Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5


Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Unacceptable Think again.

How the standards have fallen since we last stayed in 2005. We stayed on two separate occasions this year and in our experience, this is a poorly managed site both in staff and site management. (June 2018) I believe that the site management are only focused in selling and renting residential cabins. I estimate that 85% of this site is now residential cabins. Turning this facility into some sort of holiday park/camp. We used this site as a stop over on our route travelling to and returning from the East of France. We stayed seven nights in total. Stay 1 – (2 nights). We requested a pitch with sun but were informed, our pitch was selected for us by the Motorhome & Caravan club therefore they could not change it! All the vacant pitches were pre-booked. Our pitch was in shade and next to the occupied residential cabins on site. We were also told that the only toilet block we could use was the one next to reception (old and tired) the others were being refurbished. The pitch we were allocated was at the other end of the site with a modern toilet block which had locked doors to the shower area and a sign on the door stating it was reserved for rally. We used our caravan facilities on this stay which was the only way we could obtain hot water and a hot shower without walking the length of the campsite. There was another refurbished toilet block half way to the reception but this was boarded up. This was not a peaceful or enjoyable stay as the residents in the cabin were quite noisy. Stay 2 – (5 nights) – We arrived when the reception was closed and surveyed the vacant pitches. The same young girls were staffing the reception. This time I informed them which pitches were available and acceptable to us. After a small debate we secured an acceptable pitch. We also observed that the closed and reserved toilet blocks were now fully operational. Unfortunately our stay spanned the weekend of the 16th & 17th June – The Transbaie Race. The site had competitors who were camping and booked into the residential cabins. A large group. On the Friday evening, using their sound system, they partied until 1 am with a wood barbeque that had flames extending to 2 meters. There was so much inconsiderate, tactless and selfish behaviour we did not feel safe. We complained and were informed the competitors had been given permission for these activities by the site guardian. What management team would allow of selfish irresponsible behaviour? There is a complete lack of supervision in the pool area as well. Poor hygiene, no reinforcement of the pool guidelines regarding patron’s safety. I observed young men on their friends shoulders wresting each other in the covered pool, while others children were trying to swim. The Caravan Club really need to review this site to remove it from their European Campsite Catalogue. There are other sites in this area that I will use in the future. Members planning on staying here should think very carefully.

Response from the Club:

We are sorry to read that you had some concerns during your stay. We asked our local Campsite Contractor for comments about this site:- I have visited Le Domaine de Drancourt on a number of occasions in recent years. Although quite a large, spacious site, at least 50% of the pitches are reserved for tourers. The pitches are large and flat, with good access. 2 of the site's 3 wash blocks have been renovated - to a high standard, along with the restaurant and swimming pool complex. Although this site does occasionally accommodate group bookings, these are relatively few in number and, given the size of the site, it should be no problem to find a satisfactory pitch. As always, we would encourage members to contact us during their stays at any site if anything isn’t to their satisfaction, and more often than not, any such matters can be speedily rectified.

Response from the Site:

In 2018, the principal wash blocks were fully refurbished. The remaining block has not yet been refurbished but we undertake that it will always be in a very good condition. I understand that the member stayed when we were hosting a rally (for the major Transbaie race). This is why you were offered a pitch away from the main rally group – to ensure that you would be away from noise etc. The group, however, were placed at the back of our campsite, away for the main facilities. Our commercial area has also been renovated – with the addition of a covered and heated pergola, and our restaurant has also been improved and enlarged in 2019. Lastly, I would like to mention that mobile homes do not take up 85% of our site. They, in fact, will occupy 50% of our site in 2020 and was around 40% in 2018 (when the review was written).



Reviewed on

8 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer