Alverstone Ponds

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site with friendly owners

This is a lovely site, well cared for, with friendly owners close to a cycle track and great walks. Water, grey waste and EHU near / on each pitch, which is gravel hard standing and level. Clean and nice toilet. Stayed here twice and loved how relaxed and peaceful it was. A very easy place to settle into. As a new Motorhome driver I was a little apprehensive about the narrow lanes (make sure you come in the right way) but there are plenty of passing points. When I was leaving one time, roadworks closed the original route so the owner drove in front of me to take me a different route out. Excellent service going the extra mile. Will stay here regularly in future.

ScreenName161D3F804B

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/04/2024 08:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ticked all the boxes

I endorse the many positive comments made by previous reviewers which I’ll try not to repeat. We stayed for 7 nights and didn’t drive off-site. There is a large Morrisons supermarket outside Sandown that can be reached via the airstrip on foot in about 30 mins and more quickly by bike. The nearest bus stop with a regular No 8 service between Newport, Sandown, Bembridge, St Helens, Seaview and Ryde is a 20 min walk along Alverstone Road to Winford. The local area is rich with clearly marked footpaths and bridleways. There are pleasant walks from the site to Sandown, Culver Down, Shanklin and inland to Pedallers café, the Garlic Farm, the Donkey Sanctuary and The Pointers Inn in Newchurch (which we didn’t try) as well as local woods and nature reserves. Cycleway 23 which links to cycleway 22 and other routes is just down the road. West Cowes can be reached by bike in about 1 hr 25 mins. The single sex toilets and hand basins include an extractor fan, hot water, hand soap and clean hand towel. We were not aware of them being shared. There are also laundry facilities. The pitch cost for two was £20 per night which included free wi-fi and £4 worth of metered electricity. We found the electricity was more than enough even though we ran everything on mains in mid-April when it was quite cool. Terrestrial TV reception with our omni-directional aerial was good. Each pitch appeared to have a satellite dish & coax (which we didn’t use). Sections of pipe were provided to direct the grey water into a drain on each pitch. The discounted return ferry for our motorhome was £165. This site ticks all our boxes.

Caraman123

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/04/2024 16:04

69 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A hidden perfect Gem

We've just come back from a 7 night stay at Alverstone ponds CL Site, what a fantastic CL site this is, one of the best we've stayed on. Paul and Chris are fantastic, so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. There's laundry facilities, a toilet and basin, information room, books, DVD's to borrow. There's fresh water on pitches, grey waste and EHU, as well as a picnic bench on each generous sized level pitch. There's free basic WiFi, with option to upgrade. The Chemical toilet emptying point is excellent, every detail has been carefully planned. There's goats, chickens and an abundance of wildlife, as a early waker, lying in bed listening to the dawn chorus is magical. There is 2 gates taking you straight out onto the bridle way, as well as a dog walk on site, great when you have 3 collies. You are surrounded by countryside, you can explore so many different areas on foot, if you don't want to drive far. From the Wetlands reserve opposite, where you can see the Red Squirrels, to the miles of cycle paths where you can walk to Shanklin and beyond or towards Newchuch, where you can grab refreshments at Peddlers, and further afield. Paul and Chris provide you with so much information about walk, alot of circular ones. The local people around are very friendly as well, with one showing us the way to the copse after meeting them on the bridle path, so pack your walking shoes, camera and binoculars. The site is also perfectly based to explore the island and easy to get to from the Ferry. We would highly recommend this site. We've already got dates ready for 2024, we wished we'd found this site last year and stayed for longer this year. Paul and Chris wete also able to organise all the Ferry for us, it was just a case of turning up and sheer relaxation. Thank you both, for friendship and making our stay so memorable and enjoyable. See you next year

scamp1035

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/05/2023 09:05

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Perfect!

We stayed from 27/2/23 to 6/3/23 What gem! We chose to stay for 7 nights and use this as our base for walking. Paul and Chris a very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The site has spacious pitches, EHU, drinking water on each pitch and grey waste disposal. The added bonus of washrooms was great for us as we’ve a small campervan. It is adult only which we like, and surrounded by wildlife and goats, sheep, and chickens, which means fresh eggs! We were able to enjoy the nature reserve across the road even spotting 2 red squirrels. We walked from site to Newchurch and onto Pedlars cafe. The walk to the Garlic Farm took us past a Christmas tree farm and the food if you like garlic is delicious. We walked to Sandown and also Shanklin all from site and all walks were circular. The only time we took our van out was to visit St Catherine point area, beautiful. We never usually stay anywhere for more than 3 days but this CL was perfect as a base, which we would return to and recommend.

AS Thompson

Campervanner

Reviewed on 07/03/2023 12:21

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect, Restful and Peaceful Site

We booked just a week ahead for our stay and Paul was so helpful and welcoming. When we arrived on site he showed us all the facilities and gave us a leaflet with information about nearby places of interest - we are Island based so were aware of many but the walks listed was helpful as we had Stanley the dog with us. The site is in lovely surroundings and the pitches are spaced well apart to ensure privacy. It was so peaceful and tranquil, no road noise, just birds, sheep and goats and the chickens in the next field! We were quite sheltered and even though it's early March we managed to sit out on our second evening with our fire pit blazing away. The pitch had water, EHU and grey waste disposal, and there were also laundry facilities available if you need them. The toilet and washbasin were spotless. There was also a huge choice of DVDs we could choose from! All in all this is a perfect site for us - we don't have young children and prefer a site that's either adults only or large enough to be able to pitch far enough away not to be impacted by the noise of others. We loved the wildlife all around us - Alverstone Mead across the road is a beautiful nature reserve and we had close encounters with a red squirrel and many small birds who were curious enough to get close to us. Lots of lovely walks around the site. We can't wait to go back again. Thanks Paul.

Vectisians

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/03/2023 15:02

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing CL

Pitched 10 days and without any doubt one of the best CLs available. Nice welcome from Paul & Chris who pointed out all the facilities. Water, grey waste, EHU and picnic bench on every pitch. Spotless toilets and laundry. Well spaced level pitches in a beautiful setting. Fished 4 times and had lots of good sized quality carp every session. Lots to see and visit in the local area, it's worth buying the rover bus pass to get around the island. Sandown railway station offers all day parking for £2.20. It's difficult to find anything to criticise except the price is far too cheap and Paul will also get you a huge discount on ferry fares. What's not to like....

Swift Phil

Campervanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2022 22:23

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a great place

Stayed 5-6-7 May 2022. What a peaceful location and so quite. we will return.

splatcat

Reviewed on 12/05/2022 10:19

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic Owners

We have just had 5 nights at this delightful CL. We had a fabulous greeting from the owners, who were extremely helpful. We were unsure how long we needed the pitch for, but being November the owners were able to allow us flexibility which we greatly appreciated. We want to return and visit the lakes etc. We loved seeing their pet goats and the sheep, plus the chickens. Paying for the faster WiFi of just £5 for the week was well worth it, but the free Wifi worked well enough if you just wanted to check e mails etc. Would I recommend this CL, definately!

Cornish girl

Reviewed on 16/11/2021 16:41

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL

This is how a CL should be! Every pitch is hardstanding (good for a 7.5 motorhome) and each pitch has an EHU and a water tap. Paul and Chris were there when we arrived, really friendly couple who were there of we needed them but otherwise left us to our own devices. We were on the island to walk the coastal path and we did two chunks of the walk from Alverstone Ponds. It is about a 2 mile walk to get onto the coastal path, but we took that into consideration and also that we would need to walk back from the bus stop in Sandown. We also cycled into Cowes to visit family one day. The cycle path is just down the road from the campsite & is flat and generally in good condition. Alverstone Ponds is generally fully booked and I can understand why. It has shared toilets which were always clean. There’s also a metered washing machine. Fantastic stay.

TraceNige

Reviewed on 28/07/2021 11:24

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic CL 5*

What a wonderful break we've just had at Alverstone Ponds Cl, Paul and Chris were excellent hosts and couldn't have been more helpful. The site is lovely with full service pitches and all very close to the local cycle and walking tracks. Toilet and washing facilities were spotless. Caravaning away from the mainland means you really feel you're away and on holiday and I can't think of a better place to stop over than Alveratone Ponds, thank you both.

Jude and Andre

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/10/2020 14:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer