Abbey Wood Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

London Base

Whenever I visit family in London this is my preferred site to stay at. The staff are always welcoming helpful and efficient. The site is spacious and pitches allow privacy. The toilet blocks are always pristine. If you need to leave the site in your van during your stay staff will always provide you with a large traffic cone to reserve your pitch. I always feel relaxed when staying there and should I need provisions during my stay there is a Coop store within 10 minutes walk.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Ideal location for London

We visited this site just before Christmas. It's in a great location for visiting London but was amazingly peaceful , surrounded by trees with the odd fox wandering around. There are large gates which are locked at night so you feel perfectly safe and walking back from the station was absolutely fine through a residential area. Only a 10 minute walk to Abbey Wood train station where trains were very frequent into London and very empty .About half an hour into London Bridge station and only 15 mins to Greenwich. The site was immaculate, the toilet and shower facilities very clean , the wardens doing a great job, as well as being very friendly and helpful. Gave us a useful map of how to get to the train station and what tickets to buy. Would definitely recommend and will be visiting again .

Heather2020

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 27/12/2021 15:26

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A hidden surprise in London

I've stayed here a few times. As you drive through Abbey Wood you wonder a bit as it's all built up and a fair lot of building at the moment. But once through the nice solid gates that keep your outfit safe at night you find yourself in a lovely, large country campsite in the middle of a huge city. The facilities are lovely and extremely well looked after. And for most of the year there's the bonus of them having multiple toilet blocks so that one is always open even when the other is being cleaned. Not a huge amount to do in Abbey Wood itself. The remains of the Abbey are worth visiting as is Crossness Pumping station if you catch an open weekend. There's a good pub and an Indian restaurant as well as a few takeaways. But London is less than an hour away be train, Greenwich just over half an hour. Sounds a lot but this is London.

johnkevinthorpe

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/12/2021 17:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Site

A real oasis in the middle of a city! A secure, comfortable and very well kept site with good transport links on into London. I firmly recommend and will be returning.

ScreenNameB022A09455

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 30/11/2021 08:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

An oasis of calm in London

Stopped here for two nights 20/21 Nov 2021, the staff were excellent especially the meet and greet lady, nothing was too much, her demeanour was welcoming and the bonus was that she was lovely as well with my little dog. The location for links into central London are fantastic, the Abbey Pub next to the station is spot on and the site itself was very peaceful and clean. Will definitely be stopping again…

Sheffspurs

Reviewed on 26/11/2021 16:44

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Shame about the Commercial Vehicles on-site

We stayed on this site which was very nice and quite. But very disappointed in seeing 3 commercial vehicles on the site. One was a large white panel van which was with a Motorhome. The 2nd van was a Ford Transit panel van on a pitch. The 3rd one on a pitch was a Pickup vehicle which had a commercial box trailer hooked up to the electric. The club rules are that the only commercial vehicles allowed on site are if they are towing a caravan. So these 3 vehicles were allowed on site against club rules. My question is why .

ScreenName5ED873809F

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/11/2021 18:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

All you need here for exploring London

This was our second stay here this year and it did not disappoint. A quiet park-like setting with the occasional fox! And yet within minutes of excellent transport links into London; the railway was quiet when we used it outside commuting hours but the local buses into London can get busy; we opted for the river cruise route one day which was excellent to see the sights from a new viewpoint and have experienced commentary. The highlight for us on site was the heated floor in the accessible facility room. This was a real joy and in stark contrast to the comfort of such rooms on some other sites. In our view this investment was very much appreciated! Thanks to all staff on site.

Condorvan

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/11/2021 21:35

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site brilliantly located

We stayed at the Abbey Wood CAMC site from 31st October for 4 nights and can honestly say it was a real pleasure from start to finish. We were welcomed at reception with all the information we needed including directions to the train station. All the staff we met were so helpful. The location of this site makes it so easy to get into the City and even walking back late at night felt very safe. Great site and will definately be going back.

Jacko40

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/11/2021 13:02

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Friendly Campsite

Arrived at Abbey Wood on 15th October for 4 nights on a Service Pitch. Was checked in by a lovely lady who reconised me from a previous stay we had in the Summer. She was very welcoming. When pitching up we had problems with accessing the water to our aqua roll. Rick, who is the husband of the receptionist at check in, could not do enough to help and he finally got our water supply through. Could not thank this couple enough for making our second stay at Abbeys Wood stress free.

ScreenNameC9B4BA9A71

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/10/2021 17:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great base for exploring London

This is a fantastic site - well organised, spacious pitches, good facilities and with a consistently friendly welcome from the helpful and knowledgeable wardens. The trees and wildlife make the site feel quite rural despite the proximity to the superb network of buses and trains a short walk away. We've used the site three times this year - we've brought bikes with us on two occasions and cycled on The Thames Path cycle network and to Greenwich. We've also taken the train from Abbey Wood station to Woolwich Arsenal and then jumped on a Thames Clipper boat to central London. We're really pleased to have found this site and will use it whenever we need our London fix!

ScreenNameD83880DA4F

Campervanner

Reviewed on 22/10/2021 12:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer