Southern Comfort

Ringwood Road, Three Legged Cross, Nr Ringwood, Dorset, BH21 6QY

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Adults

Why stay here ...

Southern Comfort is ideally situated on the Hampshire/Dorset border for those wishing to base themselves within easy reach of the beautiful New Forest and one of it’s main market towns, Ringwood. The site is approximately 3 miles from Ringwood, and less than 10 miles from the seaside town of Bournemouth and it’s neighbouring port of Poole. The stunning Purbeck Hills and Jurassic coast are within 40 minutes’ drive.

Southern Comfort is owned and run by Angela and Tim Moody and is a site that offers basic facilities within a friendly family atmosphere. We have Alpacas who love making new friends, as well as our resident chickens (who can usually be relied on for fresh eggs!). No dogs allowed as we have 3 dogs of our own.

The pitches all have a hard standing with electrical hook up points and many of them also have a grass pitch if space for an awning is required. The majority of our pitches enjoy uninterrupted views over pony paddocks behind the site.

The well known tourist attraction of Moors Valley Country Park, along with its Go Ape facility is within an easy off road walk or cycle ride. The miles of forest trails that the Park leads to is a very pleasant way of spending stress free days, or if that is too energetic, our local pub, ‘The Three Legged Cross’ is an easy 10 minute level walk. The food is excellent, and the pub has a very cosy feel to it.

There are 3 different convenience stores within a mile of the CL, or the large new supermarket in the nearest town of Verwood is around 2 miles distance for any other shopping needs while you’re on holiday.

Angela and Tim look forward to welcoming you to their CL.

Facilities on site ...

  • Information room
  • Recycling facilities
  • TV reception: good
  • Wi-Fi

Prices

Useful Info

Latest arrival time: 8:00 PM

0.5 acres

Electric amperage: 16

Recycling Facilities

Nearby

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

You need to be a Club member to view directions to this Certificated Location. Log in

Sites key: Certificated Location

Postcode:
BH21 6QY
Plan a route to this site
GPS:
Lat 50.84851 / Lon -1.87703
OS field ref:
SU088054
OS map ref:
195

Transport links

  • Buses go to: Ringwood, West Moors, Verwood, Bournemouth
  • Daily public transport within 1 mile
  • Nearest port: Poole (15 miles)

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good clean site

We came here for a week in August. Very easy site to find with good access. We rang prior to arriving as we thought we’d be early, didn’t reckon on M25 holdups !! But owner said our pitch was ready and waiting for us and we could arrive as soon as we wished. On arrival was met by Angela and Tim who were very welcoming. Advised us to nose into pitch so we could look out over paddock where chickens and alpaca roamed. Tim even helped us push caravan into position(( no motor mover !) The dogs do roam but are very friendly as are the chickens! The site is ideally placed for visits to the New Forest, Kingston Lacy, corfe castle and studland bay (all national trust and we’ll worth a visit). As well as within easy reach of Lymington, the Isle of Wight, Bournemouth, Poole etc. The site is very clean and well maintained and we would have no reservation about returning or recommending it to others.

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not what i expected

We arrived to a lovely welcome and was told which pitch to go on but then left to it. The pitch we were put on was extremely close to the neighbour who we discovered is stored there permanently. We didnt pitch looking over the paddocks behind as our back of caravan(bedroom) would have been stuck out into what i called "the yard" We discovered throughout our stay that some of the lock ups just off "the Yard" were used by tradesmen and early morning noise was heard as well as power tools being used. One morning we had to keep the caravan door closed as the owners had a fire going just behind the fence and smoke was awful. Now we love dogs but their 3 dogs were loose at all times and relieving themselves in both ways anywhere they chose. I had to mention once that there were 2 loads of poo down the side of our caravan. We did actually feel like we were parked in someones back yard. We always use CLs and unfortunately this is one of the worst weve used.

Response from the Club:

The CL owners have been in touch as they were very sorry to hear you had some grievances during your stay with them and wish to address your concerns as they strive to make their site a nice place for members to stay. Unfortunately they were not aware you had any concerns during your visit and would have done their utmost to assist if they had been. Please note, they do not have bonfires whilst they have visitors. A fire behind a fence would have been from their neighbour's garden, which unfortunately they have no control of. Please be assured this is not a regular occurrence. The site’s annual inspection was done during a full occupation of the site, and no mention was made regarding pitch size. The site has always been laid out as it is now, without issues, and is shown on the pictures on the Club website, so they are sorry to hear you were not happy with this. As mentioned on the site description, they do have dogs on the site but they collect and tidy the site at least twice a day. For future reference, the owners will sort any issues if reported to them and they can only apologise that this disrupted your enjoyment of the site. Please note, the storage containers, located on a separate part of the property, do not have trade people working, as that is not allowed by the owners.

We hope this helps address your concerns and the CL owners are sorry that you won't be returning to them in the future.

Reviewed on

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Friendliest C.L. Ever ?

Made welcome as soon as we arrived on site. Angela & Tim both go out of their way to make a stay here a perfect experience. We came to visit Wimborne, and having enjoyed ourselves so much, will definitely return again - soon we hope. Agree with all of the other positive reviews - would have given more than five ticks, if it was possible.

Reviewed on

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well run welcoming site.

Stayed twice on our way to and from France with Poole Ferry. Lovely greeting from Angela who took us in at the last minute on our way down. We then booked again for our return journey. Clean and well run. Easy to find and in a great location for Poole. Bournemouth and the New Forrest.

Caravanner

Reviewed on

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fab weekend

Our first outing with our caravan was well spent here.  Arrived to find our pitch clearly labelled and easy to access. Only 5 pitches with plenty of space between them and a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere.   Angela came to check we had settled in, along with her three friendly dogs.  We had lovely view over adjoining fields/paddocks.  Solar powered Fairy lights along fences gave the site a different and enjoyable aspect after nightfall. Would well recommend.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer