Cowdale Hall Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Last stop of our tour of North Wales and North west

On arrival Andrews Mum greeted us and showed us to our pitch and explained where all the facilities were . The views were so tranquil and there was only one other van in the area.Although 2 other vans arrived later.Best to make sure you take on-board the entrance we have a campervan and came up the extremely steep entrance and should have read the instructions . I met up with Lucy and Andrew and they were such a love!y couple and interested in keeping the site on the up .We used the facilities on offer and my husband said the bath room area was nice and big with loads of space in the shower.Also an information Foad with local takeaways menus Thank you

Lobster1

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 14:30

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely small site on working farm.

Hope to return to this very nice site.Lovely views over fields with sheep and horses. Peaceful and quiet. Picked this one as its close to Buxton. Plenty of local walks to do. One shower and toilet kept very clean. Lovely young couple running the site, plus some holiday rentals. Met by Mum and offered the choice of 2 pitches which I always like!

ScreenName35ACDB29C1

Campervanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2021 12:31

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful, good walking, cycling area

We were welcomed by Andrews Mum who showed us to our pitch & other facilities available to us, also pointing out local paths to pick up for walks & general direction of places to visit. The site was well maintained though we knew that Andrew & Lucy have recently taken over this site & can see its a work in progress that they want to up grade areas around the site but dont let that put you off as the site is lovely & quiet offering a friendly welcome & has every thing you need as well as good value as reflected in the price., We will stay there again when visiting that area.

MSREVILLS

Reviewed on 04/07/2021 00:00

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and beautiful surroundings

The owner was very flexible about our arrival time -which is great if you're coming some distance. Andy was very helpful and gave us advice on how to walk from the site to Buxton (through the fields passed some lovely scenery). Be warned though there are one or two stiles that may be tricky if you've got a big dog to lift over!! It's about a 1.8 mile walk. Well kept pitch might need your chocks but lovely view across the Peaks. Toilet and shower a welcome addition and electric hook up too. Would be nice to visit again in the future. Bakewell is about 20 minutes away along the road next to a river and we drove on from Bakewell to Swanage Edge with its breathtaking views đź‘Ť

Transit Campervan

Campervanner

Reviewed on 22/05/2021 09:51

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site, friendly and helpful owners.

We stayed for five nights at short notice, having been let down by another site, and Andrew was super helpful and friendly. The site is very peaceful, with beautiful views and Andrew's directions were great. The shower and loo were spotlessly clean, and the whole site was well maintained and had a lovely, welcoming feel. There are fabulous walks directly from the site, including a lovely trail over the hill in to the centre of Buxton - about a 40 minute walk. This is now our favourite site in the Peaks and we're looking forward to coming back again very soon.

Andrew28w

Reviewed on 06/05/2021 17:52

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great little CL

Great CL, good location, grass pitches are nicest but there are couple of hard standings. Lovely young couple recently taken over, very helpful. Unfortunately we had a lot of rain during our stay and had to be towed out by Andrew who couldn’t do enough to help. We are very active and enjoyed a nice walk into Buxton aprox 2 miles and fabulous bike ride along the Monsal trail into Bakewell and back aprox 20 miles. Will definitely visit again as there is lots of hiking we would love to do with better weather!

Julie Rock

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/10/2020 08:48

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very peaceful site

This was the second weekend after lock down and a much needed break. We found the new owners very welcoming and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was useful having the option of hard standing or field pitch due to the weather locally. The surroundings are very tranquil and safe for families; a variety of walking options available and we made use of these. The Midshires Path passes alongside the site and provides a 40 minute walk into Buxton. The facilities were very clean and cleaned every day. We enjoyed watching the horses being taken to and from their liveries. Also, the resident cockerel(s) and their broods of chickens were very entertaining! We would definitely stay again when in this part of the country.

Steve Goryll

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 18/07/2020 11:45

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Easy to understand why reviews are mixed

The site has a field for 5 caravans and a hardstanding which can take several more. We found the field great if there are four or less caravans (and deserving five stars). The site has been remodelled at some point, and I suspect pitches are now well clear of the waterlogged areas of the earliest reviews. One plot is distinct from the others and probably the one to try and get, while the others suffer when the fifth caravan or motorhome squeezes in. In addition, the gate is adjacent to a corner and the first pitch is very squeezed between the track and the hedge. The shower and toilet are in the same room. Hence, cannot be used independently. Add the units on the hardstanding to those in the field, and queues quickly developed. There were at least 7 units on several of the nights across both the field and the hardstanding. Always remember to take your own toilet paper, because the supply is erratic, and we also got the impression that they were not cleaned during our week. We got the impression the equestrian centre was no longer operating, but some individuals were keeping there own horses in the fields. So it was very quiet.

MikeTheBike123

Reviewed on 11/08/2019 22:21

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant CL

Just returned from a 2 night break here. Booked on the hardstanding but as the weather seemed ok spent the second night on the grassed pitch as it is much more scenic. The hard standing is not the prettiest! Toilets were fine and the shower looked ok although we didn’t use it. It’s an equestrian centre and there is a lot of horse activity and some holiday lets. We did not meet Steve but his son showed us all the facilities. We will visit here again although there isn’t really anywhere to walk to from the site but Buxton is a short drive away

Bowerman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/09/2018 19:37

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of our top choices...

Owner Steve set the tone with his relaxed and friendly welcome to what has proved to be one of our top choices for a CL site. Loo and shower of a high standard but the pitches were also set in an area of amazing local scenery. As both dog owners and motorhome owners we really pleased to learn that the well marked Mid Shires Way can be picked up just outside the entrance to the site - we got into the centre of Buxton using it in around 50 minutes. Excellent location for visiting Buxton and the North Peaks/Tissington Trail area.

History Boy

Reviewed on 01/07/2018 14:47

34 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer