Pyrénées Natura

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

The spirit of the Pyrenees

Pyrenees Natural certainly exudes the true spirit of the Pyrenees. A friendly exquisite, tidy and clean site tucked away south of Lourdes. The owners make you very welcome to this very cosmopolitan camping, motor home and caravan site. The Pyreneean breakfast that the husband and wife owner team put on is great fun and allows you to meet the other guests. Food is plentiful in their restaurant, well priced plus there is a little en site hyper market for all your requirements. It's a walkers paridise with a beautiful lake an hours walk away. Or you can drive and have a coffee at at the lake cafe. Angeles Gazost is about 20 minutes drive away. Beware however the last half hour drive through Angeles and up to the site is Not for the faint hearted. It is Not for large outfits. The site itself is cramped and is tricky if you do have a large outfit. That said we thought the site fantastic in all other ways and would fully recommend you visit.

Margarita

Motorhomer from Norfolk

Reviewed on 28/09/2018 14:22

54 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 0 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 0 of 5

Location

Rated 0 of 5

Good for families

Paradise in the Pyrenees

We stayed here in May/June 2018. The weather was mostly terrible, lots of rain, this did not stop us from loving everything about this site. Pure, clean and green, almost spiritual We shall definitely be going back.

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Absolutely Brilliant - Simply The Best

Where do you start? Me and my 9 year old have been on a tour of France in our motorhome following Le Tour de France and both agree that we would give this site maximum ratings. We stayed for four nights and would happily have stayed longer. The location is stunning. The site is very clean and well appointed. The Papin family are super friendly and welcoming. The site has a restaurant, which was very popular, so much so that we were unable to eat there as we tried booking too late! Maybe next time! The bar has a fantastic selection of beers, both local and international - I tried some of the local ones, which were very nice, especially the Col du Tourmalet. The wine selection is also very good. I asked for a local recommendation and again was not disappointed with a very palatable Madiran wine. Whisky and gin lovers are also well catered for were also appreciated. I can’t recommend Camping Pyrenees Natura enough. We stayed at eight sites on our tour and in the words of Tina Turner it is “Simply The Best” Thanks again to the Papin family for a wonderful stay we hope to be back soon. If you are using a C&M satnav beware, it will send you on a route that was only just suitable for my 6.5m long motorhome - Herve advised going over the Col des Borderes and down into the valley, which we did on the day we went out. On the day we left we didn't go that way as the cloud was right down, but went straight down the valley to Saint Savin, which is a much better route than the satnav wants you to take

HambletonRam

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/08/2018 22:29

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Honey I'm home.............

Arriving at CPN for a week felt very much like getting home. We spent two weeks on the site last year (having planned to stay one week) and were so happy to go back again. Herve, Virginie and Eliza are wonderful - nothing is too much trouble. The site is well maintained, spotlessly clean and in the most beautiful location. The choice of cycling routes and walks is great and no need to use the car at all which we love. If you are a TDF fan then you will recognise a lot of the Cols which you can get to from the site. If you do decide to take the car then there is even more to do - ask Herve about Troumouse! We ate a few times in the bar and also a few times collected a bowl of chips to go with bbq items. There is a small shop on site stocking the basics, Argeles Gazost has a lot of shops - butcher, boulangeries, greengrocers and great cheese shop and a large supermarket just on the outskirts of the town. Still lots more to do in the area so we will be back!

Ladyh185

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/07/2017 10:51

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A little bit of heaven.

This is probably the best site we have ever visited, certainly for our type of holiday it was truly excellent. The views from and around the site are spectacular. The owners, Herve and Virginie were extremely friendly and helpful. They are continuously engaged in maintaining the site to it's high standard. The restaurant is always busy which is a testament to Virginie's culinary skills and the hospitality is first class. The area is outstanding and following the routes of the Le Tour is absolutely breathtaking and gives one a whole new feeling of admiration and respect for those cyclists who tackle these climbs.We would definitely recommend to anyone who loves peace and quiet and outstanding beauty. There is also a lake nearby(3 miles) which can be reached on foot, by bike or car.  We visited for two weeks in May and the weather was beautiful.

TSITOM

Caravanner from Northumberland

Reviewed on 08/07/2017 13:40

13 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

The best campsite in the world

This has got to be the best caravan site in the world. It is not straight off the motorway and is 6 miles up a mountain,but well worth the effort to get to. Herve and Virginie made us feel very welcome despite arriving late (we phoned ahead to let them know). We had booked a large pitch which was a good decision, despite caravan, awning and car on the pitch we still had masses of space for the bbq, sun bathing, clothes airers etc. The site was very very clean and very well kept. The toilet block was more than sufficient and kept very clean. There is a small shop which sells the essentials. Herve makes recycling very easy with a clearly labelled bin for everything. The site is a great location for exploring Tarbes, Pau, Lourdes, Argeles-Gazoste or further a field. The Lac D'Estaing is approximately 3 miles away and certainly achievable on a bike. There are plenty of games (connect 4, table tennis) available to occupy your time. The drinks at the bar were very good and the restaurant was always busy with people eating however we did not eat there. The site is also an excellent base for exploring some of the TDF climbs - the Col D'Aubisque, Col du Tourmalet and Hautacam. As soon as booking is available for 2018, we will be returning, I love this site.

sparrowlegs77

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/07/2017 18:48

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A fantastic site

Stayed here for 6 nights in early September. A wonderful site in a wonderful location. Owners very welcoming and all pitches well kept and with stunning views. Free Wifi was great as caravan club members. Facilities on site were well kept and clean and the meal we had at the restaurant was lovely. Definitely a site to return to.

JCS11

Reviewed on 03/10/2016 17:10

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

fantastic

our 2nd September visit and all the others have said everything.it is a fantastic site in a fantastic location.see you again.richard&heather.

aeron

Reviewed on 26/09/2016 09:18

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Just wonderful

This site is just wonderful. We spent a week there. I could stop this review now but will try to be more specific and helpful. There are two main features which make this site wonderful. The first is its situation, both the immediate surroundings and views from the site, and also all the places to see in the mountains a bit further afield, whether explored on foot, by bike, or by vehicle. The second is the people running the site. Virginie (who speaks fluent English and runs the site) and her husband Herve (who speaks more English than he lets on, and as he put it "talks to the flowers" - ie responsible for the grounds) assisted by Cyrille. [Apologies if I don't have names totally correct.] I would imagine access is quite tricky if you have a very large outfit. We have a 6.3 metres van conversion and our approach from west via Col d'Aubisque, Col du Soulor, and Col des Borderes caused no problems (apart from stopping to admire the views and take photos). The recommended route from Argeles-Gazost via Bun is easier but there are still narrow roads. For anyone with a modestly-sized motorhome the route I used is much nicer, as well as shorter if approaching from the west. (It also avoids Lourdes which is best avoided unless you specifically want to be in Lourdes.) As others have noted there is a lovely bar at the site with good food which can also be ordered as a takeaway. To correct an earlier review (15 July) wifi is indeed free as promised. It is free to everyone in the bar or just outside. Wifi at your pitch costs 5 euros a night (20 euros a week) UNLESS you have booked via the Caravan Club in which case wifi at your pitch is free and works well. I won't list all the places to visit. A highly recommended day out on road bike is turn right out of site, right again, and up Col des Borderes, drop to Arrens Marsous, then directly up Col du Soulor and on to Col d'Aubisque and return. This can be done in an afternoon. (Sunday lunchtime proved an especially quiet time.) A nice short run is up the lane - using the separate GR10 for much of the way - to Lac d'Estaing, round the lake and return. There are many longer possibilities. A long day out on bike would be Col du Tourmalet from the site. (I "cheated" and started ride at Luz St Sauveur at foot of climb.) Riding (or even driving) the Col du Tourmalet is worthwhile and not a difficult ride because nowhere is steep. But it is quite long so don't start too quickly. The summit is disappointing and isn't a good place to stop. There are better places for a picnic on the way to or from the summit. (Whereas the Col d'Aubisque is a good place to stop.) Any downsides to this brilliant site? None so far as we were concerned but some may not like unisex facilities (showers, loos and washbasin cubicles - there isn't a urinal). Also no loo seats - just sit on porcelain. But I hope this won't put off anyone staying at this site. I can guarantee you won't regret it.

henrypurcell

Motorhomer from Cleveland

Reviewed on 17/09/2016 14:23

36 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very friendly owners and stunning views

We stayed for only two nights at the end of our summer camping trip but wished we were staying longer. The site was immaculate, well looked after and cared for. The owners made us feel very welcome and really wanted you to relax and enjoy their site. Great for walking and views of the mountains - a first for our daughter. Garden games and the pool table were a hit. Hypermarket was very well stocked - was like a treasure trove. It is a quiet site so don't look for entertainment for older children but that is what makes it so special.

Lostintheforest

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/09/2016 20:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer