Les Iles

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed to say the least

Arrived 6th September after travelling from a lovely site in Pontorson with friends. On arrival it looked like the site was closed for winter. Had to wait an hour for reception to open so we could check in. Receptionist was not very helpful and provided no information about the site or facilities other than handing out a leaflet in French. We were given pitches 26 & 27 opposite the facilities block. Pitches are so narrow our small two Berth van was touching the hedge on one side and our sun canopy the other hedge as they are completely overgrown and in need of cutting back, we are so close to the neighbours we can almost hear them breath. All the facilities were closed for the winter but there was no mention of this on arrival so no food or drink available. When we asked about WiFi we were told that because we were on the pitches allocated to us we would have to pay 5 euro per device per day which is completely outrageous in my opinion. Glad we are only here for three nights before moving on to La Rochelle.

Phillip1955

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/09/2022 08:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed - access VERY tight & small pitches

Been caravanning in France for 13 years so think we're pretty experienced and open minded...however have been very disappointed with this site (August visit).. some of which the C&MH Club have not made clear on their website: - entrance and exit barriers are very, very tight, our van is 2.23m wide - not sure how we'll get out yet without damaging van (Motorhomers - beware!!) - most pitches are very small so you are VERY close to your neighbours, even with hedged pitches (can touch next doors van out of the window). We only have lightweight curved awning and not able to put up guy ropes as not enough width. You wouldn't be able to put up a full awning. - can be very difficult to drive through site and pitch van without a motormover as vehicles are parked along grass verges making access/turning tricky (thankfully we do have a mover) - banging very loud Euro-pop music from entertainment until gone midnight - no bakery/shops etc nearby to cycle to get bread etc in mornings as campsite shop never open. - no restaurant in the eves - but from the Google reviews prob not a bad thing! - probably most suitable for small 4 berth vans, transporter size campervans or tents - on the beach but it is a working mussels farm - better beaches a short walk along coast path - for us, we would probably really enjoy this site out of season, too crowded and noisy in August (as long as we didn't have access issues). (For info: we always come over in August so have experienced many different French sites inc Chadotel)

WeLovePasties

Reviewed on 11/08/2022 13:10

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Ken and June Liverpool

This site we like a lot, we took a sea view, extra €10 for 2 nights, the only down side is the barriers are to narrow, towing a 7.28 mte caravan was the tightest within inches of the barrier, car was scrapping the bushes coming in, coming out was just as bad, the pitches are only small, about 6mtes wide, other than that its a very nice site, good walks on the beach, ken and june caravaner Liverpool.

Freelander ken

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2019 23:39

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed in Les Iles, Penestin

Booked this site for 8 nights. First night we discovered that a group of some 35/40 people (other than campers) were staying for weekend. First night they were very noisy (until 3 AM) we thought this was a one off. Next night, site had laid on a meal for them and a disco. Disco started at 11PM (very loud) and was still going at gone 12 PM. Management were clearly aware but seemed to accept situation. Fortunately the group left on next day, so things were quieter. Overall, the site seems to be turning more into a holiday camp rather than a normal type campsite. Issues with washroom and toilet cleaning and shop, bar and restaurant closed once the group had left. Pitches not well tended. Staff very friendly and helpful, but management seems clearly steering the site in a different direction. We left after 5 nights and shall not go there again. Many other sites locally, so will go to these in future ! This used to be a good site, but commerciality seems to have become more important than customer satisfaction !

Response from the Club:

The site has now been bought by the small Vendeen chain Chadotel and this is a family orientated organisation and will hopefully steer the site back in the right direction.

Guzziman

Reviewed on 17/06/2017 16:51

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

It was OPEN.

Motorhomers, over 60, no kids, as were most of the campers- site was full so something is right - beach is very close and great - reception closed 1200 - 1500 but if you have booked, your pitch number will be on the door so go on in - the fact that the site was open in all respects if a little depleted in stock at the shop and a bit short of staff - typical end of season but a good site - can imagine it being a bit manic with families on site - so us oldies can go when the schools go back, purrfect, pitches are sized when camping units where smaller but our 7.0 metre motorhome was fine.

Bushwhacker

Motorhomer from Cornwall

Reviewed on 26/09/2016 18:59

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great location but cramped and noisy in the evening

Stayed for a week in August 16. Pitches are small so with the site busy we felt on top of each other. Good facilities. Pool great for the kids and clean. Access to the beach a real bonus. The summer evening entertainment was a bit of a downer for us (young family) as load at night and banging Europop not our thing but wouldn't be an issue is older kids or joining in. 

Reviewed on 05/09/2016 08:41

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Stayed for 2 weeks Aug 16

Loved hearing the sea from my bed, great for walks on the beach.  Lovely, laid back holiday but I definately agree with another review - bring your bbq and give the restaurant a miss, service was spasmodic at best, ice cream choice dwindled by the day.  Lovely site, lovely holiday, would stay again. No internet what so ever, interesting that it was a storm that knocked it out in July, it was still off at the end of August. 

poppysocks

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/09/2016 21:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lively and cramped

Stopped overnight on our way down the west coast. Very helpful and friendly English speaking staff. Very busy and popular with the French, with very cramped pitches. Good clean facilities, pool, kids entertainment etc. Had a great view of the sea and coast from our pitch.

Jon978

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/08/2016 19:04

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A nice site but they need to get their act together

Site was ok but we agree with others regarding the pitches. We were allocated a pitch right by the beach entrance which was not really a pitch at all, just a slab of concrete with nowhere to set out an awning. Very annoying as there were several grass pitches available. We refused their offer of this pitch and after some discussion we were given a better location. On the third day someone came to see us and said that we should have left. They had their dates wrong, luckily we had our confirmation to show otherwise. Also grounds maintenance seemed to be lacking with many overhanging trees and low branches, not great with a 3.0m high motorhome. A good location and lovely walks, could be very good but not sure if we would rush back.

Gill Sargent

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/07/2016 13:23

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good but a few tweeks would make it better

As a family of 4, including a 3 & 4 year old, our experience may have been different to most. We found the site easy to find following the directions on the booking confirmation. We were delayed on the ferry which meant we didn't arrive at the site til 7.30pm. I rang ahead and they said this would be fine, we spoke to a lady in the bar who let us in and told us to find an empty pitch then in the morning go to reception to book in. A little niggle the next day with reception, we was told we couldn't stay on the pitch we had choosen as someone was coming on that pitch on the friday, day 6 out of 7 of our holiday. So we had to move, but no one ever came onto that pitch that we originally choose and was a better pitch! The pitch sizes do vary, we managed to get a bigger pitch but was near the back of the toilet/shower block and there was a constant hum of something all night. The pool was perfect for the children, but when we had rain we went to use it (your going to get wet anyway), but the gate was locked, so back to the caravan we went! The beach is not a sunbathing beach, more of an exploring beach which we were happy with. We had lunch the restaurant a couple of times, food and service was both good. If you fancy an ice cream in the afternoon you may struggle. The shop is closed to 5.30pm and restaurant til 6pm so no where to get an icecream or drink! The kids enjoyed the bouncing castle and small play area, and the extra play area over the road where there are more cabins. We found this by luck, would have been helpful for reception to have told us we could use this. The area is great to explore by bike too. The toilet/shower block was always clean.

splitty21

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2016 11:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer