Writing Reviews (particularly for CLs)

moulesy replied on 03/06/2019 11:02

Posted on 03/06/2019 11:02

We are staying more and more on CLs these days and have found many really lovely sites after reading reviews on CT. But I'm sure there are many, many more that we miss. The problem, for me anyway, when I look at latest activity, is the number of reviews with titles like "perfect" , "a real gem" , "lovely site" and so on.

So, and this is just a suggestion for folk writing reviews, these days I try to include the name of the site in the title when I write reviews. It makes it easier to distinguish between CL reviews and main site reviews which I don't tend to look at much.

Just wondering if others think it would be helpful to do that.

brue replied on 03/06/2019 11:30

Posted on 03/06/2019 11:30

We had a brief discussion about this earlier on so since then I've tended to put the name of any site as the review title. However when I see CL reviews, whatever the title I still have to look up the CL via the link as I often don't know where the CL is situated etc. So I don't know what is the best answer to your suggestion. I've certainly spotted some good CLs via reviews. smile

peedee replied on 03/06/2019 13:21

Posted on 03/06/2019 13:21

I entirely agree M, I did suggest to the Club many moons ago that the titile of the site should automatically be generated e.g." xxxxxx created a review for xxxxxx". but they have done B all about it. They appear to be struggling to do anything at the moment. Site upgrades were promised for early in the year and throughout the year, I've not noticed any other than plenty of downtime.

peedee

takethedogalong replied on 03/06/2019 13:40

Posted on 03/06/2019 13:40

I will try and remember to put CL name. I might even try to create a personal template to use withCL reviews, rating things like views, dog friendliness, media links, cycling links, mobility issues, etc..... things that will help other folks. We use a lot from very basic to lots of extras. 🤔

Wherenext replied on 03/06/2019 18:48

Posted on 03/06/2019 18:48

Like Brue I've clicked on many a CL review and am none the wiser, having then to remember the name (tough one that, and getting tougher) and then look it up. So unless you put something like:-

"Great Stop at Old Farm House, Abingdon"

I will still have to make an effort to locate it. I would hope the club would be more proactive in helping CLs but am not holding my breath.

Edit - Anyway I've seen far more reviews from non CT users than the other way so we'll still have the same problem unless the club does something.

moulesy replied on 03/06/2019 19:25

Posted on 03/06/2019 11:30 by brue

We had a brief discussion about this earlier on so since then I've tended to put the name of any site as the review title. However when I see CL reviews, whatever the title I still have to look up the CL via the link as I often don't know where the CL is situated etc. So I don't know what is the best answer to your suggestion. I've certainly spotted some good CLs via reviews. smile

Posted on 03/06/2019 19:25

That's a good point about location. Maybe it'd be better to simply have the name and location as the title, possible with a very brief - one or two word rating - and then expand in the actual review. smile

DavidKlyne replied on 03/06/2019 19:32

Posted on 03/06/2019 19:32

I suspect most people writing reviews start from the web page for that site or CL so it would probably be counter intuitive for members starting from that point to do as suggested. I am not sure why we even have titles for reviews as its probably the biggest challenge to come up with a snappy title compared to writing the review? As Wherenext acknowledges the reviews are mainly written by members who generally don't visit CT so how you would communicate the idea I have no idea. I seem to spend a lot of time deleting reviews posted in the Story Section. Even when left up for a while with a note asking for it to be posted in the correct place, 99% of the time there is no response. 

David

Bakers2 replied on 03/06/2019 19:37

Posted on 03/06/2019 18:48 by Wherenext

Like Brue I've clicked on many a CL review and am none the wiser, having then to remember the name (tough one that, and getting tougher) and then look it up. So unless you put something like:-

"Great Stop at Old Farm House, Abingdon"

I will still have to make an effort to locate it. I would hope the club would be more proactive in helping CLs but am not holding my breath.

Edit - Anyway I've seen far more reviews from non CT users than the other way so we'll still have the same problem unless the club does something.

Posted on 03/06/2019 19:37

I click and read the review, I then click on the site name - club together/ reviews/ funny Farm

So click on the funny Farm part, that brings up reviews and and a green button saying view site, address on the top lines. Simples 😉

Because I can't save this any other way I'll post and check I've remembered my facts correctly. If there isn't an edit I did remember correctly 😉

 

moulesy replied on 03/06/2019 19:49

Posted on 03/06/2019 19:37 by Bakers2

I click and read the review, I then click on the site name - club together/ reviews/ funny Farm

So click on the funny Farm part, that brings up reviews and and a green button saying view site, address on the top lines. Simples 😉

Because I can't save this any other way I'll post and check I've remembered my facts correctly. If there isn't an edit I did remember correctly 😉

 

Posted on 03/06/2019 19:49

Yes, that's what I do as well. But very often it brings up a club site rather than a CL. I was really just mulling over a way of saving a bit of time. I did intend at one time to create a list of CLs with good reviews in areas we'd be likely to visit so I could check them out quickly. (But as Mrs M would no doubt point out, that's just one more thing I was "going to do"! ) wink

Bakers2 replied on 03/06/2019 19:57

Posted on 03/06/2019 19:32 by DavidKlyne

I suspect most people writing reviews start from the web page for that site or CL so it would probably be counter intuitive for members starting from that point to do as suggested. I am not sure why we even have titles for reviews as its probably the biggest challenge to come up with a snappy title compared to writing the review? As Wherenext acknowledges the reviews are mainly written by members who generally don't visit CT so how you would communicate the idea I have no idea. I seem to spend a lot of time deleting reviews posted in the Story Section. Even when left up for a while with a note asking for it to be posted in the correct place, 99% of the time there is no response. 

David

Posted on 03/06/2019 19:57

David I see your notes on reviews and discussions on the story section 😉

I would suggest that these are posted there because of this website, which we all know isn't intuitive.

And I agree with you about the necessity of a title for a review. I struggle to find the button to leave a review even when on the site I wish to review page 😲

 

brue replied on 03/06/2019 19:59

Posted on 03/06/2019 19:59

Same here about looking up the sites mentioned, at this time of the year there are lots of reviews, places I've never even thought about and probably wouldn't find easily so I enjoy reading them... and I hope I remember them!  Probably should have done a list too as even today I spotted one that sounded good.