Aberbran Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic food for the soul

Wonderful place to recharge your batteries. Peace and quiet in a lovely scenic location. Excellent wardens at one of our favourite place's to stay .

snail chaser

Trailertenter

Reviewed on 09/11/2023 15:24

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Perfect No frills site

Absolutely love this site. Thoroughly recommend it. Stayed for 7 nights. Easy to find from the main road, just follow the directions in the book and you can't go wrong. It's a small place on the site of the old Aberbran Railway station, so the site is long and thin but plenty of space between pitches. There's a good dog walk on site with great views. We found the volunteer wardens to be very friendly and also very helpful with advice on where to go. They even have folders of walks and drives to do. We had a grass pitch but if you want hardstanding, that's at the end of the site. 5-8 or 2&3 near the check in hut. The Brecon Beacons is a great area for walking or waterfall searching. We climbed Pen y Fan whilst there. Well worth the long hike to the top as the views are spectacular. Brecon town is nice too, Good butchers and places to eat. Morrisons supermarket is the cheapest place to park £1.50 for 2hrs. Aldi is near the canal Basin free parking for 1½hrs. Nice 2½ hour trip on a barge along the canal for £12. So much to do in the area we'll have to go back. This site is a perfect no frills site without a toilet block. We really need more of these type of sites as for £21 Inc EHU they really are much better value than the full facility sites that's for sure 5* from us that's for sure.

Skiphunter

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 28/07/2023 20:28

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Superb Club Site

We stayed here for four nights in June and enjoyed our stay here. Access is ok, with just the last section of road quite narrow, we followed the specific instructions on how to find the site which were very helpful. Graham and Barbara are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area, and there is lots of information in the reception hut regarding local walks and info. There are no toilets or facilities here but we use our own anyway, and children would have to make their own entertainment. The site is long and narrow and we opted for a grass pitch under the trees for a bit of shade from the sun (a bit sappy but worth the shade!) as it was very hot during our stay. It was very peaceful here, although may be a bit remote for some (a drive to the supermarket in Brecon) but we were well stocked and it suited us perfectly. The site is clearly well looked after by the wardens, clean and tidy with some nice flower displays. We think this could well be our new favourite club site!

Sporadicus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2023 19:49

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A peaceful site in good location

This is a small site in a quiet rural location. We primarily booked to visit the big pit which we would highly recommend. The weather was indifferent with heavy rain and strong wind but with sunny parts as well. I was delighted to find a note on the office when we arrived giving us our pitch number as this has one road in so not easy to turn round with a caravan! We had a hard standing pitch which coped with the heavy rain well. There are no shops nearby nearest are in Brecon so make sure you have milk for that all important first cup of tea. We will definitely return.

The Canoeists

Caravanner from Devon

Reviewed on 31/03/2023 15:46

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Maybe another time.....

I have to say that we stayed here for two nights last weekend but sadly it wasn't the best weather. Nowhere is shown at its best in poor weather and so i think we would need to come again to fully experience the best of the site. We are only a couple so cant really rate the suitability for a family. It is quite a long and narrow site with plenty of grass and hard standing pitches. There were only about half a dozen other caravans and motor homes due to the weather but im sure in the height of the season it gets quite busy. Its a very quiet and peaceful site with the the normal facilities apart from no toilet block (we never use them anyway). Its clean tidy and everything worked fine. As i say, we need to come back again to get the most out of the site.

tofty21

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/03/2023 14:50

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Tranquil

We have just had a wonderful 3 days at this site and honestly it is beautiful. From the moment you drive in to the site a feeling of peace descends on you, from the wonderful volunteer wardens to the lovely flower displays. For the whole time we were there we heard no traffic noise and no barking dogs. We are in a Motorhome and yes, you are very isolated as the only thing around is a little PYO farm with a shop that sells ice creams and drinks. We were well prepared for our trip away and didn’t need to go anywhere for anything. The area is outstandingly beautiful and to just relax and while away the day it was wonderful. And really, at the end of the day, you are only 4/5 miles from the busy town of Breacon.

dunjo

Reviewed on 12/08/2022 15:51

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Charming site

It is a peaceful small site. Too remote for us. You always need the car to get somewhere. No pubs or restaurants nearby. WiFi is bad. We were not very taken by the area. Some bad supermarkets in Brecon. Unfortunately.

ellenfrima

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/08/2022 01:02

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

What a peaceful few days

Just spent 4 nights on this site in our motor home, and enjoyed every minute. The welcome from the volunteer wardens was second to none, and the site is well run and well maintained. The location is very peaceful and the scenery is stunning. There are plenty of walking/hiking opportunities to satisfy all abilities - just buy an OS map of the area, and go for it. The town of Brecon is worth a visit, and so is a walk along the canal. There are buses into Brecon from the end of the lane joining the A40, but the timetable is somewhat flexible at the moment because of the many roadworks on that road. . . . . . We will be back.

Geoffn1

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 26/05/2022 16:21

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site in lovely location

We've just returned from 10 days at this site. Its extremely efficiently run site and kept in immaculate condition. It is run by volunteers and is a great credit to them. We met several of the volunteers who are all so helpful and cheerful - nothing is too much trouble and you can tell they have an enormous pride in the site. The location is ideal in wonderful walking country. We did several mountain walks, plus gentler days enjoying flat walking along the canal and around Llangorse lake. Also enjoyed a lovely lazy day with a canal cruise which we thoroughly recommend. We love the town of Brecon itself and revelled in exploring it and discovering all its really interesting history and beautiful buildings. We also loved the modern vibe of the town with its many shops, cafes and pubs. The Brecon Tap especially is a great find - terrific beer and great staff. We will definitely be back to Aberbran

ScreenName3731AF1DF4

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 10:29

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice quiet site

I would like to take this opportunity of thanking the site wardens Mark and Jane for all the help they provided to us following our stay during 9th to 12th September. My wife broke her wrist badly while out walking on the Saturday, and when we got back to site following a long afternoon spent at Carmarthen Hospital, both Jane and Mark were very attentive to our problems, and especially Jane who is a retired nurse helped my wife until we were able to leave on the Sunday morning. A Huge thank you goes out to them, and they are a credit to the Caravan and Motorhome Club. A lovely quiet site too!

plumptonzep

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 10:00

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer