Bryn-y-Gwin Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site BUT ...........

Our first visit here. A lovely site with fabulous views and very helpful owner. Sadly it is let down by very dodgy brown filtered drinking water - fortunately the local Co-op has a good supply of bottled water. We couldn't face using the water out of the tap after the inside of our kettle went brown. TV reception is impossible on some pitches and be aware that the toilet and shower facilities are shared with about 20 commercial pitches. If you can cope with these problems, this is a little corner of heaven.

3shadow3

Reviewed on 23/06/2021 22:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

This is a good site, can accomodate when the CL is full

I tried to book the CL here, but it was full. The owner has two other small commercial sites at the same price, sharing the same facilites and he could fit me in. Deposit and payment was via BACS (a plus for me). Sadly the facilities were closed (due to COVID) for my visit, so i can't comment, other than they are a ~30-40 metre walk from the CL. The road up to the site is a bit narrow and steep, but little used so i had no issues, the pitches on the CL and the site adajcent that i used were hard standing and of a good standard and Ian gave me a friendly welcome. This site's best asset is it's setting and the wealth of fabulous walking/cycling on the doorstep. The Mawddach Trail is very easy to get to from the site(turn left out of the site, left on the main road, then right into a service road for some houses then down a short, narrow footpath and over a footbridge). The road back up is rather steep though! I walked Cader Idris from the site, short drive away are the Panorama walk above Barmouth and the precipice walk above Dolgellau. Rhobell Fawr/DDuallt and Y Garn are aslo nearby for any mountain baggers and just up the road, Cregellen Lakes are well worth a visit, especially with a good sunset. I loved this site as a great base for walking/cycling, it might be a bit basic for some, but it's location is perfect for Dolgellau/Barmouth/Coed-y-Brenin etc

markflip

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/09/2020 18:18

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

THE PITCHES AND TOILET FACILITES LET SITE DOWN

Picked site as thought it was very near the Mawddach trail but it was down a 1 mile hill to get to Dolgellau. Yes you can cycle and walk it but it was rather hard after the 22 miles on the Mawddach trail. Would also be difficult if you had a pram or wheelchair due to no footpaths in bits. The site itself is lovely with great scenery and very tranquil. The pitches could be better, there is hardstanding but the pitch we had even if we had brought our awing with us we would not have been able to put it out. Whichever way we had parked the van we would have been on a slope up or down with the awning. The hardstanding bit was full of large chunks of slate and again this would have just torn our ground sheet. There was a a bit of sheep poo around and I appreciate its a working farm but not nice when you tread into your van. The site is very large with a CL bit with 5 pitches, a general bit with a few pitches, two campsites and permanent pitches. I can imagine in high season it would be very busy. The toilet facilities are what spoilt the stay for me, they were not nice. There was one block which housed one shower which used £1.00 coin for 10 minutes, two sinks and a toilet (with lockable door) which had a sink and then next door was a door to one toilet and no sink. Spiders everywhere and cobwebs and there is a difference between cobwebs newly made and ones that have been there in a long while. On a scale of 1 - 10 I would give them a 2. I avoided them at all costs. I would imagine these would be a nightmare in high season. I really do think this site has excellent potential BUT the showers and toilets need to be invested in and the pitches just made a bit smoother and flat in some places. I have read all the reviews and the main gripe does seem to be the facilities. The drinking water was brown which was a bit off putting but luckily we had filled out tanks up. Our friends stayed in the pitch next to ours and had the same moans. They actually left a night earlier and went to another site. Also if you have to go to the toilet at night make sure that you have a strong torch as there are no lights at all - which is not good however on the plus side the stars look fantastic. I would not go back to this site unless the toilet facilities are improved to a much higher standard. However the setting is great and very scenic and on the doorstep for a lot of nice walks etc.

AJ1730

Reviewed on 01/10/2019 19:00

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyable stay

Warm welcome from owners. The quiet CL area has hard standing to one side of a large grass field enclosed by trees with views down to Dolgellau. Being part of a bigger touring/camping/fishing business well spread out over the farm didn't detract from our stay. Facilities weren’t close to CL but we are self sufficient. A lovely walk up local lane gives fantastic views of Cader Idris and access to various footpaths for other longer walks, SSSI wildflower meadows and birding interest from siskins and willlow warblers everywhere and sightings of redstart, pied and spotted flycatchers. Cycled Mawddach trail from Dolgellau which follows estuary to Barmouth on disused railway with great views. We'll be back!

Badbirders

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 21:35

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxing stay

A quiet relaxing site with a view of Cadar Idris. Fellow campers we met in the Peak District recommended this site and they were right to do so. We had a warm welcome on arrival, with an explanation of where every thing was and how it worked. The showers and toilets were fine and the town is a short walk away. It is uphill on the way back, so don't over do the excellent ale that the town has to offer. Cadar Idris can walked from the site and we were given some good route information by the owner. We had a great stay and are planning to return.

Endex

Motorhomer from Suffolk

Reviewed on 30/06/2018 12:11

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of our favorite CL's

This was our second visit here and we had another enjoyable stay. Very friendly and helpful owners. If you're looking for an all singing and dancing site, then this isn't for you. A lovey peaceful site. All you can hear are birds sing and sheep bleating. We did have the odd sheep appear around our pitch, which didn't bother us in the slightest. However, this was no fault of the owners but a fellow campers, who chose to ignore the very clear please close the gate signs. Stunning views from the site too. I'm unable to comment on the shower and toilet facilities as we use our own in the van. We had no trouble with finding the site on our first visit last July as it is clearing signed from the road. For aviation fans, Cad West is about a 10 minute drive away. Fairbourne beach is about 30 minutes away. Ideal for letting dogs have a good play on. Easy to give dogs a quick walk on the site too. Bala Lake and Bewts-Y-Coed are easy to drive to as well. Mobile signal was too good as I managed to use most of my data up! There's a Co-Op and Eurospar in Dollgelau.

dolphinjo

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/06/2017 13:35

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL site, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We stayed for eight nights at Easter including the bank holiday weekend and found this to be a quiet and very lovely site. The owners were very friendly and informative and explained fully about the relationship between the CL and the adjoining very small commercial site which in no way detracted from the quiet of the CL. Beautiful views over the Dollgelau valley, acres of woodland to walk through and even get down to the town without using the road. Walking along the tiny road that goes directly past the site was very quiet and great for wet weather dog walking. Just a warning, getting long touring van through the town when arriving was tricky, we later found a much better route that avoids town center. We had not visited central Wales and Dollgelau before and were really impressed, the town had everything we wanted. We will definitely use this site again.

MrMJP

Caravanner from North Yorkshire

Reviewed on 12/05/2017 21:52

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointed - Is this REALLY a CL?

Booking easy and good help from Mr Davie when we failed to follow directions. Directions to site only just OK. No sign for CL from the road (Why not?) Surprised to find the "CL" section of, what is in effect a large caravan and camping site, is the poorest location, on a sloping site, quite a way from the 2xWC and single shower. Then became puzzled that there is an area (closer to the WC block) with hook-ups for caravans and I counted 4/5 Mortorhomes there whilst we stayed. Even more intruiging was that I counted 5 further caravans (looked like several had been there for far more than 28 days) these were on hard standing adjacent to the WC block! My hypothesis is that this was the original CL. To make matters worse for we mugs on the sloping "CL"tThere were also about 10 tents on two other fields (which could take a lot more tents - so be warned). This meant that the 2xWCs (one without a sink) and single shower were being used by ALL on the 4 sites! I estimate there were well over 60 people staying in about 28 rigs/tents. So, we were unable to use the shower (when we wanted) and lost interest when a neighbour said, she'd stopped using it after the shower tray was full of slow draining soapy water from the previous occupant - Urgh! We are a hardy couple and "made do" despite our obvious and I think understandable disappointment in the quality of this site. We had a great walk up Cader Idris but became annoyed (when we checked) that the description of a CL does not fit this site, in any way. This is from the CC website: "CLs are privately owned, some by Club members, and they are only allowed to offer a maximum of five pitches at any time for up to 28 days. This means you can enjoy blissful peace and quiet in some of the most beautiful places in the country." That is patently NOT true of this site. We hope the owner takes this as a gentle reminder....

Leafman

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 26/08/2016 21:16

6 reviews

6 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not the best

We arrived here excited for our weeks stay but only stayed one night. The cl area (in amongst general public campsite so not quiet as expected!) was right next to the cattle grid so had to listen to the rumble of that throughout the day.  The sheep were free to roam around the cl meaning there was poo everywhere, didn't feel we could let our children out to play freely in that! Although the views are amazing, this site is in a wooded area so you actually don't have a view from your caravan. The pitches were on a slope which left our clutch burning when backing the caravan into the pitch! Found another site and left feeling very disappointed!

belblueeyes2000

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2016 00:00

2 reviews

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good place

stayed a couple of nights, nice site, quite but the facility's, you pay for shower are a walk from CL area and sheep are wandering every where which is OK but watch were you walk

Barbara H

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/07/2016 16:43

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer