The Old Wheelwrights Retreat

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our best CL so far!

A beautifully presented site hosted by a great couple. Andy and Sarah have really got the balance right here. Everywhere is well maintained and well presented but not to the extreme you daren’t move and enjoy it. The facilities are clean and the shower is great - hot and powerful. But what really did it for us was the setting and thought therein. A beautiful pond with a central island, visited by birds all day long, a wooden gazebo overlooking the pond equipped with table and chairs, a summer house with comfy armchairs, a shepherd’s hut with everything you can think of from an umbrella, to books, board games and even fold up chairs. So delightful was the setting that we cancelled our plans for the day and instead spent our whole weekend on site! It rained but that didn’t matter - we relaxed in the summer house; the sun shone - we had a bbq. Never has a CL site had so many options. So if you are like me and want the perks of an adult only peaceful CL site but not just a field - look no further than The Old Wheelwrights Retreat. Can’t wait for my next recharge weekend there.

ClubMember8EF92EB560

Campervanner

Reviewed on 26/05/2024 13:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL site

This is a great CL site. Well kept large pitches. Shower and toilet facility were fantastic. Lovely gardens and warm welcome by owners. Dog walk on site and also a circular walk from site. Beautiful site to chill by the pond with a glass of wine or visit the shepherd's hut which is full of dvds/ books if the weather turns. Close to East Kirkby Air museum and Skegness with all the seaside has to offer. Fresh eggs from the on site chickens. We had a fantastic stay and definitely will be booking again. Thank you Sarah & Andy, your site is lovely.

ClubMemberF35588456C

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/05/2024 17:01

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful beautiful CL

Stayed at The Old Wheelwrights Retreat for 2 nights. Can easily say this is the best maintained, most peaceful and beautiful CL we've ever stayed at. Andy and Sarah met us with a warm welcome with plenty of information about the site and its amenities. Therecare nice circular dog walks of varying lengths off site on quiet roads and tracks. Unfortunately no pubs or shops in the village of Firsby but market town of Splisby is only 5 to 6 minutes drive away with pub and shops. Fish pond is great with large stock of young fish, though its not for fishing in, just for enjoying the sound of the fountain and relaxation. There is a shepherd's hut with games, dvds etc to enjoy, plus a reading room to again relax, read or enjoy the sound of the radio. Finally there are free range chickens which provide plenty of eggs to buy. The combined single toilet and shower are excellent, spacious and clean. To sum up, the CL is fantastic to relax and enjoy the bird song, we will be back. Thanks to hosts Andy and Sarah.

CSmith12

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/05/2024 20:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding Site

If you're looking for somewhere in Lincolnshire to pitch your Caravan, Motorhome or stay in a Holiday Lodge, look no further. The owners Andy and Sarah are a delightful couple who with the help of Andy's father, Keith have created the most beautiful, tranquil, tidy and spotlessly clean CL all of which can be found on the outskirts of Spilsby.

Barney 12

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/05/2024 19:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Outstanding

Mid October 2023, 3 night stay Our first visit.....absolutely wow! This peaceful adult only, dog friendly Cl is just beautiful.It has the addition of fish pond, outside sheltered seating area along with a small games room and seperate sunmer house.It will definately be on our regular list next year when it opens for the new season. Well done Andy and Sarah for setting up this lovely tranquil site. We wish you ongoing success and look forward to returning. 10amp electric, eco friendly waste into hedge, huge pitches,Park however you wish, excellent elsan and water filling facilities according to hubby! No road noise, dog walk off site.15mins into central Skeg.Fresh eggs if available. Possible new toilet/ shower from next season. Owners very friendly and welcoming with information on arrival.

donkey71

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/10/2023 18:27

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just amazing

In 35 years of using many dozens of CLs across the UK we can honestly say this is the best kept one we have ever been on. The lawned grass with immaculate flower beds was really too good to drive on to pitch the caravan. The under cover facilities were of an exceptionally high standard and everywhere on the site was perfectly maintained. There were not just spacious caravan pitches but an unbelievable relaxation area down at the end set around a large doughnut shaped pond with a bridge over into its centre. Along side this was a shepherds hut with books, games and DVDs, plus a gorgeous summer house where we had our morning coffee each day and a further sheltered relaxation area dressed as an old railway waiting room. We received a very warm welcome from Sarah and Andy for whom nothing was too much trouble. Simply delightful.

Timroberts

Reviewed on 15/09/2023 21:16

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

THIRD VIST ONLY GETTING BETTER

Hello I would like to recommend this site to all who want a quiet peaceful stay it is are third vist all the way from Derbyshire the site only gets better every time we come new garden beds trees and this time a summer house for guests and a fountain. All the time we were there owners had time to chat and have a laugh. The site is central for coast or aircraft sporting. Wild life spotted on site this time was bird of prey eating on driftwood garden sculpture. The site needs to be tryed to believe it better than any main club site large spacous pitches and immaculate grounds

Steve loco

Reviewed on 01/09/2023 18:36

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

August escapism

Our first visit to this delightful site and it will certainly not be the last, the owners have given careful consideration to designing and creating this cl. The shepherd's hut provided information on the local area, a book library and a varied dvd collection to borrow. The sun shelter complete with dining table/bench & chairs was a convivial space for eating an evening meal or enjoying a nightcap. The family are welcoming hosts and clearly want visitors to enjoy their stay. We have it on good authority from other caravanners that the hen eggs are delicious. A pleasant walk around the village taking in a stop at Firsby Fudge is also recommended. We look forward to a return visit in the future.

JillAndTony

Reviewed on 27/08/2023 19:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Top CL Site

We have just returned from the Old Wheelwrights Retreat and would say without hesitation, this is the best CL we have been to. Massive closely mown field with landscaping and various interesting features including some hens at the bottom of the field and a pond with lots of fish. The servicing point is all under cover too. Our little dog Daisy absolutely loved the grass to run around on (on her lead). The pictures on the page here are exactly as it is, plus the owners Sarah and Andrew are lovely people, very friendly with lots of local knowledge. We would recommend Tattershall Castle, Gunby Hall and Baumber Walled Garden to visit. For plane spotters RAF Conningsby is also nearby, next to Tattershall and train spotters can see regular trains over the hedge at the bottom of the site, they toot their horns to let you know, plus they don’t run at night. Top class!

Harpleyboy 1953

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/08/2023 20:32

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wow - just wow !

We can honestly say this is the best CL site we have stayed on - and we have been to a fair few ! Set in a huge perfectly manicured garden, a beautiful pond area with decking and shelter to sit and relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the peace and quiet. A shepherd's hut with an array of items to borrow - dvd's, games, books etc. and a summer house where you can also sit to chat or listen to the radio and admire the beautiful garden view whick is lit up at night with twinkling solar lights. All the disposal facilities are sparkling clean and it is clearly obvious the owners take the upmost pride in keeping everything immaculate. Nearby are several places worth a visit and we even took our motorhome into Skegness where there is parking right near the front for the sole use of coaches and motorhomes at £5 a day. We will certainly book again when travelling in the area and have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful site to others.

ScreenName9D1F92B10A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/07/2023 11:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer