Keen Ground Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful scenic site , short walk into hawkshead

3 nights stay peaceful surroundings, a little expensive for an awning £5 a night 1/4 of the cost of the caravan we only had a small porch awning , handy for hawkshead and plenty of walks in the area , will be back

judith a pearson

Reviewed on 25/04/2021 13:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil

A small site situated on the lanes surrounding Hawkshead. Great bus service to points of interest and mountains in the Lake District. No showers or pot cleaning but great opportunity to try out your own equipment. Lovely site.

BNSmith1966

Reviewed on 23/10/2019 08:07

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovley site.

Just had eight nights at this site .It was really good ,short grass and well maintained.Short walk to Hawkshead over the fields . Fantastic views , its a real gem.

Rob461

Reviewed on 11/07/2019 20:47

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very conveniently located

A peaceful spot in walking distance of Hawkshead and bus routes so we were able to leave our motor home whilst we explored. Walks from the well kept site soon take you away from the touristy Hawkshead into beautiful scenery away from it all. No toilet on site. We borrowed a cable so that TV was possible.

BurtnJoyce

Reviewed on 02/07/2019 22:11

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this very tidy and well maintained site. Great views and very quiet. Lovely 15 minute stroll through the fields into Hawkshead with numerous food and drink places. The site location was so good though we just BBQ’d and sat out admiring the view. TV reception via a link next to the pitch, the owner leant us a cable which worked perfectly. Even the weather was great. Suggest you book in plenty of time as the number of CL’s in this area are few. Will be back soon.

Michael Dewhurst

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/05/2019 08:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Quiet well-kept site, recommended

Interrupting Mr Taylforth in the middle of dinner on our arrival, he cheerfully and helpfully showed us where to fill up with water and to a pitch with good hardstanding and electic hook up on a slight slope. Recommended.

touringabout

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/04/2018 15:10

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil site in the heart of the Lakes

Welcomed by Mr Taylforth who ensured we could fill up our motor home with fresh water. He has a very long hosepipe which made this very easy. We had our pick of the 3 hardstandings, all with electric hookup which worked perfectly. The hard standing was very solid and despite 2 nights of heavy rain our classic and very heavy camper did not sink one bit. Views from our pitch were of fields of sheep, Lakeland fells and picturesque greenery. Travelling from the south we used the route via Newby Bridge recommended by another review and found this route straightforward and a pleasant drive in. Closeness to Hawkshead is superb with options of road or permissive path and it takes about 10 minutes to walk into the village. There is also the option via the permissive path to join another path to Ambleside which is signed as 6 miles. Overall a perfect place to use as a base at a very reasonable price. We will return.

tiggerandfish

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/09/2017 11:42

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Highly recommend

Welcomed with a big smile and a free tv cable which we forgot to give back but later returned!! Super quiet site with a lovely view over hills, listening to the stream trickling by Very close to the quaint and charming village of Hawkshead with an array of super pubs, cake shops, winding alleys and an interesting church set on the hill Woken to the sound of sheep in the nearby field and the drumming of Lake District rain on our roof!! Local shopkeepers friendly and welcoming Dog friendly We intend to return later in the year Thank you for your kind and family orientated welcome

Montaut

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/07/2017 21:35

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

I wanted to write this after just visiting the site, and having read the previous review. I really can't understand how the site can receive such a negative review. Its in a beutiful location, and when we spoke to the site owner he was friendly and charming. He certainly wants to care for his site, and wants to keep it nice - no problems with that - so when its wet he encourages people to park off the grass - good for him!! Can't comment on TV reception as don't take one, but the rest of the people didn't seem to have any problems. As for the recycling, wasn't a problem for me and the other units on when we were there. Perhaps its not the owners attitude thats the problem!!!!

wesley

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 27/04/2017 17:13

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 0 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 0 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 0 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 0 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Unfriendly and unhelpful AND DONT DRIVE ON THE GRASS!

Ok, so the site is attractive and in a good location close to Hawkshead. Goodness only knows how the TV booster system works. It certainly wasn't explained. Without it there is no tv reception for a satellite system. Goodness knows where the chemical toilet disposal was. We managed without it. We thought we found the freshwater tap but were shouted at for driving on the grass to reach it. Apparently no cars are allowed on the grass and if your caravan doesn't have a mover it has to go the hard standing pitched at the bottom of the hill with no view. We had to ask which rubbish bins were recycling and which were for general rubbish. Judging by the contents in each we weren't the only ones confused! A better attitude and a bit more help from the site owner would have made a lot of difference.

Bill Hattersley

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/04/2017 10:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer