Upham Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful and peaceful

We stayed for 13 nights and loved it. We didn't use the toilet facilities but had a look at them and they were pristine so don't be put of by earlier reviews. It is a site on a fishery but the CL is set back from the lakes so I really don't understand the previous negative comments about the noise from fishermen which we certainly didn't experience, neither did we experience any cars racing down the lane to the fishery and we were there for 13 nights! There are 4 hard standing level pitches with a large area of grass to the side and a couple of well drained grass pitches. There is good recycling but advisable to come prepared with compostable food waste bags. Non recyclable rubbish must be disposed of away from site but that wasn't a problem. The owner is always a phone call away if needed and is very approachable. Lovely farm shop nearby meaning we hardly needed to visit a supermarket and a pub close by. We will definitely return to this lively pristine CL.

Ron from New Forest

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/09/2021 21:54

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super little CL

Stayed a couple of nights at this fantastic CL. It is nicely kept and you are able to walk around the numerous fishing lakes next to the site. Owner is friendly and very helpful and always around should you need him. Would definitely use again either for an overnight stop or longer stay.

Andrea1961

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/07/2019 11:42

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Super and great value

We have just spent a week here.Its a super spot,walks round fishing lakes with gosling's,geese,ducks , many more birds too numerous to name. Easy access onto pitch ,easy drive to beaches , and walks on common,so much to do in locality,park and ride 10mins away farm shop near.There is a bus that goes right past the end of the track where do is sited,so that's great for motorbikers with their free bus passes. The toilets are meant for fishermen so they should not come into the discussion,I feel the club should remove these comments,I did however clean one and basin! as a token of my gratitude rather than complaining! We will certainly be back.Great spot.Welcome ,friendly host.

ZoesMa

Campervanner from Devon

Reviewed on 02/06/2019 07:41

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of the best we have stayed at.

Just returned from a Bank Holiday break, and what a fabulous find this CL was! Beautifully kept, with hard standings, though we elected to use a grass pitch, perfect for stretching the dog’s legs in a morning with a stroll round the fishing lakes - so much nicer than trudging round the streets. Even though it rained heavily on Sunday, drainage on the grass pitch was no problem. Driver30’s review puzzled me. Why use toilets meant for anglers when you have your van with all facilities? If I have one negative comment, it’s TV reception. The handbook says it’s good, but we didn’t manage to tune into a single channel. Hurray for DVDs. We can’t wait to return, Thank you Mr Willcocks for a great stay, despite the dodgy weather.

wotsername

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 28/08/2018 15:50

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

the perfect break

A lovely site in a beautiful setting, next to fishing lakes, well maintained by the owner and now with electric hookups installed since our last visit. Well situated for Exeter, coast and moors with bus route 1/2 mile away. Farm shop is also close by. We'll be back!

macswayround

Reviewed on 01/07/2018 23:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fishy

I agree with all the other reviews regarding location etc.  The trouble we had was sharing the site with fisherman who simply didn't care about the caravans. We were woken at 6.30am one morning by a group chatting in their "normal" daytime voices - and using language that we would prefer not to listen to.  The toilet is literally a shed with no locks on the doors, that don't shut properly.  It seems that other users were not familiar with the flushing process - but at least some people made an effort, not like the fisherman we saw relieving himself on the other side of the lake.  Add to that, cars and vans arriving and departing at high speeds along the access road late into the evening - we went out every day so we were only affected in the evenings and overnight - we won't be back. 

driverc30

Reviewed on 19/07/2015 22:13

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

great little site

great little site next to fishing lakes. ideal if you are in to fishing but still a nice place to camp if you are not into fishing. nice well kept little field with great access with 3 hard standings with the rest grass. owner polite and friendly. also plenty to do in the area. certainly we will certainly use again. first class site. agree with the other reviews

tavy

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 12/10/2014 11:06

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely site

Just spent 12 nights at this site, as everyone says, lovely site, well kept, quiet & peaceful with lots of bird life, extremely easy access and very friendly owners. Bus goes from end of road, 1/2 mile walk away & you can get to Exeter and most places. Great farm shop nearby, can recommend the fish and chips. Only recommendation we could make is somewhere for a leaflet library as it seems a shame to dispose of them all at the end of a stay. Will be back.

Fishycaravanner

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 19/07/2014 16:21

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Upham Farm

We spent three nights here in March 2014 it is ideal for exploring Exeter which has many places of interest. It is quiet and overlooks one of the seven fishing lakes. I don't fish but perfect for those who do. Found parking for motorhome by Exeter Quays, lovely area, river walk for dog and short walk to Cathedral and town. Will visit again as more to see.

Joncar

Reviewed on 14/03/2014 18:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

FISHING/TOURING HEAVEN

What a find !! Scenic CL with 7 Fishing Lakes !! pitched for 14 days. Fishing..brilliant, 6 mixed Lakes plus one specimen. CL... Lawned and kept that way through out our 14day stay. Grass and hard standing, neat/tidy, sheltered hedge boundary but with an open view across the lakes and countryside. Owner very helpful/friendly..recharged our battery. Located 10mins drive from Exeter Park&Ride(free to bus pass holders)from there a short journey into the Main Bus Depot,where we picked up buses for all the Main resorts within an hours bus ride...DAWLISH-SIDMOUTH-EXMOUTH-SIDMOUTH-TORQUAY. ALL very quaint and unspoiled. Airport somewhere nearby... no noise or disturbance,didnt know it was there. If you FISH this is heaven sent, if not,you have 7 landscaped lakes to walk around, and sunsets to behold. This CL is located so well for touring the top bit of Devon,which took us by surprise, lots to do and see, Exeter is worth a visit..Cathedral and THE QUAYS, with its riverside shops/cafes/pubs etc. Saturday Car Boot..1-4pm on the Main Rd going into Exeter, not far from the site, also a Farm Shop(big) worth a browse on the same road. All in all, we loved this site for its location and setting .

MBW

Reviewed on 03/09/2013 14:43

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer