Bridport Bingham Grange Club Campsite

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful & tranquil site in a super location.

Just come back from an amazing weekend at this site, having never stayed there before, but having read all the reviews. Staff are all very friendly and helpful, including Debbie and her colleagues, they even took time to have a chat with us about how to begin the application process to become Assistant Site Managers, as my wife and I are interested! The site is in a peaceful tranquil location and everything is kept clean and well maintained. We took our dog and the walks on site and outside were amazing. Wee will definitely be staying there again!

ScreenName664BD7DC49

Campervanner

Reviewed on 22/05/2022 20:22

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely setting and well-maintained site

Our first visit to this site and we had a superb time. I was a little concerned having read some of the previous reviews regarding the facilities, but actually I found them more than adequate and spotlessly clean - even the uni-sex private bathrooms I found quirky - but must admit numbers of facilities were limited and there were queues at busy times when the site was only around half full. The layout of the site, with hedges, trees and spacious plots around old farm buildings and rambling walks is lovely and very well-maintained by the hard-working wardens. The dog walk from the site was wonderful, one of the best I've encountered, and the location for the Jurassic coast and days out was perfect for us. Yes, I would return should we tour this area again, but with the limited number of showers may choose to avoid in peak season.

GillyH2022

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/05/2022 15:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Charming Site

Have just returned from 8 nights in a touring van at this charming site. Booked a service pitch and a result there was only one suitable pitch for our needs on our arrival (Basecamp with rear RVA1 awning total approx 8.1 m.) . Pitches tend to be on the narrow side necessitating parking the car across the front of the pitch. In general there is good landscaping between pitches (grass and hedging) giving the site a mature natural effect rather than a series of gravel pitches. Considering the amount of grass, hedges and trees on site plus one of the best on site dog walks we have encountered, we found it incredible how well kept it was and can’t remember hearing the mower or hedge trimmer during our stay. There are plenty of dog poo bins which were regularly emptied but sad to say, you still get a few inconsiderate lazy slobs not picking it up! A lot has been written about the toilet/bathroom facilities and them being outdated which is probably the reason for the site getting 4 ticks rather than the usual 5. It has to be said that they are not to the normal modern club standard but we found them to be warm, functional and very clean thanks obviously to the site team. We would estimate that the site was half full including a fair number of unattended residential pitches. Not sure whether the facilities are adequate if the site is full? There are footpaths from the site to three pubs with some stiles to negotiate and some fields with cows and sheep. There is absolutely no way that you can safely walk along the main road outside the site. We used the site as a base to tour out in our car to the coast so was fine for us. In summary, we found this to be a peaceful charming site with easy vehicle access to Bridport, West Bay and the wider Jurassic coast. It has an outstanding dog walk with plenty of rabbits for entertainment! Probably would not use the site during high season.

Chequerdog

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/05/2022 14:40

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely stay - just wish we had found the site sooner

My sister and I stayed for the Easter long weekend. The site was lovely and quirky, the facilities were fine, they were clean and well maintained. The pitches are great because you get your own space, bordered by a small hedge. Despite it being Easter there were not many children around which adds to the peace and quiet. The wardens were really friendly and more than happy to help. There is good walks available direct from site and Bridport and the coast is only a stone's throw away. We can understand the Club's desire to upgrade the facilities but it will mean some of the individuality of the site will be lost. Still onwards and upwards and we'll definitely come back.

Helen Bonds

Reviewed on 28/04/2022 11:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, no kids park, ideal for adult parties

Arrived at Bridport during Easter holidays, once checked in we were told which was our pitch and one of the wardens walked me to my pitch, this was a nice touch. There are 2 blocks for toilets and showers, the toilet block has 5 toilets and 2 showers, but by reception there are 5 individual shower cubicles with toilets, as a family we used these. I found them very clean and showers were powerful. Lovely dog walk in a circle around the park where dogs could run free and some slip ways down to the river where the dogs and kids could have a paddle, there are some wild onions growing which was a lovely scent. Or ideal for walks to town from the site, as it’s situated off a main A road where no paths are, to get to the local pub, you go through a gate from the dog walk and walk through some fields which have live stock, there are Sty’s to climb over so not good if you less able to climb. On one of the Saturday afternoons there was a quad or scramble bike racing around one of the fields which was not pleasant and a nuicence while trying to relax, this went on for hours (not the sites fault). About 10 minutes from west bay beach and a Morrisons shopping.

Nikkih72

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/04/2022 17:04

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Exceeded my Expectations

We have just returned from a week at this site and I have to say we were very pleasantly surprised. I agree that certain facilities aren’t it up to usual club standard, but in some ways, it is good to visit a site that isn’t the usual flat and sterile club layout. The layout and semi derelict arm buildings reminded us of some French campsites we have visited. The wardens were very friendly and welcoming and although we were allocated a particular pitch, we were told that two others were available. The facilities were a bit strange, they were kept immaculate by the tireless efforts of the wardens. Due to the fuel crisis we were forced to stay local, but we still found plenty of walks and very local beaches which be accessed from this site. I just hope that when the club gets around to refurbishing this site, they do it tastefully. Although the basic facilities such as electric supply, toilets, showers and pitch spacing need to be addressed, but can this be done without destroying this sites unique charm.

rkp13

Reviewed on 02/10/2021 13:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Marvellous

First thing, don't read the reviews, or if you do take them with a pinch of salt. The elephant in the room is of course that the shower block is old and needs replacing, but the showers are hot, and are immaculate. Moving on. The site is in a beautiful location, and is perfect for both Bridport, and the Jurassic coast. It is easily accessed from the main road, and far enough away so as not to be disturbed by traffic noise. The staff are friendly, welcoming, and hard working, but always have time. The dog walk is fantastic. Pitches are allocated based on size of your outfit, so you get an appropriate one, which is only common sense, isn't it! If use are thinking of using the clubs WIFI, don't it is seriously rubbish at the best of times, here even worse. Now you just need to go there!

LeFox

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 30/09/2021 20:12

10 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Pleasant site in rural location

The best part about this site is definitely its location, as it is well away from any roads, and therefore traffic noise is non-existent. The worst part is that the EHU is a feeble 10 Amps, meaning that you need to be very careful running appliances to avoid tripping the circuitry. Indeed the pitch to which I was allocated had a tripped circuit and it took me a while to figure that out and reset it. Another issue is that the pitches themselves are quite small, so if you have an awning you have to park your car sideways in front of your caravan, which means you have a view of several parked cars close up from your front window. If I'd thought about it and read the instructions more carefully, I could have positioned my caravan the "wrong" way round, which would have given me a far better view towards the west and the setting sun. The proximity of the pitches and the narrowness of the connecting tracks also made it quite difficult to manoeuvre the caravan, especially when leaving. Fortunately, hte neighbouring pitch was unoccupied when I left so I was able to use the extra space to line up my caravan for the final exit. Others with bigger vans had to use their movers to do that. Despite these issues I did like the site a lot. The location and tranquillity more than made up for the negative points. If you like walking and cycling this is a great area. Bridport and the coast are very close and have a lot to offer. I'd also recommend a visit to nearby Symondsbury Estate with its famous Colmer's Hill. I understand that the site is going to be refurbished next year, so I expect that it will be even better after that has been done. 16 Amp EHU please!

Alanicus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/09/2021 07:00

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

No mixed showers please!

This was disappointing in some respects. We were allocated our pitch, but we prefer to choose our own. We were on a gravel pitch, which we were concerned about the motorhome getting stuck when we left. The lady on reception was very friendly and welcoming, but the biggest problem with this site is the toilets. There were only 2 female showers, and a similar number of female toilets. There were mixed toilets and showers, but this is not somethingI would be interested in using. In addition, one of the mixed toilet/showers was out of order, leaving 2 at the back of the building, which I would not use. Please note CC, that I don’t believe that this is the way forward for most people, who like privacy when using toilets and showers. In addition, the showers and toilets are not close to the pitches. We had a beautiful walk through the countryside, but the final part was along a very busy road, with no paths. The waste point was also difficult due to its position, as we had to use an additional hose to use it. Apart from the above points, it is a nice site.

ScreenNameDECA527924

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 16:57

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Pitch allocation

Was allocated a grass pitch where the grass was longer than that in the dog walk and when I enquired was told they could cut the grass but had to leave it long to avoid stones damaging units. I arrived on the pitch two hours after the latest departure time and every pitch around me was empty so why had the grass not been cut prior to arrival like every other site. This was particularly annoying as the pitch was allocated to us and we were given no choice of the many available pitches.

brian and caroline

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 15:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer