Alderstead Heath Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site, But.....

We use Alderstead Heath to visit family in Surrey. It is a lovely site and the Wardens are very hard working especially in " Covid times". If you like walking, there are miles of walks straight from your pitch. At the moment families are not allowed to meet on site but hope this will change soon. The week we stayed recently the site did not have many staying in caravans and motor homes, strange when it's the middle of summer. There is a "downside" to this lovely site. We felt that we were staying on a Traveller site, vans in and out all the time, going the wrong way along the one way system driving too fast. At the time we were staying there were about ten pitches taken up by theses folk. Really hope this site does'nt get spoiled.

Marydavie

Reviewed on 02/07/2021 15:46

32 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very pleasant site

I was surprised to find that we were given a disabled pitch, something we neither needed nor requested. I do use disabled facilities when possible, but we didn't need the pitch and seriously hoped we were not inconveniencing anybody else. That said, the main problem is how to access the site, and how to get to the M23 afterwards! We managed, but it was not ideal.

Mrs Redboots

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/06/2021 18:59

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

NOT A RELAXING VENUE

If you wish to enjoy a relaxing, stress free stay with the club, try elsewhere.

SEPTIKANGEL

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/06/2021 15:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

An excellent site

Just returned from a short stay at this site which lived up to all our expectations. Good, large pitches with plenty of space between. Pleasantly wooded. Good off-site dig walks nearby. Friendly, welcoming site staff. Will be visiting again!

matching731

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 23/06/2021 12:31

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site, lovely wardens BUT

Beautiful site with spacious pitches and lovely walks in the surrounding area as well as from the site. Wardens very pleasant but sadly seem to turn a bit of a blind eye to the traveller problem. A noisy party until 5am one night with occasional blaring music and car horn being set off intermittently.Young children ( only 1-2 years of age) wandering the site on their own and in the playground occasionally accompanied by a sister aged about 7 and swearing and shouting between the adults at times. Were they to have an accident health and safety would certainly come into question with the possibility of the site being closed. Informed wardens who realise the problems but say they can’t discriminate as these people are members. Campers who do follow the rules are discriminated against. We are paying for a peaceful site with a good nights sleep, parking as per the rules, not constantly worrying about other people’s young children etc etc. Come on caravan club maybe it is time to consider tighter security and fairness for all.

Response from the Club

Many thanks for your review, 

As an inclusive organisation, and bearing in mind the law on these matters, the Club does not discriminate against any particular individuals or groups and membership is open to all. With the size of membership that we enjoy, which helps fund the facilities everyone benefits from diversity across our membership is inevitable.

Site Staff will handle any unwelcome behaviour at the earliest possible stage and will monitor reports of unfair behaviour brought to their attention by other members and guests. As you will appreciate, with some issues it will be hard to determine who exactly is at fault and they have to be careful not to misjudge any given situation and intervene unless clearly warranted.

vangirl

Reviewed on 15/06/2021 15:31

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Attractive Site

The site is well laid out with spacious pitches. It was busy when we were there but only to be expected as it was half term week. The numerous children were clearly enjoying themselves on the two play areas and riding around at great speed! The facilities were spotless and the friendly wardens did a great job. We were disappointed that there were no supplies at all e.g milk, bread in reception as the nearest shop was some distance away. We visited Chartwell and had a brilliant day - the best National Trust property we have been to. We would stay on this site again if we are in the area.

oldfields

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/06/2021 18:01

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site with a couple of issues

We stayed here for 6 nights. Do not follow the sat nav, follow the instructions on the web site and you’ll be fine. Large site, we managed to find a nice quiet spot, but it was half term and it was busy with families. One night there was an issue of music all night and my husband went to the block early the next morning to find vomit in the sinks. Someone clearly had a good night! That being said, there were no more issues with noise and the block was cleaned well. The staff work tirelessly to keep everything clean, bins are always emptied. They do a brilliant job. We passed a large convoy of travellers leaving the site as we arrived and there were still a number on site when we were there. They were very pleasant, but they do let their dogs bark continually and the children were unoccupied at times in the shower blocks and water filling points, playing about and causing a bit of a nuisance. I get the impression that the wardens don’t feel comfortable managing the antisocial behaviour from these groups. Whilst it’s only right that the club is non discriminatory, I would like to see club rules enforced for all. Lovely walks in the area. Particularly Banstead Woods and Farthing Downs. Would return again.

vbray09

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/06/2021 14:43

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful & Relaxing Site

Great site with good facilities. Staff friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Large site but is nicely spaced out. You don't feel squeezed in like some sites when they are busy. Lots of local paths for dog walkers and families alike. A short walk through fields and woods opposite the site take you to the local shop that stocks a wide range of items. It's like the TARDIS once you are inside. Some local take aways deliver to the site one we would recommend is Sharpe's Fish and chips. Should you want to shop at bigger stores a short cab ride for around £7 each way will take you to Caterham. Definitely worth visiting again.

Breezy67

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/06/2021 21:50

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great physical environment

The site is very nice with big well spaced pitches. The location is great for Motorhome because of the easy access to walks straight from the site. The website says walking route maps are available from reception. Sadly this is not the case and the staff have never heard of the downlands circular walk which is the main route. From a guest perspective some thought should be given to recycling, the only way to tell what to recycle where is to go through all the bins - of which there are many small ones. There does not appear to be glass recycling at all. I went to reception to ask where the non recyclable waste went and was told it was the small domestic bin outside the reception door. I confirmed this was indeed the only one and was told yes. Sadly once again it was not labelled. The booking in instructions failed to inform that you have to come back for a barrier access card when you have parked up or that parking to the left of the site peg is required. They are however happy to drive round on a tractor and tell people to move after the event.

bwlab

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/04/2021 20:06

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another excellent stay

Stayed for 5 nights at the beginning of dec to visit family. The site is lovely spacious pitches, facilities are immaculate and band system in place. Top block open. Lovely walks from the site , downland. Way circular. Great location for lots of national trust places and trains from merstham to London. Look forward to staying again. Don't follow your sat nav as Dean lane is not suitable for caravans

sainsworth

Reviewed on 15/12/2020 13:14

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer