Black Horse Farm Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Glad to hear its going to be getting a refurb, but very handy location.

Stayed here for a few nights before going to France. Friendly warden to check us in, although never saw them around the site, but was given handy info on walks/ nearby pubs and direction to the Tunnel from the site. We had a large hardstanding pitch which was a good size but was definitely looking tired, as I thought the whole site was, so was glad to hear that they will be closed at some point to be redeveloped. I hope when they redo it that they incorporate all the good things about Brighton club site especially the pitch sizes. There is a good length dog walk to a nearby wood, unfortunately we were there in fowl weather so the walk across the fields was extremely muddy which then stuck to you boots like clay, but I'm sure it would be nice in better whether. We also heard mixed reviews about the nearby pub across the road and we didnt get chance to try it but walking past it we thought it looked nice from the outside so would probably chance it should we be there again. I look forward to staying there once its been updated.

Clpr1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/02/2024 15:11

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Outstanding

Our last site in France was completely flooded meaning we had to catch the tunnel earlier than anticipated. I phoned the site and they were able to change my booking for the following day to that night. Such a lovely change to deal with people that are understanding and helpful. Well done and we will definitely be recommending you to all our friends.

Embarrased

Reviewed on 15/01/2024 15:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Handy for late arrivals and early leavers.

We were headed across to Belgium for the Christmas markets and needed a stopover. The easy checkin with the barrier code and allocated pitch is a great idea. We were surprised the ferry pitch area was closed and that we were on the regular pitches, albeit close to the exit. The facilities in that area seem better than the ferry pitch facilities.

ScreenNameB88DC16903

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/12/2023 16:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

White Cliffs of Dover and a channel crossing

Great little spot to explore Dover from and also to stay the night previous to catching the ⛴️ to Calais. Clean amenities and Tony at reception is very friendly and helpful

ClubMember62B87FC681

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/11/2023 18:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

More than just a Ferry Site

Now I have stayed here plenty of time before,but on a ferry pitch,so this was my first time in the inner part of the site.Pitches are large,and had been raked before hand.I visited in lovely September sunshine,but this inner section was fairly well wooded,giving plenty of shade,if fact too much,the ferry pitches do get full sun. Visits included the Hawkinge Battle of Britain museum,where I spent over 4 hours in there,Folkestone Harbour with its redeveloped Station is worth’s visit. So many pubs and bars were caught out with the lovely weather. I did a walk to the lovely village of Elham, this is how Kent used to be,with old traditional village pubs,and picturesque views over the Elham Valley Canterbury is not too far for a day visit.All in all,this site has more to offer than just ferry pitches.

Fozzie

from Kent

Reviewed on 22/10/2023 00:32

50 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Good for Channel crossings

Stayed just one night on way to France, as it is only 15 minutes from Channel Tunnel. This proximity is the selling point, although agree that those leaving early should be put on the ferry pitches if possible. We were allocated to the next closest pitches as only staying one night, but didnt need to wake up as early as our neighbours who left at 5am! Facilities are dated but clean and perfectly acceptable. Dog poo in the dog walking area - why dont other owners pick up?? Very helpful warden on arrival explained everything we needed to know, and there is a code check-in and envelope with all instructions if you arrive late.

ScreenName64CDD91B64

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/09/2023 15:57

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

welcoming

My wife and i stay regularly at this site, it suits us location wise and is kept to as good a standard as it can be by the wardens as like most sites everything is not new. I believe it is the wardens (all) that make the site what it is as they know how to be welcoming, fair, helpful, polite, easy to ask and good at their job, it is a site where you can easily get settled and relax.

Brian Hume

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/09/2023 14:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Needs updating

Ideal for stop over as close to Folkestone and Dover.Nice pitches surrounded by rabbits which was lovely to see. But site is dated, in the toilet block the tap swivelled around, the toilet seat was not on properly so moved.The motorhome service point water tap leaked so as you filled up lots was coming out which should be fixed as is costing the club money and wasting water. We were on a standard pitch but found those on an early ferry were not put on the ferry pitches which were not full but around us. So from 5 am we were woken by people leaving early which is annoying.

Heather2020

Motorhomer from Devon

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 14:44

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site with the most helpful staff

First stay on this site. Chosen for its proximity to Canterbury and Whitstable. Not happy with first pitch 59 a little dark and no satellite signal due to trees. Staff very accomodating and we were moved to pitch 108 next morning. Excellent pitch then. Large site but not busy busy so very enjoyable stay. Little shop opposite the gates was ideal for afternoon ice creams . And a post office within to post our holiday postcards. A great site. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again . Caution though. Because we moved pitch ,the club not the staff ,decided to recharge us at 'todays prices' instead of what we originally paid when we booked in June . Added £40 to our stay. Currently being sorted and better be refunded . We moved from a hard standing to grass which is £1 cheaper for a start but we wasn't concerned about that. Staff have offered to help if we get nko satisfaction from the club . But a great 6 nights here

ScreenNameC59E6CDA77

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/08/2023 14:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

NOTE: Fully serviced pitches

Lovely site in a great location with good facilities and great staff, let down by the sub-standard fully serviced pitches. If you don’t want fully serviced pitches it’s a fabulous site. We booked a fully serviced pitch expecting what we have received at multiple other sites, lesson learnt - don’t assume fully serviced pitches are all to the same standard. On siting our caravan between the two posts, as directed, it became glaringly obvious our regularly used long length water hose was not going to reach the tap - this was a first. There were two taps together sited close to the next pitch, the caravan on the next pitch was attached to one leaving the other for us - no way could our hose reach that far, not even going under the caravan! The only electric connections available were directly behind the caravan on the next pitch. Bizarrely the waste water drain was directly behind the pitch. We surmised the set up was a poor attempt to make two pitches into fully serviced pitches. The only way we could set up was to turn the caravan 180 degrees (thank goodness for the motor mover) so it was facing front in on the pitch, not ideal but the only way our water hose (used on all other sites) was going to get connected. Thankfully the site staff were happy for us to be facing the wrong way. We like to use the shower in the caravan, having a water hook-up us ideal for this purpose. As the pitch was next to a service point we opened the door onto it, albeit behind a small hedge, instead of away from it. We were thankful there wasn’t too much noise from bottles, cans, rubbish etc getting put into bins. On the plus side we met a lot of people as it was very well used. Lovely site but if you’re booking a fully serviced pitch ask questions and when you get to the pitch take a long look for your water and electric connections before you site your van, it may save you time. Would we go back? Maybe, but we’d definitely ask questions about the available pitches first and consider using two connecting water barrels instead of paying for fully serviced.

AnotherJandJ

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2023 01:43

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer