Complete novices!

Three bears replied on 20/02/2022 17:30

Posted on 20/02/2022 17:30

Hi folks

Six months ago we had never thought of owning a mobile holiday home!  In October we were talking about buying a caravan.  A month ago we bought a camper van! Sussex Duo  So we are starting from scratch.  I have a feeling I will be asking lots of questions and seeking advice.  

For starters…how useful is a toaster? (we have a good sized cooker).  What’s the best way to store food such as tins or bottles (inc wine) to stop them crashing around too much?  What’s the best electric kettle to get?

Looking forward to chatting with you 😁

Cornersteady replied on 20/02/2022 17:45

Posted on 20/02/2022 17:45

Hello

I assume you mean electric?

Toaster- very useful in our experience, much simpler to just plug in and the toast pops up when ready and easier to keep clean, but see below about kettles 

Storage - just get some plastic crates, they ones that fold up and/or have carry handles are best to carry the stuff from your house and fold flat when not needed. Up to you but we now just buy stuff, usually fresh, when on site and/or on a shorter time basis.

The cheapest electric kettle you can get will be be fine, ours was a basic from Adsa. As with the toaster get the lowest wattage you can find so that you won't go over the Amp limit on a  site. On a club site this will be 16A and so it means it will take longer but you may be able run your electric heating and kettle at the same time. Again I've found automatic electric kettles easier to use than hob ones. 

Keep asking away, we all started just like you.

Tinwheeler replied on 20/02/2022 17:47

Posted on 20/02/2022 17:47

Hello and welcome.