Choraidh Croft

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Easy access to lock

This site had beautiful views over the lock from the site. The lock was in easy access to the site via a short walk through a wood. Ideal for pets, our labrador loved it here. Walks along the lock for as long as you like. Otters have been spotted here. The on site tearoom is lovely, we got take away home made cake which was delicious.

Dawnie55

Reviewed on 29/09/2023 20:45

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stunning views

This is a great site right next to the NC500. The views are stunning and the walk down to the loch shore is a must. Charles and his daughter Sam who runs the on site tea room are both friendly and helpful and there is a lovely range of crafts for sale too. Plenty to see and do in the surrounding area we stayed for 3 nights.

Janette

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 02/09/2023 20:37

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A great site

Great CL site. Nice peaceful site with lovely scenery. Friendly owner and daughter who runs the tearoom.

ScreenNameD3F4CC1EE8

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/06/2023 17:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A nice CL with stunning views

Access - Very easy to find off the main road, but the gate was awkward and hard for my wife to open/close, but the welcome from the owner was lovley and helpful. Site - level hard standing pitches with room for awning, warned not to drive on the grass as a previous visitor had got themselves stuck, but was able to turn and reverse down onto our pitch OK. Water is at gate at top of site, poorly positioned, as gate can't be opened if there's someone using the tap, but not generally an issue. CDP and grey waste are up drive just beyond gate, OK but grey waste means lifting a heavy cast iron cover and we say MH have to turn their unit round twice to fill with water (on right exiting) then drain waste (on left) CDP is OK. The toulets were kept very clean during our stay, as they were used for the adjacent Cafe and had a small hot water heater for handwashing. The site's best feature are the views across Loch Eriboll, which are stunning and the site is super peaceful. There is also a lovely walk through woods onto the Loch shore. Area - beaches at melness and surrounding area are lovely, it's also a nice area for walking and Smoo caves are worth a visit. We kayaked on the Loch which was fantastic with a close otter encounter! This Cl is lovley, it could do with a few minor tweaks to make visitors stays easier, but we would certainly go back.

markflip

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/05/2023 15:18

29 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous location!

This site is heavenly! You would be daft to bypass it. The welcome by Charles and Sam has been warm, welcoming and helpful. The views are to die for! There are 5 hardstanding pitches, grey waste and chemical waste disposal in a newly built area. For motorhomes, fresh water on the way in by the gate post. There are no showers and better to use your onboard toilet if you have one. The toilets are shared by the cafe, no accounting for passing visitors! We would return.

ExDirectory

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/06/2022 21:37

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Convenient stop over for NC 500…but you could do better

The CL which would have been nice was fully booked when we made our telephone reservation. We were offered the car park of the adjacent Cafe which was closed. On arrival I was extremely disappointed at the space available and the very poor standard of facilities. At time of visit there was no running hot or cold water in the toilet….. Owner did not hesitate to charge £15.00 for the night being same rate as CL even though we had no electric. Location is nice but is long overdue upgrade of substandard facilities as per other recent reviews On hindsight I would have been better parked in a lay-by. Stayed September 2021.

Henry on Tour

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/10/2021 14:28

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointing

Great location. Lovely view over the loch. Nice,welcoming people . Pitch ok . Standard of hygiene poor i.e toilets/sinks /floor not clean. Cloths wrapped around freshwater tap was filty . Generally run down. While £18 is not expensive , for a few pound more on a commercial site facilities are spotless . Not the standard expected from a CL .

GalaMike

Reviewed on 06/09/2021 20:48

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Orca Whale spotting from site

Very convenient for the NC500 and nice to have the tea room on site, now run by the owner's daughter. We were disappointed not to be able to visit the artist Lotte Glob nearby (you now have to book in advance and she didn't return my phone call) but the compensation was that on our walk through the bottom of the site to Loch Eribol we saw Orcas. We had taken binoculars, hoping to see the otters, so were able to watch 3 big black fins jutting out of the water and were pretty sure they were too big for dolphins or porpoise. The next morning the café lady confirmed that Orcas had been seen in the Loch before. Magical.

BurtnJoyce

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 19:50

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A pleasant site with great walking

We enjoyed our stay here - the field was well arranged and there was a lovely walk down through the owners’ property to the loch - great for the dog and ourselves. Not sure what the reference to Sky TV implied. The owner gave us plenty of information about the local area including a walks leaflet. We would happily stay again.

tonysuvla

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/10/2020 11:58

16 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Stopover

We rang up to book ourselves in on our trip of the NC500 the day before we arrived. I went to give the owner our CAMC number and he said it wasn't required as we were to be sited in his tea room car park - the tea room being shut because of COVID restrictions. We still paid the same price as if on the CL (in fact my husband told him to keep the change!), and we were given ehu through his bungalow window. I suppose opening up his car park overnight is enterprising, considering the income he would be losing by not opening his tea room, and also for the sheer number of motorhomes/caravans taking advantage of the current "freedom" to drive the NC500. The CL was totally separate and situated some 100 yards or so from the car park - and gated off, so I could not see any harm in opening up his car park to those in need of an overnight stop. Indeed, I have stayed on other CLs that share their premises with commercial sites etc. Because of where we were situated we were able to take on water by way of our extendable hose which stretched from the water point next to the gate of the CL to our motorhome. We used our trusty red buckets to dispose of our grey waste, but I suspect we could possibly have driven over the drain had we so wanted. There were plenty bins near the bungalow so we were able to deposit our rubbish accordingly. The walk to the loch was lovely - however - it was annoying to find dog poo on the small track running from the CL to the loch. Why? Totally disrespectful of others. We do not own a dog! Apparently there are otters to be seen. I joked about asking about a refund if we didn't see any. We were told there were at least 3 females in the vicinity. The night we stayed it looked as if there may have been a "no-show" in the CL - as only 4 outfits were in place. I hope the owner is not penalised for being enterprising as he did NOT overfill his CL. It is ideally situated for those on the NC500, but I would highly recommend booking in advance if you possibly can.

Carolee

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 30/09/2020 11:36

56 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer