Stanstead Hall

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Site

We have just spent a really enjoyable week on the site. The owner was always very cheerful. She went out of her way to help us. The site was well looked after and the shower was always nice and hot. Will recommend the site and hope to be back again next year.

rubycomestoo

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/09/2016 11:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace & Tranquility

We have stayed at Stanstead Hall a number of times now and view it as our chilling out place away from the stresses and noise of busy town life. Stansetaed Hall is working arable farm with fields of crops surrounding the CL with obivious seasonal tractors and other farm machinery. The site is access from a lane via a long drive allowing the CL to be situated away from roads so virtually no traffic noise. The site itself is mostly flat well kept grass with some H/standings. The toilets and shower are housed in the adjacent farm buildings and suitable for wheelchair access, the recycling area is also in these buildings. The internet is what you would expect in the middle of nowhere that is slow occasionally tripping out but its there. Poppy the Labrador could be contrued as a nuiscence by some but as the notices say dont feed her and shoo her away if you dont want her visiting, the geese are noisy and poo but it is a farm. The wildlife consists of numerous ducks, Roe, Munjack deer, owls, buzzards, swallows and martins with the occasional Hobby. This is a wonderful place that very occasionally at changeover times gets busy but it is now our haven and we will be revisiting very soon.

Serious2bloke

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/09/2016 10:34

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely and Peaceful

HappyWe have just spent 10 days at this lovely cl .If you want peace and quiet then this is the place to go. We had no problems with too many vans on site in fact we were the only ones on there for some of the time. The facilities are basic but adequate with plenty of hot water. CLs do not have to provide a shower, let alone a loo so we always see those that do as a bonus ,as long as they are clean .We will be back for some more relaxation and cycling in this lovely part of the world.

greatoutdoors

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2016 22:02

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Hidden Gem

My wife and I have been visiting this CL two or three times a year since it opened several years ago.  It's still our favourite CL after all this time.  The owner is always welcoming and helpful - nothing is too much trouble.  Sue once even helped us to find our runaway dog which turned up in the next village some hours later.  It's tranquil, having no main roads nearby, a beautiful setting, and the facilities are more than adequate and always clean.  We have a wonderful time every time we visit and have no hesitation in recommending a stay at any time of the year.

jmalbar

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/02/2016 21:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Too many units

Booked in for 12 night at the start of the year and so was extremely disappointed when we turned up and there were nine (9) occupied units on the site already. This is the reason for only one tick for ease of arrival/welcome.

This is a beautiful site with loads of room but with all these extra units on the site the choice of where to pitch was very limited. And by the Tuesday there were eleven (11) occupied units on the site!!!!

By the weekend this was down to 5 but there was also one unoccupied unit that was taking up one of the prime locations. This unit was not occupied for the rest of the time we were there - there are vans stored on the farm so why this one was not moved whilst not being used is a mystery.

Facilities consist of one toilet and one shower but this is nowhere near enough when you have that many people on the site - and they are starting to look a little tired.

The site's own website states that there is free wifi but this is very slow and only available if you are near to the farm building. Virtually no mobile signal for either EE (surprise) or 3 and only slight signal for O2. TV signal is also flaky.

Whilst the site is over 2 acres your choice of pitch is limited by the positioning of the EHUs and whilst we were told there were extension leads stored in the barn, these were all being used by the extra vans already on the site, again severely restricting where we could pitch. Only one fresh water tap for the whole site.

A friendly farm dog is great but when they start coming into your awning unannounced and leaving 'messages' around the field that are not cleared up, it sets a poor example for those who do have dogs of their own.

I would agree with other reviewers and think that this site has the potential to be a great one but for us it was spoiled by the owner allowing far too many vans on the site and the knock on effect that this has on the facilities and availability of pitches - we will not be returning.

hefilump

Reviewed on 05/09/2015 22:35

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Came back for seconds!!

Visited 4 years ago and had this on our list for a return visit. All was lovely as we had remembered including Poppy the dog. She comes to see you especially when you are cooking outside but never scrounges. Very hard to resist those "feed me" eyes. We wanted a chilled out lazy weekend and that's just what we had. Sounds of ducks during the day and owls at night. Not brilliant at identifying birds but swifts/swallows/house martins darting around. Thanks for another lovely stay.

BJHammer

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2014 20:58

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

SUBLIME

We have visited many Cls but this is by far the best.Set back at least 100yds from a minor road the only noise you hear is from the resident Wild Ducks and the 6 chickens that roam the site. During our four night stay the site was full but it is so large the nearest van to us was still a good 30yds away. On the site a 2 large wildlife ponds bordered by shrubs and flowers that attract a variety of wildlife, we saw a Green Woodpecker, Heron 2 types of Wagtails and were lucky enough to see 2 Swifts fledge in the barns. The facilities looked good but we use our own so cannot comment on how well they worked although based on the upkeep of the site I Imagine they are perfect. Mrs Leverrett is only too willing to give information regarding whats available in the local area and there is a host of leaflets in the facilities barn on all of the attraction in Suffolk, tere are also in depth details of walks in the area as well as a list of local Pubs providing food. Would we go again most certainly, would we recommend it to you, yes but please stay away so that there is room for us next time !!!

samp

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/07/2014 19:40

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lost Treasure

Stayed here for a week from the 26th June 2014. Great site so peacefull and relaxing virtually pitch around the edge of a flat well kept grass area as long as your lead reaches the EHB. Site your van basically in any direction, to see the big open sky and watch the swifts and swallows darting about or if you are lucky the gliders. The washing facilities are A1 Plus and free. There are two ponds to look at and seats, picnic benches and brick built bbq to use if you wish. With easy reach of a couple of Nat. Trust properties as well as Ipswich or Stowe-in-the-Market. If you want a great meal out I would suggest Kings Head in nearby Hadleigh went three times terrific landlord. What a find Sue is great and trusts everyone will be back.

zummerset2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/07/2014 17:27

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding CL

Visited in May 2013. All the good things written in earlier reviews are true. The peace of the site only broken by birdsong and the geese. Delightful open aspect field, the pictures on the site website do not do it justice.

 

Friendly, humorous, charming owner. Many very good flat walks from the beautiful villages nearby. Helpful maps, walks and local info in the bathroom area. Highly recommended - we shall be back.

SPH

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/06/2013 08:56

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A very good site

Pretty rural site. Well spaced hook-ups on cared-for, spacious field that drains well.OK for our heavy single-axle van in wet weather. Extension leads available, but probably not needed. Mainly level grass pitches. Use HS as last resort. No road noise.Very peaceful. Long way to nearest supermarket. Great for cycling. Toilet and shower areas in need of sprucing up. Good for well-behaved dogs. Easy access from A14 at Stowmarket, including asphalt farm drive. A site to return to.

Shropshire Lass

Reviewed on 29/05/2013 15:04

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer