Cowdale Hall Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent

We only stayed for one night on route. Perfect place. Short bike ride into Buxton. Very friendly and helpful. We will return. Thank you.

markhales

Reviewed on 19/02/2018 18:10

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil setting

Steve gave a warm and friendly welcome, explaining all the facilities and local walks. A lovely tranquil setting with views across the dales, and ideal for exploring all the sights and walks around Buxton. Glad we read the review about approaching from the A515 otherwise we would have been stuck on the very tight winding uphill entrance from the A6. Excellent value with no extra charge for the shower - plenty of hot water, plenty of hand towels, soap etc We'll definitely return.

kebanna13

Reviewed on 07/07/2017 12:40

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely welcome

Steve welcomed us with open arms. Due to the time of year and the weather, the grass CL was not useable, but as we have a MH this was not an issue as I'd booked hard standing.  Lovely walks for us and the dog. Only downside is that there is no bus stop handy to go into Buxton and a taxi cost £9.00 each way making it an expensive way to travel if yomamau don't have a car. We didn't use the facilities so I cannot comment on them. Very pleasant site with super views. In the sunshine it must be wonderful ?

MCW

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/04/2016 13:00

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good walking from site

This is a good location along a single-track road best approached from the A515. The welcome couldn't have been better and the only problem we had was that the hard-standing area didn't have a sign to it and we ended up having to reverse down a track.  We only found the hard-standing area by chance when looking for somewhere to turn around (for anyone else turn right before the grass pitches area). We had a good walk direct from the site and as it was quiet the owners were happy for us to leave the van on the pitch until the afternoon which suited us very well.

Canda Kubicki

Campervanner

Reviewed on 08/02/2016 11:29

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

An enjoyable family holiday

Having just returned from this working farm CL I had to write this review as we had a fantastic time.  The owner was very welcoming and showed us where to find everything.  My son enjoyed seeing the livestock and horses.  This friendly site has everything you need and is close to local attractions and countryside.  We will definitely return to this little gem. 

greg adlington

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/05/2015 17:34

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Don't be put off by previous comments

Don't be put off by previous comments people have made about this CL as we initially were. As we were visiting in March in our motorhome, we decided to ignore the detrimental comments made because we needed a hard standing. Glad we did. The hard standing area was stone covered as on club sites and there appeared to be a grass field available for better weather. There was equestrian activity around the CL which added interest to the beautiful scenery of the area. The little Shetland ponies which were brought out in to the fields each day would have been adored by our children when they were young. The CL had a serviceable toilet and shower in an adjacent barn building. Very clean. Would we come again-most definitely.

Timroberts

Reviewed on 16/04/2015 19:58

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A peaceful enjoyable weekend

We visited the site with our 2 girls as a change to our usual haunts. The owners were welcoming and the pitch was well looked after. We never expect 5 star facilities after all we are caravanning and at £12 per night we thought they were very clean, the water was hot and the shower did its job.  Morrisons is very close by for those bits you may have forgotton but when you are sat looking at the fields and scenery you feel a million miles away. We really enjoyed the break and would definatley use this site again. If you want 5 star accomodation go to the Ritz, if you want a bit of peace & quiet and a break from city life come here!

Joannep10

Reviewed on 15/04/2014 19:20

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Small and scuffy

This is a very small site and in the winter very muddy.We requested a pitch with an awning and were shown to a concrete base clearly we were not putting an awning up.The site is basically a stables car park a busy stables at that , we will not be visiting again and we don't mind roughing it a bit.

bongomania

Reviewed on 02/03/2014 17:56

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Take a chance

Taking a chance is what you do on this site. As others have said it is very small and shaped a bit like a squarish triangle! If you have one caravan at the three points and one on the back hedge then you all have a wonderful view over fields of horses and cows in the distance and it would be a site that I would return to time and again. But when you get that fifth caravan parked along the field side of the site then all you can see is caravan. The only sounds I heard while there for ten nights were the occasional horse's hooves trotting by, sheep in the distance, and an owl woke me one night with its magical call. The grass was cut while we were there and the distance to empty the toilet was no further than you occasionally have to go on a CC site. The shower and toilet were a bit far away for comfort but perfectly usable and the water was hot. We had friends staying in the holiday cottages which was the reason for choosing this site and the welcome that they and we got on arrival couldn't have been warmer and more helpful. You are right in the centre of the Peaks and the scenery around is magnificent and there are great walks around the farm and further afield from the site. The only reason I have given it an overall 3 is because of the risk of that fifth caravan.

Longtimecaravanner

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/09/2013 13:51

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Small site in lovely area

This is a lovely small site but must stress the word small. When we arrived we received a warm welcome and were given a choice of pitch. We settled in but found that once the 5th caravan had arrived and set up that there wasn't a lot of space between the vans depending on length and awnings etc. I think a re-think of the layout of the site may be required. Also the facilities I.e toilet/shower and chemical disposal point are well away from the site and as we had people in our party who could not walk that far didn't use them and reverted to our inboard facilities. As we have a large outfit I do not think that we would revisit this site again.

Reviewed on 22/08/2013 12:34

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer