Dowry Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful stay

We have just returned from 6 nights at Dowry Farm. The site is surrounded by beautiful countryside and there were plenty of well sign posted walks available direct from the site. The town of Oakham, with a variety of shops and a huge church, along with the lovely Rutland Water, are all a short drive away. The owners were very friendly and helpful and we would certainly like to return there in the future..

Scamp

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 08/04/2023 20:27

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely stay

Very nice stay great value for money and would definitely recommend

ArleyTom

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/09/2021 20:54

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant site convenient for Oakham and Rutland Water

We stayed here for 5 nights this August and like the previous reviewer there was some noise from builders but it wasn't continuous and since it was house renovations then it will likely be all done before too long. Other than the temporary building noise the site was generally quite peaceful with not much traffic on the road that passes it. Oakham is only five miles away and quite a nice country town, Rutland Water is a similar distance and we actually cycled there (off-road) direct from the site. As always I've made a video of our stay that you can view here.- https://youtu.be/k_sUgWlVglg

DavyVan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 19:29

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely area, but not peaceful

Lovely remote spot, ideal for numerous walks from the site (eg to Launde Abbey and back via fields), and horse watching. From the reviews, was really looking forward to my stay. However, despite these, it isn't peaceful or quiet anymore, as loads of building work going on. It is very laid back, the owner is friendly, but it's all a bit of a shambles. Woken at 7.30am by v loud builder radio, and while I didn't want to, had to eventually ask for it to be turned down. The field you camp in is pretty, but isn't anywhere near the 2 acres listed. Two nice pitches, with lovely views from the corner one (Pitch 1), which is easily the best by far, but not the other three. If you are sensitive to electronic noise, this isn't the site for you, and best avoided. There's a domestic sewage treatment plant by the gate to the field, which hums and chunters away day and night, with one pitch right next to it. The second evening, after I'd moved as far away from this as I could, the place was mostly quiet, so you could hear the birds, sheep and relax. Lovely! Unfortunately, around 9pm, a really loud drier or generator or something started up in the farm by the entrance to the site, very close by, and was still going well after 11, by the time I eventually managed to get to sleep (aided by earplugs and woolly hat/duvet over ears). Sadly, despite booking three nights, I left early the next day, as the site wasn't what I'd hoped for.

poppy c

Reviewed on 25/06/2021 19:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful site.

Just spent four nights on this lovely peaceful CL. Had a restful stay despite the appalling weather. Looking forward to going back next year in better weather. Very friendly and helpful owner.

Dodger57

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 17/10/2019 14:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great peaceful get away

First things first. The site fee is now £6 a night not £5 but it’s still a cheap site. If you want peace, bird song, middle of nowhere, little phone signal, loads of walks, friendly owner, then this is the site for you. 1.5 miles up the road is Launde Abbey with lovely gardens that are free to walk around and a reasonably priced cafe too. It’s main use is to house stressed vicars and monks. Who knew there was such a thing!? Another fantastic stay and caravanning the way it should be without the need for club houses etc etc. A good old back to nature trip away to unwind. Perfect!

JimnyBobbins

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/05/2018 14:11

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great start to our holiday

Dowry Cottage waa the first site we stayed on for our three week road trip. It is easyt o find and we set up and thought how peaceful it was. Lovely pub the Blue Ball near by and lots of great places to visit whilst we were there. we visited oakham and Geoff Hamiltons Garden, We walked aat Rutland Water and we visited Melton Mowbray. We probably won't go there again as there are so many other places to visit but if we were gping that way I would certainly revisit. Thank you Mr Houston

Tonybarron11

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/10/2017 10:41

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil Break

Just come back from a very restful stay.Perfect place to de-stress with a very quiet site surrounded with beautiful rolling hills. Great for walking especially to Laund Abbey a mile down the lane where you will be welcome to walk round the grounds and have a nice cream tea in the courtyard. Will be returning soon to re explore Rutland.

Trevor Cook

Reviewed on 24/07/2017 17:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

wonderful

Stayed here for 3 nights. An exceptionally well cared for site. It is a great area for walking and up the hill more wild orchids than I have ever seen. Wish I lived closer, I would go regularly.

sophie v

Reviewed on 20/06/2017 21:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Warm welcome

What a beautiful site. We stayed here for 2 nights and had a fabulous weekend. The owner is a very polite gentleman who was very welcoming and gave us information about the local wildlife. He was extremely grateful that we had chosen this little gem to stay on ( which was certainly no hardship!). We will definitely return. Thank you for an enjoyable stay 👍 see you again 😊

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer