We arrived just before the 8pm low season cut-off time and received a good introduction to the site. There was a local festival taking place so there was already an apology about any noise. We were given a choice of pitch and chose a large sunny fairly flat pitch. The small lanes around the campsite are great for cycling around and there are some very picturesque villages to explore. A supermarket is around a 10 minute drive away with fuel and other services (banks etc) available in the same location. The good points The location - an excellent base for exploring Canal De Midi, Carcassone, the black mountains, cave complex and further afield the med. Good sized pitches. The badpoints We had a number of occasions where we found dog mess on our pitch. It got to the point where we spoke to reception and they came to clean it up (we suspect it was the campsite dogs who were the culprits). The said campsite dogs kept us awake one night way past 1am barking and wondering around the site freely. We were told that this was due to people coming onto the site from a local festival, but the owners were nowhere to be found. One couple we spoke to said that one day they found one of the dogs in their awning. We stayed for 10 nights and I did not see the pool being cleaned once, and judging by the bottom of the pool I do not think it had been cleaned. The toilet blocks are really in need of modernisation. No toilet paper is provided, the cubicles are beginning to come away from the walls. One night there were no lights in the shower block. I am not sure how often the showers were cleaned, but often you would shower with the same clump of hair for days on end. There was a whole boar's head left festering in the hedge next to reception. We stayed at the end of the season, so no pastries etc were available, but the boulangerie in the village is a 5 minute walk away and offers excellent products. We were disappointed with our stay and unfortunately I do not think we will be returning. The area is a beautiful area with some truly stunning places to explore, I would recommend that you pick a different campsite but in the same area.
Response from the Club:
We are so sorry that you have had a bad experience at this site and we take feedback from our members very seriously. As such we have spoken to the site about your comments. In relation to the Boars head the campsite advised that they did have an old hunting trophy which has been on the site for 20 years. They were unsure what this was doing in the hedge but have assured us that this was reported them by another guest and the trophy was swiftly returned to the bar area shortly after. The sites dogs do not normally cause a problem and were indeed barking as it was the local festival and they were guarding the campsite, but this was an exception. The pool is cleaned every day and as all pools in France it is tested regularly by local authorities. They are going to put toilet paper in the toilets for 2020 and if there were any repairs to do on the cubicles this is done over the winter . The owners insisted that they live on site and are always on hand to help in any matter and that there is an emergency number on the reception door.