Aberbran Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

What a peaceful few days

Just spent 4 nights on this site in our motor home, and enjoyed every minute. The welcome from the volunteer wardens was second to none, and the site is well run and well maintained. The location is very peaceful and the scenery is stunning. There are plenty of walking/hiking opportunities to satisfy all abilities - just buy an OS map of the area, and go for it. The town of Brecon is worth a visit, and so is a walk along the canal. There are buses into Brecon from the end of the lane joining the A40, but the timetable is somewhat flexible at the moment because of the many roadworks on that road. . . . . . We will be back.

Geoffn1

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 26/05/2022 16:21

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site in lovely location

We've just returned from 10 days at this site. Its extremely efficiently run site and kept in immaculate condition. It is run by volunteers and is a great credit to them. We met several of the volunteers who are all so helpful and cheerful - nothing is too much trouble and you can tell they have an enormous pride in the site. The location is ideal in wonderful walking country. We did several mountain walks, plus gentler days enjoying flat walking along the canal and around Llangorse lake. Also enjoyed a lovely lazy day with a canal cruise which we thoroughly recommend. We love the town of Brecon itself and revelled in exploring it and discovering all its really interesting history and beautiful buildings. We also loved the modern vibe of the town with its many shops, cafes and pubs. The Brecon Tap especially is a great find - terrific beer and great staff. We will definitely be back to Aberbran

ScreenName3731AF1DF4

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 10:29

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice quiet site

I would like to take this opportunity of thanking the site wardens Mark and Jane for all the help they provided to us following our stay during 9th to 12th September. My wife broke her wrist badly while out walking on the Saturday, and when we got back to site following a long afternoon spent at Carmarthen Hospital, both Jane and Mark were very attentive to our problems, and especially Jane who is a retired nurse helped my wife until we were able to leave on the Sunday morning. A Huge thank you goes out to them, and they are a credit to the Caravan and Motorhome Club. A lovely quiet site too!

plumptonzep

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 10:00

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A lovely long weekend stay

This was our second visit to Aberbran and would love to stay again. The location puts you in an ideal place for the Brecon Beacons and the town itself. It is also located close to the Llangorse lakes which is a must visit and great if you have Kayaks. Also if you rather a walk that is more on the flat then head for the Brecon Basin and take a walk or you can hire a boat along the cannel. The pitch had plenty of room, was flat and as with most CAMC sites you are able to choose any vacant pitch. The site is very quiet and has a little dog walk on site, but if you have dogs you have plenty of locations to take them on a longer walk. There is a great walk just down the road past the Aberbran Mill house that allows you to then walk over the river Bran and then along the river Usk. There are no toilets or washing facilities so you have to be self contained, for us this was fine as we have been in that mode over the last year with Covid. The only ask I would have for this site is that there are plenty of hand sanitisation stations, but on this visit none of them had any sanitiser and as there are no washing facilities there is a greater requirement for this. This could be a supply thing as on our first visit this was not an issue. In short, a great little site which is very quiet, friendly and is in an ideal location. At night, the sky is full of stars due to the low light pollution and is well worth a look up on the clear nights.

Lloydda

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/09/2021 09:26

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site and very quiet

As other reviewers I can confirm this is a very quiet and peaceful site. Lovely setting and a very warm welcome. Having onboard facilities meant it didn't matter that site has no loos/showers -though surprised that no waste water disposal for motorhomes. A little further out of Brecon than we thought -5 miles, cycled in and hilly (you are warned!). The cafe inside the church in Brecon centre is worth a visit. Nice area and I expect good for walking. Ideal spot if you want a few days without going anywhere for a really relaxing stay! We had the bonus of seeing red kites so good for twitchers too.

stecity

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/06/2021 16:13

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Great Break

Just had a long weekend at this lovely site. Graham and Barbara were charming wardens and a credit to the Club. The site is immaculate and it’s attraction for us was the lack of facilities which keeps things simple. Plenty of walks from the site. Brecon close by as is the other major walking destinations in the area. Will definitely return.

JohnnyJJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/05/2021 08:06

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

GOOD VALUE

A good site for peace and quiet and walking from the site. A pleasant 1 hr 40 min walk into Brecon along paths and minor back roads; no doubt quicker by bike. Longer walks south across the A40 towards the Brecon Mountain Centre. The hardstanding pitches were used predominantly by motorhomes. Ours was at the far end of the site which had some views of the surrounding countryside but poor TV reception even with the on-site booster. A good Morrisons supermarket in Brecon with motorhome parking – 1£ refunded at the till. An hourly bus service on the A40 into Brecon but didn't use it.

Caraman123

Motorhomer from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 20/04/2021 08:25

46 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Escape to nature!

This was our first long weekend trip away after the Welsh lockdown was lifted and was just what the Doctor ordered! If you want a tranquil and peaceful stay then Aberbran is the place for you. The only thing that will wake you up is the gentle bird song in the morning and it was so good to get back to nature again after months of lockdown in the city. The volunteer wardens (both resident and trainee) are so fabulously friendly and helpful, a real credit to the CMC! There is a small dog walk on site however there are plenty of lovely 1-2 hour dog walks straight from the site either on quiet country roads or across farm land (just make sure your dogs are kept on leads). Everything is kept pristine clean by the wardens who work tirelessly and the site itself is spotless. The site is fairly linear and some pitches are smaller than others and face side on, so book a pitch with awning if you need the extra space. There is slightly limited TV reception however full 4G and mobile phone signal. A perfect escape to the countryside and to enjoy nature at its best (don't forget to bring your bird feeder!)

Lillsy

Motorhomer from Gwent

Reviewed on 11/04/2021 19:00

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful and very attractive site with a unique charm

We stayed here in July and the site was still very quiet and peaceful but also very near Brecon and all the beautiful scenery. On arrival we were met by a very friendly warden who gave us plenty of local information, which was very useful. The site has a unique charm with the old railway features, including four pitches on the old platform! It is a very pretty site, beautifully maintained. We don't use club site washing and toilet facilities so it wasn't an issue for us, and we were able to visit the nearby Brecon club site to do a little laundry which was very useful. A lovely, peaceful site in a great location, we will visit again.

Bryonyp

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/07/2019 09:09

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Small, peaceful site were you will just want to switch off and relax

We only stayed two nights at this lovely site but we will definitely be back as it's only a couple of hours from home. The volunteer wardens do a sterling job of maintaining this site including the vast amount of information available in both the office and the information shed. They were really helpful in answering the question we had about cycling and walking in the are. The site is so peacefuk and pretty and I think because it's small and you don't have the usual facilities, it made it even more relaxing and peaceful. You'll love it I'm sure. It's a little gem and I hope it remains that way. Lots to see and do in and around Brecon and it's surrounding area. A bonus is the river and canal and we now know that there is a cycle route from Brecon along the canal for some miles.

Daisy Duke

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/07/2019 14:43

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer