Brora Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wee tended site

A larger club site without being crowded. Great access to the beach over the golf course, dogs loved it.

Nigel Houlston

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/11/2023 13:37

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Two night stay

Has a great stay. Site is well kept and the toilet block spotless. Well stocked information room. Beautiful beach and nice quiet location. Staff friendly and helpful. Certainly be back and appreciate the 1 pm arrival as the access bridge is tight for crossing to get to site.

harrier59

Reviewed on 03/10/2023 08:37

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful well kept site

Stayed 2 nights here and found it to be one of the best kept sites on the north coast 500. The warden was lovely and worked hard to keep the site well maintained. Everything well thought out and the flowers and gardens were a credit to her. Even pets had their own ball and stick library. Ideally situated near the beach just a short walk across the golf course to a beautiful beach. You can wild swim or surf. Walk to Brora which is about a 3 quarter of an hour walk. A restaurant serving meals and takeaways after 5.00pm. 2 cafes a large coop and a lovely walk along the river. There is also a bakery in the village. A highly enjoyable and relaxed stay.

Dawnie55

Reviewed on 29/09/2023 20:29

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

Only stopped for one night on a very windy evening. Site was lovely with a pleasant walk across the golf course to the beach. Facilities were a little older but very clean and perfectly acceptable. Site staff were very helpful and friendly. A good stopover for anyone doing the NC500.

JulPar

Campervanner

Reviewed on 20/09/2023 15:40

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

First time ever in over 10 years told to come back in 12 minutes

We arrived 12 minutes early across the recommended approach which was very tight, so much so that I would love to see some if the longer wider MHs negotiate the railway bridge (rather than a much more user friendly approach via level crossing). No one in front of us so settled in to wait until reception opened at 1.00pm. We were promptly told by the warden to turn around and go back to the town and park up before returning at 1.00pm. This is a round trip of 10 minutes! We did ask just to wait as no one in front or behind, but this was not acceptable, so we were *forced* to do a circuit, where we parked up in an abandoned campsite nearby. Three other arrivals arrived just minutes after us but were allowed to wait! If there is an access issue with queuing units, just let them onsite to find their pitch and return to reception? If we had all arrived at 1.00pm, the queue would have been more disruptive. Needs some serious rethinking of approach and waiting process methinks. I checked Google earth and the alternative access seemed to be a public highway with no restrictions.

batcol

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/09/2023 16:02

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Brora just got better!

We have been visiting Brora for 9-10 years and thought it couldn't get better! But it has. Turning into the site the small changes and touches are immediately evident. Flowers, stick library, fountain and without knowing we reckoned we knew who was behind it as we have stayed with these managers before. Andy and Sam's first year here and hopefully not the last. That aside, usual busy site I reckon around 90% full every nigh, though what appeared to be a daily 60% turnover also suggest that many are staying just the one night which is their loss. Sites are raked frequently helping keep them level and weed free. We prefer a pitch down the quiet avenue, backing onto the dog walk. In Brora there's two stores now for provisions, an Indian and a Chinese plus a couple of places for a drink or coffee. Not to mention awesome ice cream shop - not to be missed Best butchers is in nearby Golspie and best chippy is in Helmsdale, doing sit in and takeaway(only 10 miles from site) Great hardware store in Golspie. Scenery is everywhere, starting with the usually empty Brora beach - 4 miles of empty sand. Glen Loth is worth a visit if in a car! not MHome country. From here Durness, Wick and Thurso are all day trips for me! We'll be back.

Solobay

Caravanner from West Lothian

Reviewed on 06/09/2023 17:54

33 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Thanks in time of need.

Andy and Sam couldn't do enough to help us, and lift our spirits, when we booked in at very short notice because our campervan had developed a fault which meant we couldn't climb the hill not that far beyond the site. They cleared a pitch especially for us, cheerfully coped with extending our stay by one then two days when we couldn't get our recovery service provider to arrange for either recovery of the van or transport for us. They also let us store in their site office, because of the threat of rain, all of the van contents which we needed to take home, dug out some huge plastic bags (which in the end we didn't need) in case we hadn't enough weatherproof bags to pack everything, and even offered to make lunch on the final day if we hadn't been able to get away (we'd eaten, or given away, all foodstuffs by then). Nice walks along the beach helped us to chill out, which was much needed as the vehicle fault put an end to our planned 19 day road trip to and around Orkney on day 3!

PKOtley

Reviewed on 20/08/2023 20:01

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Expensive

2 days on a pitch with awning, ehu and Wi-Fi £67 Moved to 5 days pitch no awning and intermittent Wi-Fi to be charged £175(more per day) this included a £4 cancellation charge. I paid up front for the 5 days, why a cancellation charge? Could I have left and got my money back? Wasn’t explained if that’s the case.All in school holidays by the way. Site clean and well maintained, Walk to the beach across the golf course. Great for the nc500 I’m sure as a short Pitches are flat and a good size even if the one we moved to was small, it was all that was left for the time we wanted. Access is over a small bridge where we had to pull in the mirrors. All in all, good site, good location and good staff(owners) just expensive. If there was a CL nearby…..

Golf Nut

Reviewed on 15/08/2023 16:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Dog Heaven

Booked a weekend visit in our campervan, lovely small site located by the beach which you reach by an easy walk over the golf course. Pitches large and facilities spotless. Showers lovely and hot with no push on/off buttons. Wardens friendly and helpful, site tidy with nice natural areas for biodiversity. Very dog friendly Worth visiting Ousdale Broch, Badbea clearance village further north and stopping at The River Bothy Tearoom at Berridale for lunch or fabulous cakes. Will definitely be returning , thank you

ScreenNameDBC2E9742A

Campervanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2023 16:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great stop off on way round nc500

Great site, clean and tidy site. Nice walk over golf course to lovely sandy beach and ideal for a stop on way round round the nc500. Great for dogs and families

Paul Pring

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 20:04

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer