Risle-Seine les Etangs

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Interesting stay

Nice site. Lovely lake side position with associated direct lake side access to lovely walks. About 2 miles to town is walkable along a quiet road or via the unlite lakes. Our fully serviced pitch was a reasonable size. Typical French reception with associated friendliness and helpfulness that one would expect to encounter from a French site. (Read how you wish). Nice pool when open. Sadly, this isn't the first "shoulder shrugging" I've encountered in France, so coupled with the service Britanny ferries offer,(again, read how you wish) I'll be doing my best to avoid France in future 😢 Wales (20mph) here I come☹️

Mr Lowen

Reviewed on 02/10/2023 20:17

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

9 day stay Sept 2023

On paper this site looks nice but the actual reality is disappointing. I had rang the site to see if we could book in early due to Ferry times, I was told ok. On arrival we got there at the time I stated. The gent who I reported to looked at his watch and shrugged his shoulders I told him we had rang and was told ok. He ushered me out the office locked up and shot off. He got a woman to see me and her attitude was it much better so I explained again. She consulted her chart and after a bit said number 44. It was a fully serviced site but it was well used with very little grass. The pictures show well trimmed hedges and lovely grass when the reality is far different. The only other member of staff I saw during our stay was very aloof and abrupt. The toilet cleaning was noticable in it’s lack. Same bits of dirt and rubbish not touched for some days.The site is in a good location for visiting the various areas of historic interest I.e. the Normandy beaches and other WW2 sites. The town of Pont Audermer nearby is lovely with plenty of shops and hyper markets. The lakes around the site are lovely and make for good walks. Nice wine shops nearby and the staff really helpful. Been to France a number of times and stayed at a number of sites, this one was by far the poorest. Jim Gedney Hill

Reviewed on 01/10/2023 11:51

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Clean and tidy but rude staff member

My family and I stayed here for one night on the way to Calais for the trip home to the UK. Overall the campsite was nice enough. It had good facilities including a pool (which we did not use but looked lovely), laundry room, shower blocks, basic play area bar and a little shop. Everything was clean and tidy. The area surrounding was ok. There was a pretty lake next to the location. Wi-fi was poor, almost non-existent but we did not worry about that. The only thing that really let the campsite down was one of the younger receptionist's attitude. I was paying for a bill after using their bar; but because I am English and she was French there was an obvious language barrier between us. I tried to communicate with her but she was impatient and short with me. Her tone of voice was abrupt and callous to the point of shouting at me. It felt like she she could not be bothered to serve me. On arrival to the site, she was also bad mannered with my husband as he did not have any cash to pay for tourist tax. We went out especially to get some for her. I was shocked and honestly quite upset by how she behaved. She might have been having a bad day but surely that is not an excuse to scare people away from staying there (which she did). Also working in the travel industry, you would expect staff to be of calm disposition, as well as courteous, polite and helpful and to the best of their knowledge and ability. She possessed none of these qualities. Fortunately we are unlikely to ever go back there again.

Gentle79

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/09/2023 15:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing Risle-Seine les Etangs

Lovely site, well set out with a small area at the back of the site with chickens (which roam around the site and visit your pitch) sheep and goats and a stream running through. Situated next to the lakes and an easy walk into Pont Audemer. Hedged pitches with tap and electric and a nice size. Two toilet blocks and a nice pool area. Staff were pleasant enough but not overly welcoming and did not receive any site info but there are site maps with information on. There was some tourist info in the reception which was helpful with local walks. We walked around the lakes one afternoon which took about an hour to go around the larger one, there are several lakes. Pont Audemer was very pretty with lots of canals and timbered houses and we picked up a map and town walk in the town tourist information office, we also walked along the riverside from the town for quite a way as there was a good walking path. We next moved onto Honfleur where we stayed overnight in the aire as there was a lot to see and several walks around the town.

Coops3

Reviewed on 24/07/2023 11:44

37 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

First visit

We stayed here as a couple for 5 nights at the beginning of July. Our two previous campsites had been '5 stars' and this one was '3 stars' so not unsurprisingly we noticed the difference. It was smaller with fewer facilities which were not quite so luxurious but still were clean and perfectly adequate. The site was easy to find and close to the motorway-the downside to this was that you could hear the traffic but only in the distance. We were on a service pitch which was a nice size and had easy access to water and hook up. The road to the site does have a large derelict factory on it but the site itself has direct access to the lakes that are beside it and there are pleasant walks you can take by them. The nearby Pont Audemer is a sizable town with a mix of old and new. The old is interesting and good to explore and the new has good facilities like supermarkets and filling stations. We found the site a good location for touring the area and visited Le Bec-Hellouin (beau village), Honfleur, Deauville and although a bit further afield Monets gardens and house at Giverny.

Adrian22

Reviewed on 14/07/2023 20:54

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lakes and canals

As part of a 'Combined Deal' - two campsites and ferry crossings advertised in the Club magazine, my wife and I stayed in this site for a week in September 2022. What a delightful discovery! The campsite is neat with hedged pitches and good clean facilities. the staff are helpful and there is a small shop and bar plus indoor pool. There are chickens and goats and a some 'glamping' sites away from the main camping area and the chickens will visit you too. We visited after rentree, so apart from some weekend families there were few children and those that were there there created little noise. The main attractions are the four/five?- I lost count, etangs, one of which is for serious aquatic leisure activities - the others informal fishing lakes. My wife is a keen painter and I enjoy wildlife photography so this area is all in walking distance - and they laid on the sunshine too. The extensive lakes lie just outside the campsite boundary and are very popular with fishermen who caught large carp, eels and other fish. I happily photographed grebes, kingfishers and other birds and spotted water voles too. The nearby town of Pont Audemer is a hidden gem. Although quite a large town with extensive facilities it is accessed by a quiet canal-side road and is a maze of narrow allies and canals lined with medieval houses - opening up to a wider main street with weekly market. A quiet cycle ride in the opposite direction to St Sulpice provided additional walks and painting opportunities and we had no desire to travel further although the coast at Honfleur and Le Havre is nearby. We normally stay on small CL sites in the UK so this was large by our standards but I would not hesitate to recommend it.

THEPAINTEDNET

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/10/2022 18:25

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing

The approach to this site is pretty grim, passing factories - one of which is completely dilapidated, the site is clean and the pitches a fair size with good hedging, but the Lane around the site is narrow and we saw several people with larger caravans having to use a motor mover to negotiate the caravan onto the pitch. There were lots of tents in and amongst the caravan pitches giving a somewhat ‘untidy’ appearance, plus a more noisy caravan park. Unfortunately unlike other comments we didn’t find the reception staff at all helpful, having booked over the phone we arrived to find we hadn’t actually been booked in, this was met with some annoyance on the receptionist part and it was left to us to ask if they had actually got any free pitches which they reluctantly agreed they had? All in all definitely not somewhere we would return to.

ninkynonk16

Reviewed on 14/07/2022 16:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing stay

Stayed here twice, on the way South and then on the way back to Calais. (August 2020) We made this our last stop as Calais is within a 3 hour drive. A nice clean site and Karine speaks good English and great advice on the markets in Pont Audemer. Pont Audemer is about a 25 minute walk away, the market is worth a look with some great fruit, vegetables and fresh meat available. The Sports Bar menu has a very good 3 course meal for 15 euros and the french beer very refreshing. If you don't feel like cooking the site has a small snack menu and is reasonably priced. Baguettes and croissants available each morning ordered from reception the day before. The site has a nice indoor swimming pool with a small relaxation area and there is a lake within 20 yards with coarse fishing available. Everyone following the Covid 19 procedures so feel safe on the site.

Keith Maddock

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/10/2020 12:33

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Nice, tidy, peaceful site

This is a very quiet and peaceful site. Some of the pitches are VAST but all of them are spacious. Not everything was open when we arrived (April 2019). There is an outdoor pool which it was too cold to use anyway, but they were getting it ready to open. I thought that the sanitary facilities were pretty basic and would probably be overstretched in high season although there was another block which wasn't open when we were there. Would definitely stay here again although there wasn't that much to do off season in the immediate area. NB: In April 2019, there were roadworks on the approach to this site at Toutainville which meant that the directions on the Club website are WRONG! (Temporarily at least). This wasn't a massive problem as you have to go round through Pont-Audemer and it's pretty well signposted. They are building a new exit from the A13 motorway so presumably in future you will be able to leave the A13 much closer to the site.

DadminusLad

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/05/2019 17:35

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Good Site in Good Location

Very tidy and peaceful site. Good size pitches and well maintained. Good cycling area and easy access to Pont Audemer, with all its restaurants and historic buildings. Recommend for a relaxed and friendly environment !

Guzziman

Reviewed on 03/11/2017 10:31

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer