Foss Dyke

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Gorgeous CL

We love staying here, the perfect site for exploring york. Very close to the park and ride. And big supermarket. Gorgeous grounds to sit and relax afterwards, we even saw deer. We shall be back .

sweetboy

Reviewed on 04/04/2024 11:16

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely CL

Just back from 8 nights here, late June. Easy access and a lovely welcome from Gillian. Can't really add a great deal to previous reviews. I imagine it's a very different CL in autumn when there is less foliage about, the motorhome section is quite gloomy because of it, but doubtless it provides great sound proofing from the A64 and railway lines. This isn't a complaint, merely an observation. The recycling is excellent, well marked. The toilet emptying area is tired and with respect would benefit from either a really good bottoming or a replacement. That said, more an observation, it certainly didn't distract from our time there. Nice meal in the Woodman, good drinking in both the Marcia & Social Club. A good welcome in all. Would definitely return.

LordandLadyT

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/07/2023 16:10

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

This site worked perfectly for us staying for 3 nights to visit York . The site is perfectly situated at the end of a lane just outside Bishopsthorpe Village , and enclosed in a lovely wooded area . There are 2 areas, hard standing and grass, both of which had serviced pitches with 16amp electric . We used the hard standing due to recent weather and we were as surrounded by large high trees which was gave a lovely outlook . In the nearby village, at the end of the lane , was a Coop store, good Fish n Chip shop, 2 pubs , Newsagent and a Cafe as well as 2 direct bus services direct into York Centre . There is also a National Cycleway which takes you passed York racecourse and is 4 miles into centre of York and by the CAMC site .Its ideal for walkers and cyclists alike with the Cycleway being only a few hundred yards from the site . Mrs Webster was really helpful and we will certainly be back on our next visit to York which has so much to see.

EuroRider

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2023 19:46

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

York hide away

Stayed two weeks at the end of April. Choose this site to be right on the York Solar System Cycleway, part of the National Cycleway Route 65 (Yorks to Selby Sustrans Route), part of the Trans-Pennine Trail. We had some great bike rides down to Selby and also into and round York. We found being close to the Park and Ride great and used it several times when visiting York on foot. Gillian met us on arrival and took us down to show us where to pitch. The grass CL area looked nice with plenty of room for 5 pitches in a row, but due to all the rain and soft ground we went on the hard standing area. This was like a little woodland clearing, being April the trees did not have all their leaves so it was reasonably bright. There were only 4 caravans or less in this area which worked well and gave everyone plenty of space, I think it would be a bit tight with 5. But keep in mind this is the winter area when the grass is wet. All pitches the hard area and the grass have electricity and own water, we put our grey waste into the dyke. In the grass area there are bushes behind. The service area was good with a good chemical loo disposal (I like that, the ones knee hight and above) We felt the site was very secure and private. There was some traffic noise from the A64 which at times was non existent when the wind was blowing in the right direction. I recommend Copmanthorpe Chippy for fish and chips and for food, apart from the main supermarkets we used Lodge Cottage Farm Shop, Crockey Hill. (excellent pies) The Balloon Tree Farmshop & Cafe along with Greyleys Jersey Milk also at Elvington There is another milk machine at Curlew Fields Dairies who also do lovely ice-cream. The milk machines were great, not Raw but unhomogenised good milk. Apart from our cycle rides I have to say Stillingfleet Lodge Gardens is well worth a visit.

HappyMum

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/06/2023 20:31

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

We have just returned from two night stay owner friendly and helpful. Fully serviced hard standing pitches available for winter use and grass pitches available for better weather. Facilities kept clean and tidy with good recycling. A few minutes from York park and ride and few minutes walk into village. Would recommend.

Janette

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/11/2022 12:09

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very peaceful......

This is a really nice CL tucked away within private woodland. Hardstanding area for motorhomes (us) and the grass pitches for the caravans. All pitches each have EHU and fresh water. We usually travel with a tow car but on this occasion to save a bit of fuel we didn't bring it. We found a really nice 20 minute walk from the CL, along a former railway line (now part of the national cycle route network) to the park and ride at Askham Bar. From there is the very cheap and regular bus service into York city centre. Would we stay here again, yes.

BetsyBago321

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/10/2022 19:00

14 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

York hidden gem

we have just spent two peaceful relaxing nights at this site, Gillian the owner was such a nice welcoming lady, we arrived in the dark after teatime, and was shown to our hardstanding pitch, with hook up and fresh water. when morning broke we saw the true setting we were parked in, just beautiful. handy for york christmas market, just a 4 mile walk or ,park and ride nearby. bishopthorpe too has plenty to see and enjoy. we will be revisiting again soon hopefully.

pmc152d

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/12/2021 21:15

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site, well maintained and convenient

We spent 5 glorious sunny days on this peaceful secure site. The Park & Ride to York is only 20 mins walk down a pleasant path which was the old railway line. Each pitch had its own water which saved a lot of aquaroll filling. All in all an excellent, convenient site with a welcoming owner.

NorfolkWanderer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/10/2021 15:21

9 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Narnia

What a lovely find, we had another site near York booked but dropped on this Narnia site, only 30 mins from home, easy to find and access Gillian was waiting on arrival to explain everything and lead us to the hard standing plot with it's own electric and water, it would have been lovely to be on the grassed part of the site but as Gillian explained the grass was extremely wet, the reason I say Narnia is because as you go through the electric gates and follow the drive it opens up into a stunning clearing with trees and wildlife not at all expected but lovely and peaceful, there is slight road noise from the A64 but it did not bother us, as others have stated it's about a 10 minute walk to the village with a small coop and pubs, York itself is about a 15 min drive, you also close to the designer outlet, will defo rebook in better weather for the walk onto York down the river bank, thankyou Gillian.

PJMEG

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/10/2020 12:13

45 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a gem of a site!

What a find. This is an idyllic site in a lovely setting. The owner is a lovely lady who makes you feel very welcome. In the current circumstances (Covid-19) she made us aware of what she had put into place to help ensure our safety. We chose this site as it is quite close to York and there are many cycle routes nearby. It was a fifteen minute cycle ride to the centre of York, or quite a bit longer to Selby, using quiet and safe cycle routes. Bishopsthorpe is a thriving village with pubs and a supermarket. It is only a couple of minutes by car and only five minutes by bike, ideal if you want drink in a pub garden and don't want to worry about driving home. Unfortunately not everything that we wanted to see in York was open due to Lockdown, so we will be back to Foss Dyke in a couple of years. We look forward to revisiting this site.

EllieEssex

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 16:24

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer