Lower Liston Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

It does what is says on the tin.

The description of the site by the owner is quite accurate but there are a few points that want highlighting. Firstly, the access to the farm is straight off the fairly busy A350. The top end of the drive, at the junction of the A350, is quite pot-holed so a very slow turn into the drive is essential, especially with a caravan. The drive is almost a quarter of a mile long but is single track and no passing places and with signs to ask drivers to keep off the soft grass edges. Whether entering or leaving the site it is prudent to have a look into the distance to see if anything is on the driveway. Once at the bottom of the drive there are electric gates making the site very secure. There appears to be a CL and a small commercial site although there is nothing to identify which is which and with a total of 11 hard standings and two grass pitches for summer use. We were told to pitch wherever we wanted although Graham, the owner, suggested a pitch that we might like and also suggested that we went in 'nose first' to enjoy the extensive views which included deer on almost every day. At most there were 7 outfits on site whilst we were there. The facilities on the pitches are as described but are not over generous in size. They may be big enough for a caravan with a small awning but not really big enough for a caravan and car to be parked side by side and not if an awning was used. We were advised to park our car on an empty pitch. The owner is in the process of installing electric meters which unfortunately caused a couple of days with power cuts to our pitch. Both of these outages were corrected quickly. The shower/ toilet facilities are probably the best we have ever encountered on a CL. There are four spotlessly clean 'bathrooms', two male and two female (one designed as disabled). Each of the rooms is over 2 metres by 2 metres. They include toilet, washbasin, hand drier, mirror, central heating radiator, extractor fan and very good lighting. The shower cubicle is enormous being estimated at 1.2 metres by 1.2 metres. The water is good and hot and never ran out and even first thing in the morning the rooms were warm. There was not a spider in sight! Although we didn't use the facilities there is a very good utility room with washing machines, ironing facilities, kettles and sinks to do washing up if required. Next to the utility room is a very good WC emptying point within its own little room. There did appear to be a lot of 'Don't' signage. Most was for obvious things but I suppose there must be people who need to be told not to do things. The only other negative point that does not seem to be mentioned is that the railway line just behind the CL is fairly busy. During the day the sound of the trains tend to fade into the background but unfortunately, the first train goes past at about 5.00am and the last about 11.00pm! All sites have there pros and cons but this CL is certainly one that we would return to.

JohnM20

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 08/05/2024 11:13

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant Caravan Site.

We have stayed here a number of times and although the CAMC states it has a temporary closure this was for 2023 and not 2024. The CL side of the CAMC seem to be falling apart with their website pages outdated. So take no notice of the CAMC website this site has been revamped with lovely showers and up and running. So come on CAMC we pay enough for our membership (SO GET YOUR WEBSITE SORTED)

Reviewed on 14/03/2024 20:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely, peaceful stay

Stayed 4 nights at Lower Liston Farm CL and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. It is not the biggest CL in terms of space between vehicles if all pitches are taken, but it wasn't full when we were there so we did indeed have open views of the surrounding fields. Very clean and well-kept CL and the pitch was pretty level. We favour Adults only CLs because we like a peaceful site and although you cannot miss the noise of the passing trains they are not very frequent and we quickly came to ignore them. Free reliable wi-fi is a big plus! Thanks Mr Colwill, I'm sure we will return.

PJ PA

Reviewed on 16/07/2022 21:54

25 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

I cannot add more than to say all earlier reviews are accurate and helpful. We enjoyed 10 nights of leisure time with nice people on site, caring owners and happy Labs using the dog walk. Yes, we will be returning again this year if Graham the owner can accommodate out dates and we will use this great CL in the future.

Bazalab

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/06/2022 11:25

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

The rating says it all. Very impressed with everything. Lovely people. Treated very fairly over a matter that was out of our control. Would revisit in a heartbeat. Fully intend doing next year.

sb99

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2022 10:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A beautifully maintained site surrounded by places of interest

We've stayed here three times now and will re-visit. The site is well-maintained, with planting between the pitches. The shower/toilet block is clean and convenient. There are recycling facilities and a small washing-up area with an electric kettle. There is an area for dogs adjacent to the site. The wifi works well. It is next to a railway line but, although we hate noise, I hardly noticed it. It's possible to walk into Shaftesbury from the site, through Kingsettle Woods (a delight of wild garlic and bluebells at the moment) and there are wonderful all-round views as you climb towards Shaftesbury. This walk was pointed out by Graham, the site-owner and, indeed, there are walking maps and other literature in the small reception area. Access to the site is by a security gate so the site feels secure.

Dawdler

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/04/2022 10:27

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect Weekend

Just spent 2 nights on this lovely little site. A last minute booking, we weren’t disappointed. Stunning uninterrupted views of green fields, hills and sheep. We were only there for 2 nights so didn’t really explore the area, but a well facilitated site. Good showers and toilets. Lovely owners. Access very easy from A350. Perfect for stopping over en route to or from West Country. We would have happily stayed longer if not already booked elsewhere. We will definitely be returning.

countrysidelover

Reviewed on 27/03/2022 20:26

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for autumn half term stay

Peaceful, spacious site with excellent level pitches. Lovely views over fields. Good access from main road. Wifi was a welcome bonus. We chose this site for its proximity to a number of English Heritage castles and had a great week visiting places we'd never been to before.

Venus13

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 05/11/2021 16:04

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super little site

This site must rank as one of the best CLs we have ever stayed on. The facilities are very good indeed, including the chemical waste points (which as many will know are often pretty dreadful on many CLs). The site owner has clearly gone to a lot of expense and effort to landscape the site and plumb-in fresh water and grey waste drainage on every pitch. Also, he could not have been more helpful with information about the local footpaths etc. The walk back through the forest from Shaftesbury was really lovely. It is also possible to get a bus from Shaftesbury to Motcombe, and then walk across the fields back to the site. If I had one (minor) criticism, it is that the wi-fi at the far end of the site is poor. BUT it's free, so you can't expect everything. It was really no trouble to walk closer to the aerial to get a useable connection. So, all in all a great CL, which we will definitely visit again.

Geoffn1

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 25/10/2021 17:15

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a lovely Site

Brilliant site, very well maintained and run. Excellent security, which was nice. Very well laid out with plenty of space per pitch and nice having water/drainage for each pitch. Great toilets/showers and nice having a washing machine/tumble dryer on site if needed. Graham was very helpful especially after some very inclement weather. Although the train line is not far from the site, it most certainly didn’t spoil the holiday and actually we didn’t really notice it after a day. Good dog area and waste bins. Great value for money, would highly recommend to anyone.

Maltese Mummy

Reviewed on 22/10/2021 18:00

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer