Black Hill Cottage

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Comfortable stay

Site is very close to forest and many walks are on the doorstep. Pleasant surroundings with hardstandings, water, EHU close, grey waste and chemical waste not too far. Only downside was the closeness of A36 which is busy most of the time (even during the night) Owners very friendly.

ScreenNameEA4F506EB9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/11/2021 21:36

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

second great visit

We visited this cl for the second time recently and exactly the same comments apply. Friendly and accommodating hosts, perfect level hardstanding with shade available if required-picnic benches for each pitch and a super long hose that allowed us to fill the motorhome without moving even though we were on a different pitch to last time. Ideal location for mountain biking and walking in quieter areas of the forest without having to drive anywhere. Good selection of pubs nearby that could be walked to if required. There are also tennis courts 5 mins away that we have used on both our visits. This site has everything.

Pcrook9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/06/2021 21:35

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site on the edge of the New Forest

We spent one night here and will definitely return. The site is well kept and all 5 pitches are level hardstanding with electric hook-up. No toilets or showers but we always use our own facilities. The waste disposal area for grey water and toilet cassette was clean and well laid out. The area is outstanding with lovely walks in the new forest with ponies and donkeys roaming close by, although a cattle grid prevents them from coming on site. Very good for dog walking! The owners gave us a warm welcome and we would recommend a visit.

Steve Benimar

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/04/2021 18:15

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant site in new forrest

Just come back from a nine night stop. Nice pleasant site with some very nice walks on doorstep. Mr and Mrs Loades very helpful and accommodating. Southampton is a short drive away along with other places to visit. A fifteen minute walk takes you to some very useful shops to stock up on some essentials. Enjoyed our stay and will definitely revisit

Followsaints

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/10/2020 14:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

great place

We visited this CL recently for a few days and we were very pleased. The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful and the level, shady site was very well laid out and gave excellent access to the north of the New Forest. It is close to the A36 which can be a very busy road so there was a bit of road noise but this didn't detract from our stay. On a couple of days we were visited by friends and they were allowed to come on site and join us for a picnic. One great feature was that the owner had a very long retractable hose at the rear of their house that we could use to fill our motorhome so we could stay on pitch to do this-such an easy solution when your tank runs dry. We will definitely stay here again.

Pcrook9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/07/2020 09:21

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excelent

Excelent site very pretty will go back. Our first time on a C L and a great choice. Owners Dave and Sheila lovely friendly people.

masterclass

Reviewed on 05/09/2018 13:52

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent for Northern New Forest

A great little CL with 5 excellent hard pitches surrounded by well kept grass, water, disposal etc. all handy. Very friendly and helpful lady owner. Perfect for cycling the northern area of the New Forest. Only slight downside is proximity to the A36 (although this makes access very easy) as there is a fair bit of road noise.

fivebargates

Motorhomer from East Sussex

Reviewed on 23/05/2017 14:51

24 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

New Forest Retreat

We stayed here for three nights in March 2014 and would certainly go back. A lovely site, all hardstanding pitches. Being only about 50 metres from the main A36 road, which is extremely busy, there is a quite a lot of road noise however we didn't find it to be a big issue. A friendly welcome in a lovely location.

Kal and Tim

Reviewed on 15/03/2014 20:48

5 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

IDEAL LOCATION

Lovely site in ideal location for local attractions. Right on the edge of the New Forrest. Level site with all hard standing . Easy access.

TREVSTEPH

Motorhomer from Bedfordshire

Reviewed on 20/11/2013 15:06

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Black Hill Cottage

Lovely site in a very beautiful part of the New Forest. Some road noise but really not a problem.

cassidygirl

Reviewed on 03/09/2013 21:31

32 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer