Charlton Manor

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Charlton Manor

Just stayed at this site for 2 nights. We absolutely loved it! Will definitely come again. Saw muntjac deer early on the morning of the first day and we think we saw a stoat. We didn’t personally see the barn owl but both nights could hear the tawny owl calling. Very peaceful and beautiful views. A fantastic sunset on the second night. We walked a fair section of the canal in both directions . Not very far away and very pleasant! Would definitely recommend this site

ralphandshirley

Reviewed on 09/10/2023 14:17

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another gem on my CL list, we will be back

We travel in our campervan along with our dogs, so for us easy access to rural walking is essential and this facility was available in positive heaps from the very door at Charlton Manor, however if you are walking with your beloved four legged friends keep an ever watchful eye out for tics as during our stop we found 3 of them on our beauties..... I feel I ought to point out that these rural walks were on bridle ways and tracks right from the farm and not on normal public footpaths, of which, although a decent map or app will show there are a large number of them to explore, sadly they are very poorly signed and every single one we tried to use was poorly maintained to the extent that they were impassable! The owner of the site, Alma is very friendly and is a positive fountain of knowledge on a very wide range of subjects about the local area. I must say that the shed which has numerous maps inside it and books to swap is very decidedly tired! I know site costs are an issue these with so many members and I would say that the £17 nightly fee is at the top end of reasonable, but if it was to go up anymore then the very basic facilities would make it too expensive for us.

MillieMaster

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/06/2023 13:39

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent - Highly Recomended

We booked 4 nights, stayed 5. The weather was excellent and an added bonus. The site was absolutely beautiful, so peaceful, friendly hosts. Views outstanding. Bird watching absolutely amazing, watching the Barn Owl hunt in the evening was a special highlight. Local area very nice and plenty of interesting places to visit.

lephippster

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/05/2023 15:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Single night stop over

After a lovely family holiday in Cornwall, we were looking for a place to stop over in the Salisbury area close to the A303. There are remarkably few suitable options. Charlton Manor was slightly further off route than we hoped for but, in fairness, I’m really pleased to have discovered this delightful CL. We have a large Ford Tourneo Custom and 8-foot wide twin axle caravan so we are not a small outfit and it must be noted that the A roads leading towards the site need to be approached with care as they are twisty and fairly narrow in places and used by tractors, lorries, and buses so please take care on approach. I don’t think I got above 30mph on those A-roads even in the national speed limit areas which seemed to annoy the drivers behind but slow and steady and getting there in one piece seemed more important. The instructions given on the phone when booking were very helpful as you think you are going to the middle of nowhere with nowhere to turn and it is tight in the village too but perfectly passable with care. On the approach into the farm area and onto the field, the bins and chemical disposal points are screened off on your right and a couple of water taps along the tree-lined fence are available - although this seemed a bit uncomfortable as we had to fill up literally right behind a motorhome as the tap was actually on their pitch #4. I hope they didn’t mind too much! The other tap was on pitch #2. The field itself is very large - I don’t think it’s always completely open but for our night it was and the kids and dog were able to let off steam after a 5-hour tow. The pitches are also plenty wide enough and there is good shelter but you don’t feel claustrophobic as you can see out towards the White Horse at Westbury through the trees behind the caravan and sunset to the right whilst there is a hill rising from the field in front of you and the farm buildings to the left. It was a very idyllic setting and very relaxing apart from the intense heat of the day. You feel so away from everywhere it’s great and will certainly be on our shortlist in the future! I don’t know Wiltshire at all so can’t really comment on the area apart from the aforementioned narrowish A roads. I spotted a barn owl during the evening which was a pleasant surprise too! The area does seem to have a few military bases but for us that was a plus and not a negative. I’m sure the friendly welcome that we received will await you too - and you can pay by card which is a huge plus! £17 for the night so not the cheapest as there are no facilities other than EHU, water, bins and chemical waste, but I think just about value for money.

tadhatter

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2022 12:18

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

beautiful peaceful site

This is just the sort of CL we love. Well off the road, very peaceful and tranquil setting, and plenty of space for each unit. Great base for sightseeing around Wiltshire, and there are also lots of lovely walks directly from the site itself. Site owner is charming and spent some time discussing Thatched roofs with her, as they produce the 'hay' for this purpose - and there are lots of thatched roofs in this area.

wesley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/09/2021 15:14

35 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant stay

We enjoyed four nights at Charlton Manor CL in late August 2021. We had booked the site via e-mail backed up with texts, having been unable to find any availability in our hoped for location near Exmoor, but had had to spend 3 nights of our week away in the New Forest en-route. Alma had e-mailed to say there was availability but not on our dates, but having not had a confirmation, we arrived a little nervous. There was no problem however, except that we were unable to pay as it had not become clear either via e-mail or via the details on line that the rate had gone up to £17, and we had only brought the 'right' money. We felt that this was on the high side for what was on offer. That said, there was a nice open view down to the river, and beyond it to Salisbury Plain, and plenty of space along the fence line for 5 caravans, with water and electric hook up. Rubbish bins and toilet disposal point were discretely hidden behind a wooden fence nearby. The approach through the little hamlet was narrow, but no problem. Getting out onto the 342 was a bit more challenging. It was particularly interesting to see bats (we presume) take to the wing at nightfall. The family have 200 acres, and grow wheat purely for thatching straw, along with hens, the caravan site and a holiday cottage - Duck Cottage, and Alma went out of her way to call in and see us on arrival and prior to departure, by which time we had found a cash point in Pewsey!

waljoh

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/08/2021 14:46

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An absolute gem

Being new to caravan holidays I was unsure what to expect but was more than pleasantly surprised. It’s a beautiful spot and run by a lovely family who were most helpful and called in for a chat and a beer one evening, great walks a lovely view and so quiet, the owls at night and the red kites during the day were a joy to behold. Will most definitely be returning as soon as I can

hoss Tanner

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 19:10

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another great find......

We wanted somewhere peaceful and quiet and that's exactly what we got. There was only one other caravan on site when we arrived so we had a choice of where to pitch. A big plus was that there was more than one water point so I didn't have far to go to fill up the aquaroll. Tim, a very pleasant and helpful chap came to see us not long after we arrived and gave us a rundown of what's what etc. Mobile signal on B.T was fine as was the TV signal.

There is a great licensed cafe (was a pub) about a 10 minute walk up the hill which was very good and served some great local ales as well as some very nice cake :) We only stayed for the one night as we were visiting friends and wished we could have stayed for longer.

 

ElliesFolks

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2017 21:57

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wow wow wow!

What a fantastic out of the way place - just what I was looking for. Mobile signal a bit dodgy, but to be expected as a trade off for peace and quiet. Footpaths directly from site were fabulous (if a little overgrown, but that just shows how quiet it is!), and a really nice touch to have os maps to refer to, as well as a library and useful local info. The only negative (and again not the site owner's fault) was some munitions noise from Salisbury Plain - but only weekdays, and dogs mostly got used to it!

Findon

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/06/2017 17:56

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent!

We stayed for 2 nights and received a lovely welcome from the owners. The access road is quite tight in places, down a narrow lane which is also a dead end. The CL is located on a farm and brings all the relaxation you would expect from a quiet CL tucked out the way would bring. We saw a barn owl during our first evening and would have liked more time to enjoy the surrounding area from site. The field itself is well kept, fairly level overlooking adjacent fields with trees behind you. We hope to return sometime in the future.

Reviewed on 21/05/2017 21:36

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer