Stanstead Hall

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Location

This is a wonderful peaceful site. Very well located for surrounding places of interest and about 15 minutes from beautiful Lavenham. Sue the site owner is lovely, very friendly and welcoming! We got ourselves in a bit of pickle when we arrived by getting our motorhome stuck in some mud. Sue and a friend were very patient with us and managed to get us out. Red faces all around! The site has chemical disposal facilities, fresh water and waste water disposal. There is also a toilet and wet room. The barn has masses of useful equipment ie. extension leads Aquaroll and Wastemaster. There is loads of information in the barn on places of interest, pubs, red etc. The site is very peaceful and quiet. Sue has free roaming chickens and ducks on the most. It was lovely to hear all the birdsong. Highly recommended. Will definitely return!

Gussiegoose

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/04/2023 20:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent CL

Stayed 14 nights from the 1st March whilst on a walking holiday. Very peaceful site located in lovely surroundings with lots to see within a reasonable distance. Sue is very engaging and takes a keen interest in your wellbeing and ensures you are well looked after! The facilities are clean with a heater in the shower area which is very thoughtful as it snowed whilst we were there. Wi-Fi is available and would be the envy of most CC sites! Overall an excellent site, highly recommended!

Cheddar Jack

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/03/2023 17:41

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well worth a visit

We stayed here in February 2022 and thoroughly recommend this site. It is the most peaceful, spacious site, with both hard standings and field space. Mrs Leverett is a very friendly, helpful lady who has gone above and beyond to ensure a comfortable stay. She has provided lots of local information and extra equipment..... even down to dog poo bags. There are lots of extra sprays and hand gels available to ensure everyone feels safe. There is a shower and toilet area that has a heater automatically on in the morning which was a definite bonus in February! Mrs Leverett has definitely thought of everything, even a bbq area! We loved the local area for walking and found some lovely little villages nearby. Stowmarket, Hadleigh and Bury St Edmunds are not too far away either if you prefer more shops to browse. We highly recommend this site and would definitely like to return again in the future.

PhillAliK

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/02/2022 14:58

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A delightful spot

This was our first time on a CL site and we were not disappointed. Lovely, peaceful and spacious. The on-site loo and shower is a bonus and all very clean with lots of COVID precautions and information. There are lots of beautiful villages and market towns nearby with great things to do and visit as well as lovely walks in the beautiful countryside from the site. Very friendly and helpful hostess and freshly laid eggs to buy. We will be back again.

ScreenName6547E328CE

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/10/2021 22:53

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Welcoming and tranquil site

My wife and I stayed from 23rd August 2021 for 3 nights with our two dogs. The site facilities are spotless the host is extremely friendly and welcoming, she just wants you have a relaxing chilled out visit and that's exactly what we had. Thanks for the perfect stay Stanstead Hall, we will be back sometime soon hopefully. Ian and Cheryl

Bigfootbuzz

Reviewed on 01/09/2021 11:52

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

A very quiet spacious and easy going site , facilities excellent and obviously updated as I could not fault. Very welcoming and excellent for dogs, also great to have a welcome from Sue’s dog, and see free roaming birds.

Tina707

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/07/2021 07:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Spacious CL

We really enjoyed our stay here during May 2021 and there is plenty of space to just spread around. In the barn there are information boards, hand sanitiser and I think gloves. Chickens, two geese wander, two rather plump cats and . The grass is cut regularly and collected not scattered to be walked ion to your caravan. .

Andrews58

Reviewed on 18/06/2021 01:33

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect setting

Spent a few nights on this lovely CL. It’s in a lovely part of Suffolk with beautiful countryside. The CL has plenty of space and the grass is very well kept and flat. Mrs Leverett is friendly and helpful. The facilities are really good and clean. The attention to the Covid rules are excellent. We certainly will return to this lovely site.

essexwanderers

Reviewed on 07/06/2021 14:00

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely location but let down by facilities and a lack of information on arrival

I have just come back from staying at this site for 2 nights. The countryside and location are really lovely but the thing that really ruined my stay was the facilities. I know CL's don't have to provide a shower or toilet but, if they do, I think they should be fit for purpose. Prior to my visit and booking this site, I read the reviews on here but I paid little attention to the dates of the reviews. Someone mentioned in 2015 that the toilet and shower were very tired but now, over 4 years later, they really do require some attention, the shower in particular. A lady that arrived on the site at the same time as us commented that she wouldn't even let her horse go near the shower in the state it's in! The chemical toilet empying point is within the same farm building/shed as the shower and toilet. It is quite literally right next to all the campsite information and tourist leaflets which I thought was horrible. Upon emptying my toilet cassette, I noticed on the noticeboard that only green chemical should be used. No where is this mentioned on this CL's details on the CAMC. To discover this upon emptying my toilet cassette is just a little bit too late! Even though I booked this site 5 weeks in advance, there was no toilet paper or paper hand towels in the toilet. There is a polite request on the noticeboard requesting that visiting dogs do not defecate on the site. Yet this is exactly what the owner's dog did on the grass opposite my caravan on the first morning. This site could be a truly lovely place but is let down by a lack of communication from the owner on arrival, seriously tired shower and toilet facilities and some basic lighting around the drinking water and hardstanding area.

Oaddie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/12/2019 22:06

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful.spacious site

We spent a couple of nights here at the end of a break in East Anglia and wished we had left time to stay for longer. It's a very attractive site with a pond (beware the mosquitoes in the evening) and lovely views beyond. We have a motorhome and need hardstanding in March/April, so we pitched up on the picnic square in the photograph, with the owner's permission. This was level, which always helps. The owner was out and about when we arrived and came over to explain the location of the facilities. The toilet and shower were perfectly adequate for a CL, though the toilet emptying was the same building, which was slightly awkward. The site was large with vans well spaced and the whole place had a relaxing ambiance. Wish it had been warm enough to sit outside! My only caveat is dog poo on the field left by the owner's wandering black Labrador! You don't really want to walk to the loo with your eyes on the ground! The visitors kept their dogs on a lead and took them off site for walks. We will definitely be back though - this a lovely base to explore the glorious villages of mid Suffolk.

Kanda

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/04/2017 16:55

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer