L’Orangerie de Lanniron

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful setting

Had 7 days at this site at the beginning of September. We enjoyed the beautiful location but as said before some hedge trimming en route to toilet block would be appreciated. Also not enough lighting along the pathway. The toilets and showers were always clean but only one block was open on the whole site even though it seemed pretty busy.  The pool was fantastic but quite a long walk from the camping area. The restaurant was disappointing and the shop very under stocked. Generally a peaceful site however we were disturbed on the Saturday night by a wedding party which went on till 4am. Overall enjoyed our stay but would not return.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice place

We stayed here for two weeks at the end of August and the campsite was very empty about 20 vans at a guess, the site was fantastic, but could do with a little tlc regarding grass cutting and bush trimming etc, this may seem a bit petty but when you see how immaculate the golf course is kept you would think that the grounds men could do the whole site not just the 9 hole course, but the main problem is finding the site in the first place, the postcode 29000 is fir the whole of Quimper, make sure you find the right road as our satnav couldn't find it so it made a bit of a nightmare in and around the roads of the town looking for it with a caravan on behind, also the website shows horse riding, fishing and archery, these are not on the site and must be somewhere nearby,  Don't be put off though this is a beautiful place with a great setting very helpful staff and a fantastic swimming pool which we had trouble getting our daughter to get out of, we will return to this site 
Caravanner

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely holiday

Booked this site through the CC as we wanted 2 pitches together. On arrival, check-in quick and our request granted, although not difficult as the whole site was very quiet and largely empty (went in the last 2 weeks of August). Swimming pool & showers excellent, various play parks dotted around for younger children and a games room. Site shop very sparse but several hyper markets within easy walking/driving distance. The site itself could do with a tidy up & bush trimming and the mini golf for children was inaccessible due to the overgrown weed & thistles! Quimper is a beautiful town to visit. We had great weather and our children had a fabulous time so would definitely go back!

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing August stay

Spent 13 nights here in August with our van and 3 children (7, 12 and 14). After initial mix up with reception sending us to an occupied pitch (twice) we settled on a spacious serviced pitch. Landscaping around the site was really lovely and the site was relaxing and fairly quiet given it was August and most pitches were occupied. Site facilities were great esp the pool and restaurant. Shop (although a bit sparse) was useful for morning croissants and milk etc. Beautiful grounds with chateau and river walk. Nearby plenty of places to visit and lovely beaches. We were lucky with the weather. This is a site we would love to return to. Older children would have perhaps liked more entertainment and things going on, but in general it was a fabulous stay. 

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

An excellent site

An excellent site, with large serviced pitches most are marked by hedges but the numbering can be a little confusing. All of the staff were helpful and the majority spoke English but even those who didn't were very patient whilst we conversed in our 'broken French'. We holidayed at the beginning of June and found the site to be peaceful and relaxing with all of the facilities available - the pool is superb. Nearby Quimper (walkable from the site via a path through the woods and beside the river) is a must see as are the numerous Breton villages in close proximity. A highly recommended site, one we would certainly come to again.
Caravanner from Worcestershire

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Unusual site

Near a busy city and some noise but don't be put off. A good walk or cycle off the main road into city. Reception poor on arrival as you get mixed up with golf course attendees, nowhere specified to park outfit whilst booking in. When you have got pitched its a long way from reception. Pitch allocated for us and chaotic finding it along a muddy track within section after all heavy rain and a car was parked on it. Not what you need after long tiring journey. free wifi bar area, very expensive on site. Best showers of whole 4 week holiday!
Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant site

Fantastic site if a bit expensive.the site and grounds and gardens are gorgeous.spotless shower/toilet  Block.pitches are large and level.The restaurant is good and reasonably priced.at the site entrance you can get a bus into Quimper,which is not to be missed. I highly recommend this site.
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

All in all a good holiday

The staff at the site are very friendly and very helpful and speak really good English, although my wife did try out her French, which seemed to be appreciated. Pitches are a good size but we did go for the larger sized one with a fridge and patio table and chairs, the fridge was a god send, you don’t think so when it turns up but trust me it is. The pitch numbering could be better as they are numbered randomly so you have to use the map to work out which one is yours. You see lots of people walking round lost and looking for the pitch they are on, and with all the pitch layouts being different, coupled with the lack of numbering ads to the confusion The site facilities are good but we found the restaurant/bar closed at 9.30 in the evening, which was a bit of a shock. Well placed for Quimper which is just a sort driver away which is full of restaurants and bars. If you turn right out of the site, go around the round about back on yourself up the hill and past the site entrance on your left, you have a Lidl supermarket about half way up the hill on your left. If you carry on up the hill and get in the left lane, then turn left, go to the round about and take the last turning down the hill, you have a massive carrefour which sells about everything you will need. You also have a lovely Patisserie at the top of the hill that sells all the usual fare, and does fantastic sandwiches and the bonus is, its open on a Sunday as all the supermarkets and shops are close, as we found when we arrived on a Sunday. All in all a good holiday apart from the rain which we had for 10 days on our 10 day holiday, was a bit like being at Glastonbury but without the music sometimes. We would recommend this site and location but more for a stop over rather than a long stay location. You must get out and about and see some of the villages which give you the chance to see the old France. Driving is easy and the roads are great and almost all duel carriageways, so don’t worry about driving if it’s your first time like us, it’s really is so easy, it’s not worth worrying about. My wife bought a sticker on the ferry that you put on your windscreen, it reminds you which side to drive on, and shows you which side to go around roundabouts and which side to give way to traffic, it’s a good bye as a reminder
Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Don't stay out of season

We booked this for the half term in October 15 as the site stated it closed at the end of November. We paid a premium price for this so called 5 star site. Nothing was open the Shop/Bar/Restaurant all closed and the gents toliets were also closed for maintenance with no offer of using the Ladies. Although the Bar and Restaurant were open for a private local wedding and 60th Birthday party all over the weekend but guests that had paid for the site were not allowed in. Their own web site stated these facilities where open clearly miss advertising. There is nothing around this site unless you drive to it so with everything closed we spent all of the time off site so it was an expensive place just to sleep. We had to move pitch twice because of the rain and could not get the motorhome on the grass. Overall very poor, staff not interested Don't go here.        

  

Response from the Caravan Club:

 

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of this site on The Caravan Club website.  We are sorry that the site and surroundings did not meet your expectations.  We have contacted the site and asked them to address the issues that you have raised.  Some sites in northern Europe do close their facilities before the closing date of the campsite, as your club we are always happy to advise you on the opening and closing dates of facilities in advance to avoid disappointment.

 

Response from L’Orangerie de Lanniron:

 

"Dear customer, we are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at l'Orangerie de Lanniron.  It is true that the shop, the bar and the Aquatic Park are open from May 15th to September 15th.  Also we apologize for the inconvenience due to the maintenance of the toilets during your stay but we cannot foresee unexpected problems.

A lot of shops and restaurants are easy to reach by foot (less than 1km) and you can get to the historical town centre by foot in 15 minutes.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at l'Orangerie de Lanniron."

 

Best regards,

 Manon HERRY

Motorhomer

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing site

Some confusion saying our booking had been cancelled we could not be sure if the site or the caravan club were responsible but the staff were amazing and said they had a pitch for us. The pitches are large and well spaced. Clean washrooms but sadly no soap to wash your hands, cold in the showers as there are no doors from the outside elements. No hair drying facility. We were near the park area we did not have children with us but it was not noisy. A lovely pool and changing facilities. We ate a nice meal in the pool restaurant although the prices for drinks was different each night. A 30 minute walk to the town which was beautiful with a lot to look at and shops to browse in. Very quiet at night and very few people in the bar at night. Dissapointing that it states it is set around a chateaux but this is not an area accessible to campers. We will definitely return to this site and recommend it. There were trampolines and an inflatable free for campers to use. Helpful staff. 
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer