Abbey Wood Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Very impressed with this campsite, clean & well cared for, lovely quiet site, great access to London & surrounding areas, helpful staff. Will definitely be booking again!

TraceyBanks

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/02/2024 12:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Superb site and great location

We stayed here for 2 nights in January and loved every minute. Abbey Wood campsite is a lovely green oasis surrounded by trees but an easy train ride from the centre of London. The site is gently sloping but pitches are huge and hard standing is level. We were also lucky to have excellent TV reception on our pitch which was an unexpected bonus. Just the perfect place to stay if you’re planning a visit to London. Highly recommended and I can’t wait to stay again.

Siouxsieq

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/02/2024 12:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great campsite, superb location! :)

My husband and I visited the site as he was working in London between Christmas and New Year so tried to make a holiday out of it for me and our pooch. You would never guess there would be a site in such an urban area, but as we turned into the site we were greeted by lots of trees and the lovely sound of bird song. The chap at reception was lovely and friendly and told us we could pick our own pitch and just let him know. The pitch sizes were massive and all hard standing (we have a motorhome) and the camp is surrounded by trees. The facilities are great- the toilet/shower block was clean tidy and warm and it even has 2 (free) hairdryers! Plenty of water points, chemical disposal, laundry and dish washing area which I always prefer using. It is a 10 minute walk to the village centre, which has a pub, a little Morrisons, local shops, takeaways and an Indian restaurant. There are bus stops and the Elizabeth Line tube and rail link which is a great station with fab links and disabled access. We had a really great stay and totally recommend this site for visiting central London and we will definitely visit again!

MattMaisieCaseyCLA

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/01/2024 10:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Super Location, shame about the shower blocks

We have stayed at the Abbey Wood site many times over the last 15 years or so. The site is the best for access to London and, with the new Elizabeth Line, it is even easier. Located in the edge of a wood the surroundings are very relaxing and full of wildlife (particularly Ring Neck Parakeets). Staying there has given us many happy experiences in London that we would not have done otherwise. Our latest visit was for 11 nights from mid November. Here lies the problem: The shower blocks were cold. Having experienced the underfloor heating working at its best on previous occasions, it came a a big shock when it appeared that the heating was either broken or the thermostats set so low, it never came on. Having mentioned it to the wardens, we were never given a definitive reason as to why they were so cold. We know it is a very popular site, and we will continue to stay there however, the shower blocks are looking very 'tired and worn out' (and cold)

Bobjewson

Reviewed on 29/11/2023 12:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First visit.

This was our first time to Abbey Wood. Using it as a base to attend ABBA Voyage. We also went into central London and Greenwich. All easily accessible by train, the station is only a 10 minute walk away. The staff were extremely friendly we will definitely return .A nice woodland retreat away from the hustle and bustle when you return after a days outing.

madClanod

Reviewed on 02/11/2023 17:10

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Above and Beyond Expectations

This was an ideal value for money site for being a tourist in London. An oasis of calm in a lovely woodland setting despite being in a very busy area. Excellent public transport links into central London just 10 minutes walk from the site. Factor in the time taken to get to the site because of traffic volumes but that's typical of London! Will definitely return. Facilities were excellent and well maintained and clean. Staff helpful.

FiatX19

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/10/2023 15:33

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location

Stayed for 5 nights, great location for visiting London. The Elizabeth tube line runs from Abbey Wood and its a 10 minute walk from the site. The site is well maintained and facilities are the usual club standard.

Godfather

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2023 21:50

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Sleep in the wood, live in the metropole

A peaceful stay, surrounded by nature, where everything is clean and functional, while your are still at 20 minutes by the city centre of London. It's really uncommon to find such an high quality camp site in a big metropole. It's absolutely our first choice for visiting London.

ClubMemberC4DBA205FE

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/08/2023 16:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Super Location, Super Site

There isn’t really a whole lot to write, if your used to CAMC sites this is as close to their standard as you will get. The big surprise here is that you’re in one of the biggest cities in Europe and you would never know. It’s so peaceful and quiet, there are parakeets, foxes and the odd squirrel. On a lovely summer day you could sit outside all day and never really know how close you are to the hustle and bustle of the City of London. Now, if your looking at reviews of a campsite in London your probably not looking to read about tranquility, you want to know how close and how easy it is to get to those famous landmarks in the city. Well, due to the new Elizabeth line it takes 5-10 minutes to walk to the train station and another 10 minutes to get to Tottenham Court Road station which is in the west end. There you can access all of central London with a short walk or even shorter bus/underground journey. All in all, its a great site with good facilities for both relaxing and exploring London, highly recommended, we have been multiple times over the last couple of years and I’m sure we will be visiting more in the future.

ScreenName88ED307654

Campervanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2023 14:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Drove 231 miles

I entered the reception area to book in at aprrox 15.00 on the 02/08/23. I was greeted by a female member of staff. I told her my name to book in, she then turned and looked out the window and took a look at my van which is a Renault Kangoo Maxi which i have converted myself and includes a side awning. I understand that this is a slightly alternative type of vehicle to say a T5 or larger camper, however it has all the equipment we require to sleep in etc as well as the awning and is more of a micro camper which i use to drive to work. The female member of staff then stated to me that this was not a camper van and was just a small white van and that i could not stay here with that vehicle. I was slightly shocked and stated that it had everything required to camp in. She then started to say that it is just a van and that it needed to have Vents? which i have fitted an air fan. I had requested a hard standing with awing pitch which is appropriate for cars with a roof tent, which i did suggest to the member of staff she replied that i did not have a roof tent, i then asked what's the difference to no reply. As we were talking a Volkswagon T4 entered the park which had no Vents and was only slightly bigger than my van. I then asked why are they allowed in and i am not, again to no answer which indicated to me that there was slight prejudice towards me and my van . The women then demanded to see the rear of my van witnessed by my partner who was sat in the front wondering what on earth was going on. I then opened the rear doors (no Pun intended) to show that i had a sliding bed, electrics and diesel heater all installed in the van. After giving the member of staff a free full tour of my Renault kangoo maxi we then returned to the reception. She stated that the caravan club has strict rules on this type of thing regarding the size of vehicles, i am yet to find these policy's so any direction to these would be of great help. The member of staff continued to go on about the small size of the van and how i should not have booked this pitch or the park. She then said if i were to stay that her big bosses would kick off at her and that they patrol the park but were currently off site. Seeing as the situation was not going to be resolved I asked if i could then have a refund and would then have to seek other accommodation meaning that i would have also missed the Football Game i had purchased tickets for that evening kicking off shortly. The member of staff then said that she could put me in plot 44 which is tucked away and no one could see me parked there such as management. I then entered the park and parked at 44 plot. I don't see how it matters what vehicle i park in the plot as i have still paid the exact same amount of money as someone with a motor home would have done. I booked a hard standing pitch as vehicle are not permitted on the camping field.

 

Comment from the Community Manager:

Thank you for your review. I have shared this review with the appropriate management team. With regards to your outfit, if you can contact the Club with details and images, we can review and confirm suitability for membership, but based on what you describe it sounds suitable. This is in our guidance and available when signing up for membership.  

Vehicles used for accommodation on The Club's Site Network should generally meet the following criteria:

Seats and a table
Sleeping accommodation which may be converted from seats
Cooking facilities
Storage facilities

This equipment should be rigidly fixed to the living compartment; however, the table may be designed to be easily removable. Where these criteria are not met by a given vehicle, it may still be considered acceptable if the following condition is met: The clear intended design and purpose of the vehicle is to provide leisure accommodation use during the course of a recreational holiday.

I hope this helps. 

 

ClubMember9C60C6E309

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 13:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer