Church Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Such a peaceful delightful site

We’ve just spent 8 very peaceful nights at Mr Bater’s Church Farm. What a delightful setting. A real sun trap too. On a slight slope, but no real problem. Easy access farm track. Easy walk down footpath to The Chequers (but we did find it a bit pricey and menu a bit restricted). We preferred the two mile drive to The Bell, Cretingham. Reasonable prices and enormous menu, and large garden. The other local pub, The Queen seemed to be closed. Church Farm is handy for an afternoon on the coast, Aldeburgh and Thorpeness are an easy drive, even if the sat nav decides to take you a different way each time! The lanes are lovely to explore and not too narrow. Parham Airfield Museum is well worth a visit (foc and welcomes donations). Framlingham has a Coop superstore, and a very cheap petrol station on the way back to Kettleburgh. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nice to natter with Mr Bater and his hens’ eggs are delicious!

The Pughs

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/09/2023 16:41

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a great find

We came here not knowing much as we came direct from another site which we had to leave due to the poor state of it. What a great find this place is. Lovely views, peacefull fantastic owners and an ideal place to base yourself for exploring the area. We will be coming back here and telling others to as well.

marktina

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 16/09/2022 11:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place to stay.

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every second. A very relaxed experience from the booking to the warm welcome by the owners. Set in beautiful surroundings adjacent to the farmhouse and village church, with farmland all around the small CL. The site slopes very slightly but with plenty of room to position our Motorhome it was fine. We cycled the 3 miles to Framingham, which with its Castle(well worth a visit) and places to eat and drink was a great day out. The quiet country lanes and roads were also ideal for cycling, and exploring the many pretty villages, and churches that seemed to be plentiful in the area. The site is so peaceful and the dark sky was great for star gazing. Within walking distance is the Chequers Pub, which served superb food and was itself a very interesting building, plenty of seating inside and out. A real gem of a CL.

LegsHS

Reviewed on 03/09/2022 18:11

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent loved Church Farm highly recommeded

This was our first time at a cl site and we are so pleased with our experience at Church Farm. The site is located on a hill so levelling blocks were needed but that is also advised in the book. Each pitch has EHU and access to water which is ideal. The site is located within walking distance to a pub although it was under renovation so we walked to the next one. There is also a country bus hail and ride to take you to Framlingham and Ipswich or Norwich. The owner made us feel very welcome showed us around. Our booking was just for 2 nights we really could have stayed longer but had to return home to work the next day. We will certainly return and now have taken our first cl will look for more.

tysoes

Reviewed on 31/07/2021 08:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful place to stay

We spent a lovely, peaceful 12 days here in August. The site is well maintained, grass mowed regularly, the geese have a good nibble every day. Water point at each pitch, rubbish area is clean and tidy. A wonderful selection of mature trees make up a small wooded area to one side of the site, open fields on another, a beautiful church sits just behind. The owner, Mr Bater is extremely friendly and available should you need help with anything. My husband made a suggestion regarding the chemical disposal area, as he had found emptying the toilet slightly awkward. Next morning Mr Bater had already taken forward his suggestion, making a not particularly pleasant task so much easier. The icing on the cake, for me, were the geese, a group of 8 that take a wonder down to the site 2/3 times a day. They mind their own business, not a nuisance to anybody, but provided me with endless entertainment, so comical to watch. We would love to visit again, at the time of writing we are under covid 'house arrest' but we look forward to future happier times.

LinMike

Reviewed on 18/10/2020 17:41

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place to stay

Stayed for week in August. Farmhouse and surroundings beautiful. CL Owners very friendly and obliging. Would recommend for its peace and quiet. and ease of access.

RBr

Caravanner from Bedfordshire

Reviewed on 04/09/2020 16:58

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good place to relax

We've just spent a really relaxing week on this site. There is a choice of footpaths leading away from the site, either across the fields to the next villages or down into the village of Kettleburgh. We enjoyed the walk across the fields to Brandeston where we enjoyed Sunday lunch at The Queen. (You need to book a table during Covid.) Cycling or driving further afield you can explore, Framlingham with its castle on the hill. Orford castle, Snape Maltings, Aldeborough, Dunwich Heath, RSPB Minsmere, Southwold. All of the Suffolk villages are so pretty.

TonyBurton

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2020 20:31

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

In the grounds of a lovely farmhouse

Just spent another relaxing weekend (our fourth visit) at this tranquil site with my family and the in-laws. Biked easily into Framlingham to explore the castle and then onto beautiful Dennington and beyond. We usually round the weekend off with a slap-up dinner at the local Chequers Pub but didn't manage it this weekend for obvious reasons. Already looking forward to our next stay here.

ChristiePage

Reviewed on 13/07/2020 15:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Bliss

What a fantastic site! We received a very warm welcome from the owners and everything about the site is just so relaxing. The Chequers pub is well worth a visit where the food is reasonably priced and plentiful. All in all a very relaxing weekend and would thoroughly recommend this site.

michael lynch

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/08/2019 18:57

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fabulous retreat

We stayed here on our maiden voyage with our new motor home. Ann and John, the owners, made us very welcome. It was a fantastic place to start our new adventures. A very peaceful location. There was EHU and fresh water to each pitch. We visited the local pub (The Chequers) which was only a 5 minute walk. We also walked to Framlingham (approx. 3 miles) which is a lovely town. The walk is a bit scary by the road as there are no pavements. We must add footpath maps to our next destination! There was an auto jumble at the farm on the Monday morning, which was a great visit. I would thorough recommend this CL as a peaceful retreat, loved every minute.

Sal1M

Reviewed on 03/06/2019 20:12

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer