Daleacres Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great site and wardens

Site spotless and quiet and the wardens went out of their way to help with everything, including walking routes. Not the best place to walk as the roads are narrow and busy, but the canal path was great...and interesting. The walk 'up the hill' to Lympne church gave fantastic views of the coast - and the zoo animals on the way down! Spent a day on the railway and good advice given with where to park the motorhome in Hythe. Many thanks to the friendly and helpful wardens!

OldAgeTravellers

Reviewed on 21/05/2021 19:47

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Site, A pity about the Power infrastructure

Stayed here for the May bank holiday, the site was very busy (almost capacity) but was in very good condition. The check n was really quick and streamlined and all facilities where spot on. The only issue was the constant power failures in the evening, in the end it became unbearable and I left a day early. Speaking to the on site staff, it seems the power has never been upgraded, and even though the 16Amp breakers are on the pitch, the reality is , when fully booked there is a max of 3amps per pitch (340amps supply to the site, 120 pitches). I really felt sorry for the team working there as they were really apologetic, but they were helpless.

Daz Law

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/05/2021 16:17

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Jewel of Kent

Superb site, beautifully maintained ans spotlessly clean. Wardens made us very welcome and Covid safe. Beautiful walks along the Military Canal and lots of places of interest close to its quiet location. Aspinals Zoo was a bonus as it was no more than a long walk away. Would thoroughly recommend this lovely site.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful first lockdown release

Another successful trip after Lockdown ended.Site much busier than expected with nice weather for a change,meaning we could get out and explore the area. Visited the restaurant called the "Waterfront" in Hythe,so had our first visit to a pub in an absolute age,nice food as well. Had a drive up the coast road through Dymchurch New Ronmey and Dungeness.All in all a successful couple of days to shakedown the van. There is quite a few things to do in the area,and being an hour from home makes this an idea site to get away.

Fozzie

from Kent

Reviewed on 26/04/2021 23:20

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful, pristine but best for physically able or those with petrol power

What a lovely welcome back to camping (after so long) from the site wardens. This site is lovely, immaculately cared for, clean and very peaceful (give or take some sort of war re-enactment on the Hythe ranges some distance away). Fantastic cycling with the Royal Military Canal Path about half a mile from site and then off road (on foot or bike) all the way into Hythe. This was approx 5 miles (with glimpses of Bison and Antelope from the pathway) but even just going there and back and exploring the sea front a little we managed 15 miles which is a reasonable distance for a social cyclist. You can also cycle onward to Folkestone with the lovely Lower Leas (with play area) and Harbour Arm. In the opposite direction, we managed a 35 miler from site to Dungeness along the sea wall and stunning coastline via Dymchurch, returning on Sustrans route 2 through the marshes on quiet roads (RHDR is available from Hythe!). There is plenty to offer in the area if you have the leg power or a motor to get you there; Romney, Hythe and Dymchurch Railway, Port Lympne Zoo, RSPB at Dungeness and much more. Without good cycling legs, an E-bike or car you might feel a bit isolated - there is no popping to the shop from this site (though the wardens ran a little shop with many of the basics available). If we hadn't recently invested in E bikes, I don't think we'd rate this site quite so highly but if you like walking and cycling this is a great spot and we will certainly return.

Kingyclan

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/04/2021 17:24

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Only an hour from home and what a gem of a site. Fairly busy as we were just out of lock down. Staff were lovely and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Good dog walking area. Will definitely be back.

markandclare

Reviewed on 18/04/2021 12:55

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Red Smart Car Man

Lovely staff who were very helpful and watched over me. The site is very clean and flat with a nice pub just a couple of hundred yards up the road that serves up proper honest grub.

ScreenName1214761CB4

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/11/2020 17:56

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site with friendly and helpful staff

Used this site for a base to play some golf at local courses. The staff were very helpful and flexible in accommodating our needs and timings. Lovely site and very peaceful. Will be back.

ScreenNameD2A533A4E9

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/10/2020 19:50

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site, but better for "tuggers" with a car.

I had a lovely week here in October with some favourable weather. The site is beautifully kept, one of the best; lots of lovely flowers in various beds, pots and other containers, still looking pretty in October. I did not use the facilities at all, given current conditions, so cannot comment on them, but, if the site itself was a guide, they must be good and very clean; I was also told by others that access was organised very well to minimise any risks. It is a large site with lots of grass pitches arranged for the most part, as is usually the case, to the rear of hard standings – rather anathema to me. However, it was not in high occupancy at the time of my visit, so this was not an issue. Personal preference is such that I would not choose to come here in the summer and particularly not in school holidays. I think it would have a very busy feel. Because of this, and also because of a lack of public transport nearby (being in a motorhome that stays put once pitched), Daleacres is not a site that I would normally choose. However, these are special times and public transport and populous places remain out for me; therefore an isolated site with lots of very flat countryside to enable easy bicycling was the appeal and why I specifically chose to come here. Lower Wall Road, on which the site is located, is narrow, but traffic light; cycling was not too bad, but walking felt unsafe. Once on the wider roads and many paths, cycling was excellent. Hythe can be reached either by cycle paths along much of the A259 or along a bridle path adjacent to the Military Canal north of the site. From Hythe, you can reach Folkestone along the front. Dymchurch, in the other direction, is not too far on mostly quiet lanes; thereafter the sea wall takes you to Littlestone and more quiet roads reach Dungeness. When running, the RHDR can transport you to New Romney and Dungeness, but you still need to reach a station – Hythe or Dymchurch being the options for cyclists or Hythe on foot, but a good hour walk. For walking in general, there are many footpaths, but they were largely vague tracks across muddy fields leading who knows where and accessing them meant walking for some part on the aforementioned narrow lane. Walking was not a good option. If wanting to venture north, you have to be prepared for hills; I wanted to reconnoitre Lympne/Ashford Airport as it once was, but Lympne Hill was too much. A kind warden gave me an alternative route with a gentler climb. This afforded me a lovely round trip and the joy of coming down Lympne Hill rather than trying to get up it! I bagged a great serviced pitch, number 8; the surface looked fairly new. One very minor complaint – the hoses on the chemical disposal points were way too short! But perhaps due to the virus? So, to sum up, a lovely site, best for caravanners with lots to visit in the area. I enjoyed my week here and I would recommend it highly for those with a car or those with a bike and lots of energy!

Graydjames

Motorhomer from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 12/10/2020 16:50

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent

Got back today from a long weekend at Daleacres. Very friendly wardens and a lovely site even though I picked one of the shadiest pitches on the site! The wardens made us feel very welcome on arrival and could not have been more helpful and every time you saw them on site they always had a friendly word. We will definitely be going back to this one.

Larkingabout

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/10/2020 19:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer