Wintering your leaisure battery

Dobarob replied on 05/10/2023 19:31

Posted on 05/10/2023 19:31

As a newbie I'm sure what to do with our leisure battery when we finally stop touring over the winter. Should we leave it in situ or remove ir for storage at home? If its at home, is there any wisdom as to when to use a charger on it, or not at all unless charger has dropped/gone? Any pointers gratefully received.

Cornersteady replied on 05/10/2023 19:53

Posted on 05/10/2023 19:53

The battery will discharge over time, especially if you have a tracking or alarm system dependent upon it, and very cold weather can have an effect too.

It depends on how long you won't use it for but if a number of months I would take it out and keep in at home and put a smart charger on it.

Other options are installing a solar panel but even in winter that might not work.

The best option personally is not to stop touring? Your choice but your caravan on EHU or gas will keep you (very) warm, we find 1Kw once warmed up will do, use sites with hard standings (if they are open over the winter they will usually them) and really the only thing is to watch out for very cold weather when your aquaroll or outside pipes might freeze but there are ways around that. Obviously don't tow in really bad weather.

If you are new then also make sure you empty all the water from your caravan or it will freeze, expand and split any fittings and usually frost damage is not covered by any warranty. (sorry if you knew that)

nelliethehooker replied on 05/10/2023 21:34

Posted on 05/10/2023 21:34

If you are new then also make sure you empty all the water from your caravan or it will freeze, expand and split any fittings and usually frost damage is not covered by any warranty. (sorry if you knew that)

Just to add, remember to leave all your taps fully open in the mid position, and the fridge/freezer door open too.

Caravan Man replied on 08/10/2023 13:28

Posted on 08/10/2023 13:28