Keen Ground Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 2 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Extremely Overpriced

This CL is EXTREMELY over priced for what it is. We stayed for 4 nights at the end of July and the owners didn't speak to us once until I went to pay them at the end of our stay. There was no welcome whatsoever. The trees on the drive leading up to the CL needed cutting back and have left our van scratched. The grass needed cutting and the hard standing pitches weren't level - levelling blocks are required here. All 5 pitches were taken during our stay and yet there were more pitches occupied on the other side of a small wire fence with access open to this part of the field. There were about 3 vans staying on this part of the field during our stay. There are signs all over telling you to keep dogs on a lead but the farmers dog was lead free to come and harass us during our stay. There are signs all over the place telling you what not to do which makes the initial welcome to the site rather hostile.  We drove our motor home to Lake Coniston via Hawkshead Hill and would not advise this at all due to the very narrow roads. We did had a number of narrow escapes with oncoming vehicles.  Nearby Hawkshead village is nice to visit and the Queens Head pub does good fresh cooked food and is very reasonable. I would certainly think twice about returning to this part of the Lake District due to the bad state of the trees and shrubbery on the roads leading into the area. The council and farmers need to get together and cut them back to stop scratching people's vans. 

Zeddy

Campervanner

Reviewed on 01/08/2016 18:35

3 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Lakeland Gem

We stayed for 14 nights in May and unusually for the lakes we had great weather. The site is easy to find just on the outskirts of Hawkshead tucked away from the main road but close enough to walk to the village. The site is quiet and sunny with some great views and is well kept. Whilst we were there was some discussion between members about the Hawkshead to Ambleside road as it is busy and fun if you meet the bus or a coach. We had no problems arriving but headed the opposite way through Hawkshead to Newby Bridge on leaving. The road was quiet and we had no issues with our 2 berth outfit. It is a more direct route if heading for the M6 south.

hilltrudger

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/07/2016 20:12

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

keen ground farm

This was our 6th visit to this lovely site for 2 weeks in September. As usual we got a warm welcome from our hosts. Mr Taylforth is always keen to help you set up.  The site is well looked after and Mr Taylforth takes great pride in keeping grass and pitches in good order. It is an ideal site for visiting hawkshead and there are several lovely walks straight from the site.One of our favourite locations in Cumbria. Already looking forward to next year.

jeals

Reviewed on 29/09/2015 09:56

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site

Stayed here this weekend, great value for money and pitch well spaced with a great view of the fells. Nice walk into village over fields about 10 minutes. Made to welcome by Mr Taylforth who looked after the site which is a credit to him.

kazer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2015 20:14

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic ,peaceful, scenic site

Having stayed on this site numerous times over many years, it still is one of the most beautiful, scenice and peaceful sites that We have stopped on. Although our lads are now all at university they still love to come away with us to walk and visit the pubs in the local picturesque village. The three hard standing pitches are usable all year round and are handy for the recycling facilities, the tap and the emptying point. We have walked many of the local walks straight from the site and have also spent time just taking in the beautiful view and watching the birds. We have always had a lovely welcome from the owners and would recommend this site to those wanting a beautiful, well kept, family and dog friendly site and have already planned our next visit.

Gaskell

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/01/2015 11:56

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A tranquil gettaway

I was a bit apprehensive about this site after reading reviews about a less than friendly welcome from the owners. When I rang to book they were uncertain whether they could take us just for 2 nights over a weekend,  but eventually agreed. We missed the turning as it is not very clearly signed & there is no Caravan Club cl sign anywhere, but once found it were met by the owner, who made it clear he did not want us driving on the grass unnecessarily.  It was quiet, with only one other outfit there and he said we could pitch anywhere, suggesting where to go for the best views.  Once we had unhitched and unpacked the car he requested we move the car to a gravelled area of the grass,  which I had no problem with at all, as we try not to use the car at all when only going away for a couple of days. He recommended several walks in the area, then pretty much left us to it for the duration of our stay. There was no problem with our children playing ball games on the grass, which made a very pleasant change and upon leaving I found the owner chatty and pleased we had enjoyed our stay. It is in an excellent location for the town of Hawkshead without being in the centre and there are plenty of walks without needing to use the car.  I would definitely recommend this site and hope to return soon. 

Sharpie137

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/05/2014 22:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

dont go on the grass

Lovely site, fantastic scenery,three small hardstandings just big enough for motorhomes, the rest is grass and this is the problem. The owners husband comes out to remind you not to go on the grass as per the signs everywhere. Not easy when your pitching your tourer.Also as is becoming moire common there were 6 units staying when only licenced for 5.

seasonedtraveller

Reviewed on 27/10/2013 14:24

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great LocalPlacesOfInterest

We found Keen Ground Farm to be an ideal location for both walking and cycling, set close to the village of Hawkshead where there are both shops and pubs that do food. The site is very pretty and quiet, with no passing traffic close by. We were particularly impressed with the waste disposal arrangements which were clean and easy to use. There was also plenty of recycling in evidence. If we were ever in that area again we’d use that site without a doubt.

CharlieMcC

Reviewed on 28/08/2013 20:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beware narrow stretches on B5286 access to this site

Stayed here in July for 6 nights. Travel to the site was quite scary as the B5286 which you have to use is very narrow in parts and we came across a large wagon and a coach on the 4 mile stretch . Luckily due to good driving and some reversing by all we managed to get away with a scratch to the water inlet cover and a window [ we have a Swift Challenger 580 so smaller outfits may be OK] The site itself is pleasant and very handy for Hawkshead and other areas of the Lakes . The owner is , as others have said, very keen to keep his grass in good condition and we had to park the car a short distance away from the van. In his defence he does tend to the grass every day. We felt the price of £15 per night plus £3 for awning was too high especially as there are no showers or toilet facilities.

NickandPat

Reviewed on 02/08/2013 11:45

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Recommended but don't expect a warm welcome

Very well kept grounds in a perfect location. Lots of walks accessible directly from the site and a lovely stroll into Hawkshead. Marked down slightly because of Mrs Taylforths attitude. She only spoke to us once, to accuse us of something we hadn't done!

Dog8Crisps

Reviewed on 17/07/2013 12:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer