Solley's Farm (Grange Farm Ltd)

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A good site in a nice area.

We'd never been to Kent and picked a wonderful week at the end of September for our first visit. Mr Solley was away when we arrived and one of the other residents told us where everything was. We met Mr Solley a few days later and he was very amiable and helpful with local advice. The site is all grass, each pitch has its own water and 16amp supply (which never tripped once for the whole week we were there). Grey water goes into a grid in the courtyard but toilet disposal is a bit of a pain across the pebbled courtyard and a public road into the farm yard. The toilet block was always clean and tidy but we didn't use their shower. An ideal location for exploring. Ramsgate - nice. Margate - bit of a dump. Deal - nice. Rye - very pretty. Dungerness - magical. Langdon cliffs & Lighthouse (over looking Dover port) - a lovely walk. Plus lots of other places Sandwich, Canterbury, Hythe that are well worth a look. Hythe to Dungerness railway was good fun on a nice day. All in all recommended as a base for visiting the area or as a staging post as is only 20-30 minutes from Dover. 

Simon Markland

Caravanner from Merseyside

Reviewed on 07/10/2015 11:50

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Ideal spot

Site was well kept, grass was cut just as we arrived, facilities where clean and tidy. Shower is coin operated but did not accept 10p's while we were there. Also you must be right ready to step into the shower before you put your money in!! Ideal base for visiting area. We left our fees in secure box in toilet block. We would go to this site again

Syringa

Reviewed on 31/08/2015 09:48

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Five Nights in Deal

Pleasant site on the outskirts of Deal town. Bounded on two sides by paddock with horses and sheep in residence. There is a small road on one side which can get quite busy, though it quietens down by the evening. Two pubs within 5 mins walking distance. Showers and toilets a bit of a schlep and the coin meter for the shower is VERY tempermantal - don't put damp coins in or it WILL NOT work. Not the cleanest I've seen, either. The CHP the other side of the road hidden behind some outbuildings; we emptied ours on the way out in the van. The owner wasn't very evident until the last day of our stay, which is no bad thing, I suppose; you just pitch up and hope for the best. Overall though, a very nice stay and I would stay again.

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good site for short stay

Good location for visiting Kent attractions such as Canterbury, Whitstable etc. San facs are clean and well maintained (showers 50p for 5 minutes). Quiet location 20 minutes to Dover. You have to phone owner on arrival to set up.

Buccaneer39

Reviewed on 29/09/2014 08:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well maintained site

If you want a pleasant CL to stay on to explore Kent look no further book yourself into this site. Well maintained with excellent facilities.

4hollies

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 15/06/2014 20:56

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Enjoyed our stay

This is an extremely well maintained site with the pleasant addition of flower containers around the site. The toilets/shower room are finished to a very high standard,(certainly the best that I have come across on a Cl). The toilet emptying point is some distance away, across the road in the farm area which has a lockable barrier for its security and whilst I did not ever find it locked it would be no trouble to roll the waste master under, and then either step over or duck under (dependent on your suppleness) to gain access the disposal point. I did note a little traffic noise circa 6.00, but it was not sufficient to disturb our son sleeping in the awning. This proved to be an excellent base for exploring the area and we would aim to stay here if we visit this part of the country again

MandJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/09/2013 16:13

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relax and Enjoy

I have just returned having been there a week with my motor home. The site as both grass and hard standings with excellent toilet block are cleaned to a high standers each day. The owner visits daily to check if every one is ok and tend to the site cutting grass watering the abundance of flower displays .its with in ease reach of local beaches and a visit into Sandwich is a must. I will defiantly be returning. A most relaxing holiday. Roy and kath

Rayslater

Motorhomer from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 06/08/2013 14:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Class CL in a lovely area of Kent.

We are currently staying on this CL. May 2013, this is a lovely CL with really good facilities, as described by the previous reviewer, the owner Mr. Solley was welcoming and other than checking the area daily he left you alone. The toilet emptying area although it is across the road is not really any problem. The reason I have only given 4 stars for peace & tranquility is there is some road noise which isn't really any trouble. our peace was shattered by a very noisy dog in another unit, if it wasn't barking it was howling or whining, of course this is no fault of the CL. We hope to return in the future.

Gadgetgrannie

Reviewed on 14/05/2013 14:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem in the garden of England

Positives Site is very well kept and toilet / shower block is first class. Mr Sulley is very friendly and apart from his initial welcome to the site leaves you alone to enjoy your break. Toilet / shower block First class with both hot and cold water from all the taps within the block, always clean and fresh smelling. Showers are 10p per minute and all coins can be used from 10pence piece to a £2 coin. Separate area for wet / dry shave yet again with hot and cold water. Field holds several vans and in the summer I could imagine this to be beautiful with horses and sheep on the adjoining field (to wet for us on this visit) Hard standing area also very well kept but you will need a double EHU lead if you are on the opposite side to the EHU points (Mr Sulley does have a spare so I am led to believe) my wife and friend did felt they were in a car park though. Site is well situated for the garden of England allowing easy travel over the east Kent area and close to ferries and channel tunnel crossings. Negatives Unfortunately the waste disposal area (nothing more than a drain) is over the road away from both field and hard standing area and tucked around the back. This does not seem to bad until you realise that the cars do come flying in from the country lane and through the village, one evening we had to empty and was a little annoyed that the gate was locked for the disposal point and had to negotiate climbing over a mid thigh fence with both waste disposal and toilet cassette. However there is not a lot Mr Sulley can do about this. In TobyJug22 review they have commented on the food being excellent (this is something I cannot comment on) but be prepared to be disappointed with the pub as from the outside appears to be a quaint village pub inside is actually vary tired and not so nice.

Fred Perry

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 03/11/2012 09:53

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well worth a visit.

A very nice well kept site. 5 Star toilets and showers. Excellent dog walks nearby. Superb pub in village for meals (5 minutes walk) Access through village a little tight at busy periods. 25 minutes Dover 40 minutes eurotunnel

TobyJug22

Reviewed on 25/07/2012 12:37

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer