Commons Wood Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Friendly wardens

This was our second time on this site as it is near to our son and daughter-in-law. The wardens are very friendly and keep the site clean. The facilities are fine if a little tired. There are some nice dogs walks through the woods and a nearby park although on both visits the woods have been very muddy. We walked into the town and back, which took about 45 minutes each way. There are frequent buses but we didn't use them.

robsal

Reviewed on 02/06/2024 21:56

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good location but too many people living/working from the site

We stayed at Commons Wood site for a week to visit Hertfordshire. The site is well located and is not far off main roads. It is clean and my husband said the facilities were good. I didn't use them because we were pitched on one of the gravel roads so using my normal wheelchair was difficult. Fortunately, I have an off-road chair too but that isn't suitable for shower rooms. I had rung to ask about pitches but was told the site was full, which was fair enough. When we'd been there a day or two though, we realised that it was full because of people living in units, most which looked like they'd not been cleaned for years. Most of these had workmen living in them, some going out in work vans each day, at least one working nights and going out in high-vis each evening. I thought club sites were for leisure only. I don't actually mind people working from sites but I'm not keen on them living on site and they should have to clean their units occasionally. Other than that, we had a good week. We visited St Alban's and Hertford, which were both lovely. We went to The Galleria, and from there, walked out past Nast Hyde Halt, towards St Albans. Once away from the A1 area, it was a really peaceful walk. We also drove around some of the villages connected with our family history. Hertfordshire is probably not a top holiday destination, but it has a lot of beauty and some nice historic towns. Commons Wood site was a good base to explore. One final mention - there are walks from the site entrance into the woods. These are lovely but the entrance is narrow and the first section looks to get completely overgrown, so even in an off-road wheelchair, it's tricky and if you don't like walking through lots of nettles, probably not for you either in the summer.

Finnberrys

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/03/2024 07:01

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Not for us

If the CAMC had such a thing as promotion and relegation this site would be fighting for its life. Nothing to do with the staff or where it sits geographically in terms of a stopover, north or south bound but if you’re thinking about commons wood as a holiday destination think again. Too many worker’s vans with livery, not enough toilet facilities, pitches too close to each other and grounds poorly kept. All in all bottom of the league as far as our experience of CAMC sites are concerned…sorry x

McLaren128

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/03/2024 16:06

31 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Perfect Base For London

We chose Common's Wood specifically for it's super train links to London as we had lots of things booked for the weekend. We weren't disappointed on that front with easy and inexpensive parking at the Howard shopping centre and a train every half an hour and half an hour in to King's Cross. Given the urban location of the site we were impressed with how calm and tranquil it was. Thank you to the wardens who clearly work very hard to keep everything up to a high standard. Couldn't fault it. Welwyn Garden City turned out to be very nice and we also spent a day in St Albans which was lovely.

DSAJones

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/03/2024 20:43

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A more urban stay.

First time visitors to this site as we spent a week crossing Hertfordshire off our list of counties still to be visited. Having only travelled from Hampshire, we weren’t interested in taking advantage of the closeness of the site to London via the fast and regular rail links from Welwyn but we could quite understand those that might want to use the site for that reason. We are usually users of more rural sites, particularly with an energetic spaniel within our party, but found the site, as they tend to be, a pleasant oasis of calm amongst the nearby hustle and bustle. Of particular value with the said spaniel, was the neighbouring wooded area which gave plenty of space for his free running. Unfortunately the nearby Hatfield House and grounds was closed during our stay but we enjoyed a town walk round St Albans which happily included a very large park to satisfy our green space needs. Being on the edge of Welwyn, again with a large park, domestic needs were also easily satisfied. Pity the site didn’t have more info regarding other walking areas so we had to turn to Mr Google but found a good site with circular walks encompassing both the Alban and Cole Green Ways as well as other nearby footpaths, near immaculately numbered both in the route description as well on the path signage - something other counties could learn from! Site otherwise very well maintained with a happily not over- heated shower block but with plenty of hot water available. All in all very relaxing.

kipster

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/10/2023 19:06

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

2 Night Stay

We stay here a few times a year as its convenient for visiting family. Toilets and showers are very clean and the water is always hot, The site managers are very nice and always about working on site. We stayed on a grass pitch, which we prefer as the hardstandings are quite enclosed. Admit I'm not a fan of the grass being allowed to grow long/straggly to mark the boundaries of the grass pitches but thats probably just me! * Ive marked the good for families low as there isn't much for children to do as no park/facilities

AnDon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2023 11:31

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A peaceful stay

This was our first visit to a club site and it was much more peaceful than other sites we've visited. Toilets and showers were super clean but I would love a shower curtain so that the whole cubicle wasn't wet and a bench to put clothes on. We arrived late so not many pitches to choose from and we pitched next to a caravan that looked like it had been abandoned and that wasn't so good, we also didn't think that outside the gravel areas there was much space to sit unless in your awning so we felt quite close to neighbours. If we returned we'd get there for 1pm to pick a better pitch. It would be useful to give barrier keys on check in, I had no battery and almost missed the office closing, if id been told I urgently needed to return then I would have. Site was very peaceful especially at night.

ScreenName8B5C464D13

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2023 19:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Greatly Improved by New Wardens

We have been visiting this site over a number of years and noticed how much it had deteriorated over the last few years with the grounds not in a good condition. Have just returned from the site again and was amazed how much it had improved. I saw the wardens on their hands and knees cleaning up pitches that were unoccupied. The lawn mower was in full use, love the long grass idea which acts as a marker for the pitches. I was in shock when an elderly couple arrived to check-in at 11:15am! They walked on the site (office closed due to wardens completing their tasks) with their dog to pick out a pitch! They didn't stay long as the warden had words (rightly so). When are people going to stop arriving before 13:00hrs, not as if the club don't warn you when booking, by a follow up message to your phone, by signage at the sites. Great wardens, hard working, credit to them and the club.

StinkyPete78

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/07/2023 14:45

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Overnight stay

We used the site as an overnight stay as we were traveling back from Norfolk to Hampshire and had a theater trip bookend in at Alexander Palace at the end of our holiday. The site was surprisingly quite with very little road noise. The team on site were very good and didn't ask for our name but greeted us by our names and a big smile. I would use this site again as a break from a long journey. We can't say if it is good for families as it was just one night and there was only two of us.

ScreenName5D8498CC8A

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/06/2023 12:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Nice little site

Stayed here for a few nights over half term to visit friends and family in Saint Albans, reachable by half hourly bus service from a stop close to the site. The touring site is quite small, most of the business is for storage, but all the usual facilities are there and kept perfectly clean and tidy. We are advised not to leave things outdoors overnight because of resident foxes, but I did not see them, unfortunately. Apart from a little drift of rumbling traffic from the A1 and from aircraft, it was really peaceful. Transport to central London is via the rail station in Welwyn, which is either a drive/parking or a bus ride away. I didn’t try this. New town layout means it’s not possible to walk anywhere quickly “as the crow flies”! Welwyn is only 100 years old, but has an interesting history nevertheless. Saint Albans, of course is chock full of history, as well as quirky pubs, nice restaurants and shopping.

Vavavoom

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/11/2022 15:39

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer