West Leas Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect CL site

We have stayed here many times and always enjoyed it. Lovely owners who are very helpful if needed. This is the perfect base for exploring the area. Simply wonderful.

sweetboy

Reviewed on 04/04/2024 11:18

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Always a pleasure to come here

We have been coming to West Leas for a number of years now and always receive a really warm welcome from Catherine and Adrian. The paths mowed through the fields to walk along are brilliant. You can walk directly across the fields to Galphay (about a mile each way) and the local pub, or in the other direction to the paper shop and butcher/baker in Kirkby Malzeard (again about a mile each way). Our border collie (and us for that matter!) hates to leave when its time to go home. This must be one of the best CL's in N Yorkshire.

Graythwaite

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/08/2023 17:25

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Short but Very Relaxing Stay

We stayed here for just two nights because we were attending the Nidderdale Show. The site is delightful, such peace and quiet and fabulous views.We have made a note to come again when we have more time. Just what a CL should be. Maggie, Martin & Tyson

Wovie

Reviewed on 24/09/2022 15:40

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL

We spent 6 nights at this CL. It is a lovely CL and all the pitches are grass. The views are lovely and the site is very quiet. We never saw the owner which considering we were there for so long was a bit disappointing. The chemical waste disposal is not pleasant being a wc standing proudly in full view. It works well enough though. We use our own facilities, but the toilet and shower didn't look great although it was clean. The CL is convenient for Fountains Abbey but it is almost 8 miles from Ripon and the roads are generally narrow. It is a very good CL but could be better.

Sparken

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2022 15:53

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site and peaceful location.

Recently stayed on the site for three nights on a well tended grass pitch. Plenty of space between pitches with shade from the sun provided by trees near by. Toilet cleaned daily but no shower facility. Lovely views over the fields. Good directions provided by the owner to find the site. We used the site to visit Ripon and surrounding area which worked well although we did have to travel on quite narrow roads for a few miles before accessing a main road, but plenty of passing places. Enjoyed our stay.

Patronas

Campervanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2022 11:41

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Call of the Curlew

Just spent two fantastic weeks at this wonderful site. Quiet, tranquil and relaxing, the scenery is worth the stay alone. The owners were helpful, yet discreet. Sheep graze in the surrounding fields; high above, the regular sight and sound of the Curlews take you far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. There is a small village within both cycling and walking distance. Great local butchers, small shop and a pub all si along the main square. We enjoyed a bike ride into Ripon which is a lovely market town; if you're into visiting excellent attractions the majestic Fountains Abbey is close by. Only slight point: the toilet/shower facility is partly finished. The toilet is functional, but staring at a half finished shower cubicle and relevant fixtures is a disappointment. I understand the reasons for not being able to use it but at least it could be finished off.

bigpolish

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/05/2022 10:15

31 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A fantastic CL

We have just spend 4 nights at this great CL. The site is immaculately kept and a great size - plenty of room for children to play in the central area. Lovely views, easy access to many attractions (Forbidden Corner a must if you have children), free range eggs sold, a toilet and shower under construction, very welcoming owners. We had a lot of rain but ground drained very well. Highly recommended.

Rachel Goldby

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/08/2021 20:20

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very enjoyable stay at excellent CL

West Leas proved an excellent choice for our first outing since Covid restrictions for the second year were eased. We were welcomed by Catherine on arrival, and found the site very well maintained, with very good facilities - the toilet emptying point even has flushing, and to have free WiFi on a CL is still exceptional. The field is sloping, but pitching was no problem with chocks, and having chosen the pitch at the top, views were great especially of the sunsets. The delightful village of Kirkby Malzeard is only about 20 minutes walk - I recommend the locally baked cakes at the village stores. There are lovely local walks taking in other villages such as Galphay, and plenty of quiet lanes for cycling. Fountains Abbey is easily accessible by cycle or car. A great discovery for us was the amazing Himalayan Garden and Sculpture Park at Grewelthorpe, where there is also Hackfall Wood. Ripon is about 20 minutes by car and well served by supermarkets especially the high quality Booths.

DavidW50

Reviewed on 08/05/2021 07:29

51 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A really wonderful farm CL

Simply one of the best CL's we have visited. Ideally situated for touring both the Yorkshire Dales and the North York Moors National Parks as well as many interesting towns and villages. The site is well kept grass with good drainage on a slight slope. The approach roads from Ripon can be a bit of a test as they seem to breed rather large tractors in Yorkshire and this site is set in a real rural area. The views from the site are over miles of fields and in the distance the heather clad moors. A great place for dogs as well. We stayed for a total of 7 days at either end of our caravan holiday and loved every minute of them. TV and WiFi reception is fantastic as well. Mr & Mrs Raw, the owners, are very cheerful and helpful. We will certainly be stopping there again!

C1iv3

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2020 22:32

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing CL

A warm welcome by Catherine and he lovely Chocolate Labradors! Beautiful site situated in the Nidderale Valley (An area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) The site is 1/2 Acre and more than big enough. Facilites include a clean Chem toilet disposal area, water tap and lots of recycling bins. We stayed here for walking, and there are plenty of fantastic walks straight from the site. Access to the site is very easy and the roads are nice and wide. EHU was spot on and we were surprised to find the site had free Wi-Fi! A great site that we will be returning to.

Richie771

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2018 19:06

30 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer