Solo levelling tips

ScreenName1100752E3A replied on 29/06/2021 11:07

Posted on 29/06/2021 11:07

hello  

I'm a novice and will be travelling as a solo adult with a toddler. 

is there any kit that would help me level the caravan alone please.  

many thanks for your help 

harry1000 replied on 19/09/2021 10:31

Posted on 19/09/2021 10:31

My original partner was quite severally disabled and unable to give me much help in setting up once on site, so back then it was almost all down to me to manage on my own. So I designed a simple gadget which enabled me to easily tell from outside the van, what needed to be done to get the van perfectly level. It takes all the toing and throughing out of getting it level. The display of the unit hangs in the front window.

I briefly described how to build one in this forum some weeks ago - it needs some level of skill to build, but it is definitely DIY-able. Should anyone want more details I will be happy to oblige.

My original partner passed away some years ago and I now have another fitter partner, whilst my own health has declined. So she now does much of the heavy work of setting up and packing - the gadget though is still used, making the levelling a quick one stage easy, accurate process. 

Navigateur replied on 19/09/2021 11:00

Posted on 19/09/2021 11:00

Levelling is a job best done solo anyway.  A supply of levelling blocks will be required however one does it - and something like a spirit level. Pick one with a shallow curve to the glass. That way the bubble will be easier to read as it will have more travel for a slight inclination.

Fore and aft levelling is easily arranged with the jockey wheel but it can be difficult to estimate the number of blocks for the side to side levelling. For this you can best use a plumb line set to hang just inside the doorway.  You will also need to mark the floor – or something cut to be able to be consistently positioned on the floor below the plumb bob.