa 150 caravans of English ownership where the majority of our clients visit and stay for extended periods of time. All of the above information can be found on our website.

Best regards,

De Courte Vallée


Reviewed on

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer