Oysterber Farm

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Sanctuary!

After a stressful and unsuccessful call to the Club to try and make a booking for a Club site whilst on the road, we took pot luck and called Oysterber Farm and are so glad we did! Mr Cartledge did ask the length of our MH as longer vehicles would have trouble getting in but ours was ok (6.3 metres). Yes, the weather had been very dry and yes, the field was sloping and I can understand it could cause problems getting in and out of the site, but what a little gem of a CL this proved to be for us. We pitched up first and the very first thing we heard (and soon saw) was a curlew, which made our day. We were then warmly welcomed by Mrs Cartledge and shown the facilities which were very clean and the shower worked well. We sat outside for the rest of the evening, soaking up the amazing scenery and the peace and quiet. I just wished we could have stayed longer than one night and had to leave before the pottery shop was open. Anyway, at £20 pn with EHU, plus exclusive shower and loo, I think this CL is great value. We've paid more for much less!

eviebobs

Reviewed on 17/06/2023 21:24

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not fit for purpose

Hate to do negative reviews but this has to be mentioned. On arrival we went into the Pottery Shop as it was 'open', not the friendliest of greeting (turned out to be the owners Son) was sent to the house but no reply so went back to Pottery. shop. The chap said he felt it would have to be hardstanding (we had asked for that),we agreed, so he pointed to an area by the shop clearly used for parking - with an EHU over by the shower - giving us a view of the rubbish bins! We asked about the field and went through a narrow entrance with a fairly steep incline, the field was sodden and very uneven - every very uneven. Then the owner arrived (a very nice lady). We said we did not consider the hardstanding to be a suitable/adequate pitch and she suggested we could pitch on the access road it self inside the field. This we did - when it came to leaving, luckily we have a mover as the C'van had to go backwards out of the field down the incline to allow us to hook up. We do not feel this can be considered a suitable site for caravans and motorhomes, especially outwith the dry summer months.

ScreenName26CECB5EF8

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/11/2022 18:10

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wet site and relatively steep

We visited the site in early September admittedly after a wet summer. The main area of the site is relatively steep and was very wet. A small area of the site near the gateway was firm but large areas were sodden. My 4 wheel drive car was quickly stuck in deep ruts left by previous vehicles and I was unable to move with my caravan attached. Fortunately. I have a motor mover and was able to detach the caravan and manoeuvre to a drier area at the bottom of the field. The site is relatively steep and substantial levelling blocks are required. We got stuck getting off the site but managed to get moving with the assistance of two fit and able enthusiastic fellow caravaners who were fortunately there to help. The two other caravans on the site over the weekend also got stuck getting on. The field is poorly drained and I dread to think what it would be like later in the year. The grass was relatively long which obscured the rutts.

RandAJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/09/2020 20:38

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Access issues

After a warm welcome whilst parked in the car park area of the holiday cottages and pottery, we were shown the narrow access track to the site which was steep and uneven and the site was on so much of a slope we would never get anywhere near level even with the aid of our ramps. The ground was also so wet that as we could see the ruts left by the previous units trying lo leave we decided to not even attempt to get into a pitch with our Motorhome. So we were offered a hard standing area in the car park next to the bins, recycling area and cottage laundry room where the views were nowhere as good as the views from the main site. We were looking at a stone wall directly in front of us but there were views to the side of us over the car park and surrounding fields. The next day another Motorhome arrived and tried to access the site but got stuck as soon as the vehicle left the rough track. A good location for walking directly from the site to the local villages where the pubs were friendly and provided good food I consider this site unsuitable as a CL due to the narrow, poorly maintained access track to the site and the unacceptable slope of the pitches. I expect to be able to get the vehicle somewhere near level with the aid of ramps. There are many CL’s out there with much better access, more level pitches and suitable hard standing for less than the cost If this site.

AJP2

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/08/2020 22:22

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

excellent cl

Loved our stay here very quiet and peaceful we will certainly return

andy5363

Reviewed on 01/08/2018 23:47

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

fabulous views, excellent facilities

this is one of the best CL sites we have used. the welcome was friendly, toilet and shower excellent and very clean. we had superb views, very quiet and peaceful, very cheap for what you get

Tony and Hilary

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2016 15:59

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely location

Thought we would place a review as there has not been one since 2013. Really nice area and the site is in a quiet location with nice views. Pitches are a  bit challenging but as long as you bring your leveling devices it is fine. The only slight issue here is that the awning is offset due to the sloping. Facilities are OK but could do with a revamp and more regular cleaning. Shower is good but the room is a touch too small and it could do with a couple more hooks as there is nowhere to put anything down easily. The toilet room is large and adequate but needs a good clean and revamp. Location for walking etc is great and the pitches are not expensive. Toilet waste is done in a field, which was fine, but there is no separate tap to wash down so you have to go to the tap used for drinking etc. which is not ideal. Finally the grass was fairly long and could do with a cut and a guy turned up to start strimming at 7.30 one morning!!

So overall we would recommend the site but feel it needs a few tweaks here and there to make it to the standards we have seen at other CL's.

IanLynne

Reviewed on 28/08/2015 13:20

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Close to home but a million miles away.

We found this to be a great site. We had the entire CL to ourselves so weren't fussed about the one toilet and one separate shower, which were both immaculate and do in fact have outside lighting after dark. No rush for payment nor to move off on departure day. The field is sloping but we opted for the one level hardstanding 'pitch' by the amenity block, great views to boot from here. The chemical waste disposal is just through the gate in the field between the house and the road. Great base for exploring Ingleborough and surrounding area.

supertramp

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/10/2013 22:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem!

Visited this CL after reading other reviews. We found the site easily enough, although the entrance is a little tight if you don't get it right. The welcome was great. The owner showed us the facilities and where the van field was. We were asked to complete a registration form and return with it and the site fees when we had set up. no hurry. A lovely spot, with great views and easy access to local places of interest. All the facilities were clean and tidy. My wife's only complaint was that the grass was a little long. All in all we loved it. We've already booked to return later in the year.

Simesc

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/09/2013 14:33

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding Views

Stayed on this lovely CL over the August Bank Holiday. The site was quite hard to see when driving up to it, but having read previous reviews knew to look out for the Pottery sign. The site is sloping, but managed to set up with little problem. The farm is very nice, and we found the owner Kathy to be very friendly and helpful. The views were absolutely wonderful, and the site was so peaceful, which is exactly what we wanted, as bank holidays can be hectic, it was a fabulous weekend. The toilet and shower were fine and kept clean. All in all I would recommend this lovely peaceful CL.

kajw1965

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/08/2013 15:00

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer