Bridport Bingham Grange Club Site

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Exceeded my Expectations

We have just returned from a week at this site and I have to say we were very pleasantly surprised. I agree that certain facilities aren’t it up to usual club standard, but in some ways, it is good to visit a site that isn’t the usual flat and sterile club layout. The layout and semi derelict arm buildings reminded us of some French campsites we have visited. The wardens were very friendly and welcoming and although we were allocated a particular pitch, we were told that two others were available. The facilities were a bit strange, they were kept immaculate by the tireless efforts of the wardens. Due to the fuel crisis we were forced to stay local, but we still found plenty of walks and very local beaches which be accessed from this site. I just hope that when the club gets around to refurbishing this site, they do it tastefully. Although the basic facilities such as electric supply, toilets, showers and pitch spacing need to be addressed, but can this be done without destroying this sites unique charm.

rkp13

Reviewed on 02/10/2021 13:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Marvellous

First thing, don't read the reviews, or if you do take them with a pinch of salt. The elephant in the room is of course that the shower block is old and needs replacing, but the showers are hot, and are immaculate. Moving on. The site is in a beautiful location, and is perfect for both Bridport, and the Jurassic coast. It is easily accessed from the main road, and far enough away so as not to be disturbed by traffic noise. The staff are friendly, welcoming, and hard working, but always have time. The dog walk is fantastic. Pitches are allocated based on size of your outfit, so you get an appropriate one, which is only common sense, isn't it! If use are thinking of using the clubs WIFI, don't it is seriously rubbish at the best of times, here even worse. Now you just need to go there!

LeFox

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 30/09/2021 20:12

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Pleasant site in rural location

The best part about this site is definitely its location, as it is well away from any roads, and therefore traffic noise is non-existent. The worst part is that the EHU is a feeble 10 Amps, meaning that you need to be very careful running appliances to avoid tripping the circuitry. Indeed the pitch to which I was allocated had a tripped circuit and it took me a while to figure that out and reset it. Another issue is that the pitches themselves are quite small, so if you have an awning you have to park your car sideways in front of your caravan, which means you have a view of several parked cars close up from your front window. If I'd thought about it and read the instructions more carefully, I could have positioned my caravan the "wrong" way round, which would have given me a far better view towards the west and the setting sun. The proximity of the pitches and the narrowness of the connecting tracks also made it quite difficult to manoeuvre the caravan, especially when leaving. Fortunately, hte neighbouring pitch was unoccupied when I left so I was able to use the extra space to line up my caravan for the final exit. Others with bigger vans had to use their movers to do that. Despite these issues I did like the site a lot. The location and tranquillity more than made up for the negative points. If you like walking and cycling this is a great area. Bridport and the coast are very close and have a lot to offer. I'd also recommend a visit to nearby Symondsbury Estate with its famous Colmer's Hill. I understand that the site is going to be refurbished next year, so I expect that it will be even better after that has been done. 16 Amp EHU please!

Alanicus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/09/2021 07:00

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

No mixed showers please!

This was disappointing in some respects. We were allocated our pitch, but we prefer to choose our own. We were on a gravel pitch, which we were concerned about the motorhome getting stuck when we left. The lady on reception was very friendly and welcoming, but the biggest problem with this site is the toilets. There were only 2 female showers, and a similar number of female toilets. There were mixed toilets and showers, but this is not somethingI would be interested in using. In addition, one of the mixed toilet/showers was out of order, leaving 2 at the back of the building, which I would not use. Please note CC, that I don’t believe that this is the way forward for most people, who like privacy when using toilets and showers. In addition, the showers and toilets are not close to the pitches. We had a beautiful walk through the countryside, but the final part was along a very busy road, with no paths. The waste point was also difficult due to its position, as we had to use an additional hose to use it. Apart from the above points, it is a nice site.

ScreenNameDECA527924

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 16:57

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Pitch allocation

Was allocated a grass pitch where the grass was longer than that in the dog walk and when I enquired was told they could cut the grass but had to leave it long to avoid stones damaging units. I arrived on the pitch two hours after the latest departure time and every pitch around me was empty so why had the grass not been cut prior to arrival like every other site. This was particularly annoying as the pitch was allocated to us and we were given no choice of the many available pitches.

brian and caroline

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 15:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Bridport Bingham Grange Club Site 2021

We found this site to be excellent, the wardens were both friendly and helpful. The facilites were clean and well mainintained. However, we found that there were a few Do's and Dont's which anyone thinking about going to this site need to keep in thire mind. Arriving: If you are coming from the M5 to the site DO NOT put the camp postcode in your Sat Nav whilst still on the motorway, if you do you will be taken through some quaint villages with twisty, hilly narrow roads which is a bit like a ski slalom trying to avoid residents parked cars. I was later told that the best way to get to the site is come off the motorway and head for Axminster, get on the A35 AND THEN put the postcode in. Trips out: DO visit Lyme Regis, this town is not designed for traffic so do nt even think about trying to take your car into the town, there are few car parks in the town and they fill up from about 9 am. However, some one has had a bright idea and (in 2021) they have set up a Park and Ride scheme, DO try this and marvel how thry get a double decker bus round such tgight corners, the bus misses some houses on corners by a matter of inches, not for nervous drivers. Motorhome owners beware Exeter is a good day out but again suitable car parks are few and far between. On Site: DO try the Fish and Chips, cooked to order and delicious, be warned the portions are generous I bought two large fish and chips and we had literally to cut the fish in two to get them on the plate and we had enough chips left over to reheat the next evening and make generous chip butties for two. Overall: I am sorry but I could only give the site 5 star rating it deserves more. Before you go check on the postcodes of major supermarkets and only one or two have fuel stations so it is best to check. Would we go again YES !

MalcolmN

Reviewed on 21/09/2021 08:17

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Friendly Site less than 10 minute drive from town and beach

What a lovely site this is in Dorset. Easy quick drive to town & beach and local walks near the site. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. I would also like to point out how professional they are too. At one point the site power needed to be switched off for just a few minutes. One of the members of the site team walked the whole site advising those who were relaxing by their caravan/Moho that this was about to occur. Amazing service. The site was lovely and clean and yes I have seen the reviews about the facilities and I disagree with some of them as they were more than adequate, yes a little tired but spotlessly clean and great hot powerful showers. I would like to thank the whole team for keeping everything ship shape and Bristol fashion. And for the solute from the team me as we exited the site. Please try to retain this sites character after the refurb which is coming. I loved it and would recommend you book and stay and make your own mind up. That’s what I did and I don’t regret it.

DorothyS

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2021 17:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A very charming site

We needed a somewhere convenient for visting relatives in tbe area and so not bothered by some of the poor reviews. We were very pleasantly surprised by this charming and atrractive site. Yes it is a little cramped in places but the abundance of beautiful mature trees and hedges makes up for this and lends privacy. The facilities are fine and more than adequate and I felt a little sorry for the warden feeling she had to apologise for the site being "quirky".In my book quirky is good, it would be boring if every site was exactly the same as every other. I agree with other reviewers - don't overdo any upgrade. This site doesnt need more amenities- it's already got them, the beautiful Dorset countrysde and lovely riverside walks. Perfect.

vac

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 10:48

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful area

Was almost out off by some other reviews but found the site to be really lovely. Wardens very friendly, informative and chatty. Allocated a pitch which for us was very good. Although we didn’t have a dog, walked through dog walk to river, and across footpaths. Yes the showers and loos need a bit of an update but served their purpose. I have never had a problem with wardens on any site and sometimes wonder if the problem lies with the users of the sites.Again my main gripe is the speed some vehicles seem to need to travel at..what is the hurry? And people who don’t clean up after washing up etc, or picking up their dog poo. The wardens do a great job, lets help them out by being considerate of others. Good luck with the refurb.

DavidandJanet

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/09/2021 16:24

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful Location

Arrived at this site for a 3 night stay, wardens were very pleasant and informative, our pitch was lovely and was really peaceful, the mobile takeaway’s that come on site is a nice touch. Was told the site is due for a major refurbishment, would like to see more shower, and toilet facilities, more waste water and chemical toilet emptying around site. We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back again.

jaydee216

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/09/2021 10:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer