Keen Ground Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful location

A picturesque and peaceful site. Only sounds was a small river, birdsong and sheep. Easy walk into Hawkshead which has lots of great amenities, pubs, shops, restaurants, history. Nice walks from the site, up to Latterbarrow and Wray castle on the west shore of Lake Windermere. The site has water and waste points. Definitely return. Once you know where the entrance to the driveway it’s easy to find !. There is a wooden sign saying Keen Ground opposite a White House. The driveway entrance is wide.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

Ignore the negative reviews, this is an excellent CL Site. We approached from the north (Ambleside) and on approach to Hawkshead some 80 mts past Hawkshead farm Camp site on the left, is the entrance to Keen Ground. There is a white Lodge at the gate, turn right. The road from Ambleside is a. B road but easily managed by driving with caution. No issues. On entering the site there is a board with your name and pitch number on, all straightforward. The site itself is delightful, with nice views and less than a 10 min walk to Hawkshead centre. The grey water disposal is halfway up the site and the recycle bins and Elson disposal is at the entrance gate. I found best TV reception was to the south (Lancaster) It truly is a great site with walks direct from your van, including Tarn How’s. Do enjoy.

JJ Jeffers

Reviewed on 17/04/2023 20:25

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent find!

When reading previous reviews we were concerned about the welcome and the site however Helen has been nothing but helpful from booking in to greeting us after we had arrived. Helen also checked on us during our stay to make sure everything was ok. Thank you Helen. I’m not sure why one of the reviews said a slope was an issue for a caravan - we had no issues with our 8m long caravan. Don’t let that review put you off if you’re a Caravanner! Signage to the site is discreet so you do need to be on the look out as you approach and follow the instructions given. We were pitched on one of the hard standing pitches and pitch was great with fabulous views. Water, bins and Elsan not that far! Great location near to everything we usually visit. Lovely walk from the site to Wray Castle. 10 minute walk into Hawkshead across the fields. We didn’t go via the road as the dog prefers the fields! We will be back!

paulandsarahm

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/04/2023 18:52

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

OK.

Once we’d found the site, no signs so do read the book, we were greeted by a very unfriendly lady, who I don’t think actually lived there! She certainly wasn’t the lady we booked with. For a 5 unit site, why are there 8 pitches? The site is well maintained and does have gorgeous views. The village is a short 1/2 mile walk across the fields, or down the road, away. Do remember your levelling blocks, as this site is not flat. Fresh water is at the top of the hill, the bins and well organised recycling at the bottom. The black waste turned out to be at the bottom of the hill, out the site & over a roadway in the next field? If you’re not fit be warned.

MrMitch

Reviewed on 25/09/2022 21:04

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great hideaway

Just had 7 nights at this excellent cl. As previously stated the site does not have a caravan club sign on the road side, look out for assign Keen ground by the drive besides a white lodge, then drive up a tree covered drive. The welcome was warm, telling us everingthing we needed to know about the site and giving us a choice of pitches. The site is split between 2 levels with hardstandings on the lower level, pitching is no problem. This is a quiet site within easy walking distance over the fields to the village which has everything you need for your stay. It is ideally suited for walking straight off site or driving to all areas of the Lakes. Don't let the reviewer giving the site 1 star put you off staying here, his review totally misrepresents the site. I would definitely recommend staying here.

mark613

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/09/2022 16:18

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely holiday

Having just had our 10th visit to Keen Ground CL we would like to say we had a fantastic holiday again. (Wished we could have stayed longer) The site is what CLs are all about,. Lots of space with lovely views, peace and quiet. Very well maintained grass / pitches. The owners are always friendly and helpful . There's a lovely 10 minute walk across fields to Hawkshead where there are several pubs and cafes. Also , walks in every direction straight from the site. We are already planning visiting again next year .

jeals

Reviewed on 22/09/2022 12:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

UNFRIENDLY and RUDE

The entrance arriving from Hawkshead is tight if you have a long caravan and it’s a narrow track with no signs as to where to go .We pulled in and stopped whilst deciding what angle to park on the allocated plot to get the best view and not block the view for the other caravan when a gentleman came over from his bungalow and in an abrupt manner asked if we had a problem .He then told us we had taken too long and also damaged the grass whilst using the motormover ,(if anyone has one you’ll know how slow they move so quite difficult to damage anything.) He went on complaining and then told us if he sees one of our dogs doing anything on the grass we would be asked to leave !!there is even a sign telling you this .I couldn't believe his attitude,what were we supposed to do ,follow them around with a bucket under their bottom?There is no information,nothing is explained and in fact this has to be the most unfriendly place we have ever stayed.If feels like big brother is watching your every move and move is what we did .Within 2 minutes down the road is a larger site but couldn’t be more opposite . This site does not deserve your money .

ScreenName83EC08E7D4

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/05/2022 08:50

6 reviews

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Location location location

We were blessed with great weather during our 4 night stay, but would have enjoyed ourselves even if this had not been so. Under pedal power we explored Windemere, Grasmere and Coniston , all easily accessible from the site. Well maintained, vans spaced out and exceptionally quiet. Would benefit from a water tap on the lower area of hardstanding but not a problem to drive up to the tap and grey waste disposal. Very highly recommend this site.

ScreenName5A2C059229

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/04/2022 22:05

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem of a site

We stayed in late March in our caravan with sunshine every day. OK so yes it is expensive for a CL especially for basic facilities and £5 a night is well over the top for an awning and we don't usually go to such sites - but - we are so glad we did. The nearby commercial sites were more expensive and I know where I'd rather stay. We booked in for 6 nights and ended up staying for for 10 (forgoing said awning!) The site has 3 hardstanding pitches on the low ground for the wet months and a higher grass area with better views in the summer. However we had a brilliant view of the mountain panorama from our hardstanding which we spent many hours admiring. As you'd expect, the normal water supply is in the field but perversely the pressure isn't what you may expect but OK. I think they may put another near the hardstandings for motorhomes as they currently need to use the bungalows outside tap. There is a dedicated sink for grey water accessible for motorhomes. Recycling is available and the chemical disposal (green) is just across the shared drive in the field near the gate. While they have attempted to lay a shale path, but it's still very difficult to run a full tank and you need to lift it to the disposal point so don't leave it until it's full! The disposal point is good with a ledge to rest on and the usual tap and hose for rinsing. Electrics are 16amp with TV booster cables needed to connect to the plugs on the electric posts. (But we didn't need TV. The B Road from Ambleside does have some narrow places but don't let it put you off. It's not busy and the buses can get down it. There are plenty of places to pass and you can mainly see what's coming.You just need to be a bit careful and take it slowly, it's only a few miles. Be aware there are no signs indicating you've found the right place! The joy of this site is it's location. On the edge of wonderful Hawkshead with access to numerous walks from the site in all directions. We hardly used the car. The shops and cafe staff were really friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again! Wonderful!

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful scenic site , short walk into hawkshead

3 nights stay peaceful surroundings, a little expensive for an awning £5 a night 1/4 of the cost of the caravan we only had a small porch awning , handy for hawkshead and plenty of walks in the area , will be back

judith a pearson

Reviewed on 25/04/2021 13:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer