Bunree Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely setting

Visited site again and wasn't disappointed. Lovely location alongside the Loch. Nice quiet site, with walks close by and easy access to surrounding area. Pitched away from Loch shore as it was a bit windy during our visit. Main shopping area is Fort William, approx 20 mins away.

Craigjones

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/10/2023 07:45

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

You can't help the weather!!

Superb location as expected, just a shame about the weather. But we didn't let it spoil anything...Roam West is absolutely superb for food BUT you must book. Even on a Tuesday early evening, we saw 7 groups of people turned away + several phone calls which were "sorry". Please note that a/a end of September there is a temporary passenger service running on the Corran ferry, approx 1 mile walk down the road, all free (dogs aswell) , gives you a chance to get to Ardgour and the pub etc but do check what's happening on the day as it's a long diversion otherwise!!!

Twobirds

Motorhomer from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 01/10/2023 18:50

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site at the side of a lock

Beautifully positioned at the side of a lock. Ideal for pets. Seals spotted in the lock as it's a sea lock. The facilities were very clean and the wardens very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay here. Highly recommended

Dawnie55

Reviewed on 29/09/2023 20:57

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Worst Experience on Scottish Tour of Club and Private Sites

It's a beautiful location but run like an army camp with standing orders. On arrival at the beginning of August I gave the female warden my name, said I'd booked 2 nights, and the motorhome registration number was visible outside reception. She demanded my membership card. I explained I'd just joined before leaving home, so didn't have one. She then demanded to see it on my phone, saying 'You must have it on the app'. As my phone was back in the vehicle, I offered her my driving licence, bus pass, passport - and of course bank card - as ID but none of them would do, I must fetch the phone and show her the App before I was allowed in. I said that the other 2 Club sites I'd just stayed on didn't ask to see it, whereupon she said they were breaking the rules and should be reported. She then asked me why I hadn't read the rules in my membership book, so I reminded her that it hadn't arrived before I left home! At this point I would have turned round and left, except that there would be no refund of the absurd fee of £87.60, so I reluctantly fetched my phone to prove who I was. I felt that if my phone had run out of battery, I would not have been admitted! When I asked why the Club price was so high compared with private sites, I was given a patronising lecture on the superiority of Club site facilities, as if I were a new camper. My husband and I have a combined age of 160 and have been camping with tents, caravans and motorhomes for over 50 years all over Europe, so I think we have a fair idea of the standards of site facilities, and at Bunree they were far from superior. I've never been subjected to such a reception and it spoilt the two-day stay. I expect to be welcomed and treated as a member, a paying guest, not a number on an accounts sheet. The facilities at Bunree are not even up to the usual (far from perfect) Club standard, with not even a curtain or screen in the outdated shower cubicles, which had water spraying over the partition and dirty run-off water flowing through. The cycle path from the site to the bridge near Glencoe is extremely narrow, overgrown and dangerous (and we are very experienced cyclists). Definitely not recommended for a family or anyone with a fear of traffic. Finally, there were far too many dogs on site, running loose by the shore. One such animal defecated on the grass by our pitch, right next to our doormat. 'Sorry' said the owner, 'she's old and can't control herself' - so perhaps the animal shouldn't be brought along to a campsite? Neighbouring campers (dog-owners one and all) were unsympathetic when I expressed my disgust. And the members' price of £43.80 per night for this experience (not even at a weekend) was apparently because of a cycling championship in Fort William. I regard this as exploitation - when the site is full, charge them double what it's worth? Every private site used in Scotland on the same tour was better - and cheaper - than the Club sites, and Bunree was the worst.

Sand Grownun

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/09/2023 17:30

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous location for a relaxing holiday

We stayed at Bunree for a week in September 2023. We got an amazing pitch right on the loch shore that made this location really worth staying at. The site has walks directly from it which was good as we dont like moving our van everyday and when we did move our van there were lots of other walks and places to explore within a short drive. The campsite facilities were clean and perfectly adequate but the showers could do with an update and modernisation. The staff were polite and friendly and kept the site exceptionally clean and tidy. There was a fish van that came round too! We had a very enjoyable stay and will be returning to explore the area further soon.

ClubMember30936FC19A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/09/2023 18:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent campsite

Unfortunately we only stayed here one night as were put off by previous reviews. Wish we had ignored them, the facilities were fine, large toilet/shower blocks which were large clean, bright and warm with oodles of hot water. There was a drying room which was useful as we had rain, which didn’t dampen our spirits. The walk to the waterfalls was amazing and the nearby pub/restaurant was friendly and welcoming. The views from the large pitches across the loch were incredible. We would have loved to stay a few more days but we’re on our way home from the NC500 and had to get home but what a lovely end to our adventure.

Neil Carr

Reviewed on 20/09/2023 15:23

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Location and views are hard to beat

Despite the offering of so many things to do nearby this site, it would be quite easy just to sit looking at the loch and mountains which constantly change with changes in light and cloud....simply stunning. We were blessed with excellent weather on the whole, but despite this pesky midges made only limited appearances. The only slight downside as mentioned by others is the aged and struggling shower block. Two of the showers were backing up when we were there, and when mentioned to the warden we were told it was due to the age of the building and infrastructure and little could be done. Given this site is one of the "jewels in the Club's crown" in terms of views and location, and popularity with members, it is now long overdue a significant refresh of the facilities and any infrastructure issues that exist. That would lift it from extremely good to outstanding in my view.

trussers

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2023 18:52

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very helpful staff

We arrived and the weather was beautiful. The site is in a beautiful location and has stunning views. Facilities were dated, but they were clean. Nice walk to roam west where there is a pub that also serves food (didn’t eat there though). We got the bus into fort William, the buses do not run regularly, but it was a pleasant journey. If you have dogs you must catch the N44 and dogs travel free. We decided to leave a day early to break up the journey home. When I handed the fob back to the staff they asked if we were stopping at a club site as they could transfer my booking. The staff did everything to find a site and transfer my night and could not of been more helpful. The only downside to the site is not having a shop so go fully prepared.

Naps

Reviewed on 10/09/2023 15:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site and the ‘facilities’ are fine!

Stayed for the first time and after reading the reviews expected awful (tired and shabby) toilet block! To my surprise they were very clean and fully functional - maybe not decorated to my taste😂 but modern WCs, sinks and taps and showers….. some people obviously think these need to be decorated like a boutique hotel or something, but they are fine! - it’s the views outside you are paying for!

Lifelongram

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/09/2023 10:44

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely peaceful club site

Second time we have stayed on this lovely loch side site. The views are fantastic. The facilities are clean and more than adequate...although I agree with others that the toilet/shower block could do with refurbishing. I do strongly feel that wifi should be free on sites to members...as most private sites are now supplying free wifi. The first time we stayed we took the ferry, walked around the ponds in woodland on the opposite shore, and went to the pub by the ferry. The wardens in site are helpful and friendly. This site was however the most expensive that we stayed on, including private sites while touring Scotland and the isle of Skye.

ScreenNameC850A7577A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/09/2023 22:41

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer