Black Horse Farm Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A well placed site

We have stayed at Black Horse Farm several times and will continue stopping there as it's a well placed site for the ferry as well as Canterbury, Folkestone and may other interesting places. There is a small shop opposite, a great bus service from the gate, a supermarket down the road at Hawkinge (Lidl) and several decent pubs, including the Jackdaw Inn at Denton, used in the 1969 Battle of Britain film. Samphire Hoe is also worth a visit (you can get a motorhome through the access tunnel) and there is some good coastal walks along the cliffs. We find the staff at Black Horse are always helpful and cheerful, even when the site is buzzing.

Silvervoyager

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/11/2021 15:22

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

This site is one of our favourites. It’s facilities are always spotlessly clean all down to the lovely lady who I think is called Margaret & she is a volunteer. Always has smile 😃 & loves a good chat. The wardens are lovely. The site is well maintained due the very hard work of the wardens. I’ve noticed on previous reviews that people have commented on garden maintenance being done during their stay. Come on campers this is a ‘All year site’ & with people arriving from 12 o’clock they have to do it sometime!! There are some great pitches & the meadow area is my favourite. The shop opposite the site has lots to offer & the bus stop to Folkestone one way & Canterbury the other few feet from site runs roughly every 20 mins . It has ferry pitches for overnight stops . In my years of camping & holidays here in the uk & abroad I take negative reviews with a pinch of salt , some folk just love to moan. Happy camping 😃

Crazy kid

Reviewed on 10/11/2021 07:35

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

good site

great site , we stayed here and a naturist club up the road , also handy for a couple of good beaches

ScreenName925CA6FD85

Reviewed on 03/10/2021 19:21

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed with this site

We stayed here for our main summer holiday from end of August until 12th September, 14 nights in total. The site location is absolutely great and very easy to find and get to from the motorways. Folkestone is just down the road with buses running like clock work directly outside the site entrance. The female warden who checked us in wasn't very welcoming or friendly. I met her a few times afterwards, greeted her to be polite but she never responded back. My main niggle is the lower toilet block is still out of action. Reading some of the other reviews it seems like they have been out of action a long time. The club needs to get a move on and get them sorted. The only toilet that works is the disabled one in the lower block. I asked to be near a toilet block due to my mobility issues. I was placed down near the lower disabled block, so were all the other disabled people. We had 5/6 other caravaners using the one toilet and it got dirty rather quickly. The water kept going cold half way through a shower in the lower disabled toilet block. I reported it to a another female warden but she didn't seem bothered about it, she gave me a sob story about the boiler.filling with cold water. She then told me you can always walk up to the top block and use that one if the water goes cold down here. I was shocked by her response. The pitches were mostly covered in weed, the gravel off the pitches are all over the roads they never got brushed back on the pitch. The site is in desperate need of a revamp. This is our 4th year caravaning and luckily we have had the pleasure of visiting quite a lot of club sites. Most of the sites we have been to are well kept and beautiful but sadly black horse farm site isn't one of them beautiful well kept sites. Sorry to be so negative but this is my opinion of the black horse farm site.

Bokshi

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2021 19:27

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Very convenient for channel crossings but avoid pitches by the main road

Stayed for one night prior to taking the Eurotunnel in the morning. Site is the perfect location for that purpose, and everything was clean and tidy. Arrived a little later than expected due to M25 traffic, but received a call beforehand so cant fault the helpful, friendly wardens. We were on pitch 11 which is right next to Canterbury Road (literally the other side of the hedge), and be prepared if you are in that area - as it is noisy. The traffic calmed down towards midnight, but was noisy again from the early hours with trucks and heavy traffic. Very disturbed nights sleep, but otherwise good. Probably much better at the other end of the site.

PaulF1968

Motorhomer from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 07/09/2021 13:26

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Recent visit

I use this site frequently for family visits. Last visited over the August Bank Holiday and was disappointed to hear at 8.55 hedge cutting in the ferry pitch area. I don't think that this particular hedge needed cutting down at that particular time. I appreciate that the wardens have to maintain standards and they are always so friendly and helpful. Please remember that this is our holiday and to have the bank holiday monday disturbed so early was incredulous. This noise became a discussion point with other campers who were disturbed. I know some people believe that my observations maybe over the top but we are asked to keep noise levels at a satisfactory level and to respect other campers, please can the wardens do the same.

anthonywilsher

Reviewed on 04/09/2021 19:15

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location

Great location easy access to bus route going to Canterbury and Hythe. The staff were friendly and helpful. The toilets and showers desperately need an update they were cleaned regularly and the water was hot so no real complaint. The pitches are well spaced and have plenty of room. We hope to return soon.

ScreenNameC9EA42C0F9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/09/2021 17:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location

Great location but on a main road. Facilities are a bit dated compared to other sites but plenty of space

ScreenName7A1303748C

Campervanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 19:32

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

5 night stay

Great site, pitches well spaced, good facilities and well placed for reaching many POI's. Although lower toilet block was closed this was no problem for us. Everyone seemed to be enjoying the site.

Glynn Phil

Caravanner from West Sussex

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 21:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A lovely little site, booked late but didn't disappoint!

Booked this site a bit last minute, but was not disappointed. Plenty of pitches to choose from, went for a grass pitch and even during long spells of torrential rain it drained well and our son's pup tent stayed flood free! A nice little wooded dog walk which is secure to let dogs off lead. Yes, the toilet blocks do need updating but the shower water was absolutely piping hot, so I am definately not complaining! There is a small amount of road noise, but this was not a problem for us and the passing spitfires made up for it! The wardens were welcoming and friendly and maintained the site beautifully - well done and thank you! If you want an easy and delicous meal, visit the catering van on site on a Thursday evening. We have been disappointed by these vans on previous sites but this one was by far the best we have ever come across. Lots of choice, even for non meat eaters, and generous portions at very reasonable prices. The two guys running the van were so friendly and professional. I only wish they travelled as far as my home town!! Would definately recommend a visit to Dover Castle and The Battle of Britain Memorial - do not get mixed up with the Battle of Britain Museum, two very different places!

Rory2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2021 20:33

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer