Daleacres Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing

This is our third site this year and with this in mind it was not a good experience, in fact I thought of leaving after the first day but we stayed... firstly it's important to state that the staff we met were lovely and friendly and the planting and care of all the plants was great, considering the scorching weather. Unfortunately the pitch was sited on a manhole cover, around this was a huge muddy patch (we had to cover this with a new breathable groundsheet, we have never used), at the far end of pitch were many 'stinging' nettles, there were many holes there and we tripped into them often, they were impossible to avoid. The toilet/shower facilities were cleaned once daily but were clearly not inspected outside 'cleaning hours' (was this due to staff shortage), the cisterns too often did not flush, 'Milton bands' were often missing, one knows this as there were no folk present in those areas. Children were too often unsupervised, running 'riot' late into the evenings, many children on bicycles 'zooming' around site carelessly, children climbing up the arch close to facilities, one fell onto me as I walked under the arch. I understand this is a family site, however this is also a site for many folk without children. On our departure a 'pack' of children ran out in front of our vehicle, luckily we were driving at less than 5MPH otherwise the inevitable would have happened. It must be said I have children, I know of their behaviours, many of these children were not taken outside site, we saw the same children constantly, the site is not a playground for children, they were seen on neighbours pitches, they literally often took over site. I am certain that every site should look more closely at health and safety policy with regards to supervision of children by parents/carers... Finally surely the more than once daily inspection of toilet/shower facilities is crucial, more-so with C19.

BongoLili

Reviewed on 14/08/2020 09:45

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Amazing as always

We have just come back from a week away at daleacres as we have been going every summer for the last 10 yrs, I must say we always love this site as it is so close to beach and amenities and lovely and quiet, but this year as well as the usual pros the wardens who are running it this year have really gone all out, they are so friendly and happy, and a lovely array of flower arrangements around the site, also the staff were amazing with the amount of cleaning of toilet blocks etc they now have to do in a day more than once, they have a wrist band system in place in toilet block which is great so only 3 allowed in at once and every other toilet and shower out of use for covid 19 works great, I have already booked again for next year thank you for am amazing week

aharrison1

Reviewed on 10/08/2020 16:05

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Overnight stay en route to Eurotunnel

We made 2 overnight stops on our route to Eurotunnel and back, as we had several hours driving either side of the crossing. The reception was efficient, including explanation of cleanliness routines for CoViD. Toilet / shower block was well organised, though a number of fellow campers didn’t seem to understand the need to limit numbers when they could see empty showers and cubicles! The dog walking area is a nice open field secured by a fence, and was much appreciated by us after hours of driving. There are also separate tent and children’s play fields which we didn’t use. The whole site is well-kept and tidy. Would definitely stay again!

Siegfried01

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/08/2020 14:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Short stay

We have just returned from a five night stay at Daleacres having never visited before and from the moment we arrived the site wardens were excellent, a credit to the Club. From the start they had to deal with all the arrivals with no computer system they were calm and dealt with is us in a very professional and friendly manner. The night prior to our arrival having concerns with all the new covid restrictions we called and within half an hour Diane the site warden returned our call and explained directions and the new procedures in a very reassuring manner. All of the wardens Diane,Jeff & Kim,Dave & Jacqueline, Richard work extremely hard and the site is a delight to visit all their hard work is very much appreciated, we certainly will be returning. Thank you all for a wonderful stay. kind regards Ian & Jo Weddell

Ianweddell

Reviewed on 01/08/2020 17:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Above and beyond

What can I say? Exceptional site with exceptional staff. Warm welcome with utmost efficiency. We had only planned today for 2 nights but due to the lovely atmosphere and beautiful surroundings decided to extend our stay which was done with minimum fuss and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff were lovely but special thanks to Richard and his wife Jacqueline who went out of their way to accommodate us. Every precaution was taken to ensure we were safe with cleanliness and social distancing measures put in place. Thank you everyone at Dale acres for an enjoyable and memorable stay

coco and ernie

Reviewed on 01/08/2020 16:15

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

I cycled at least 25 miles a day.

This was not the first time visiting this site and certainly will not be the last. I was welcomed by very friendly efficient wardens that explained the new Covid related regulations. Toilets and showers were very clean and kept to a high standard. If you like cycling or walking this is the place to stay. There are many level and very quiet country roads in the area. A pub within 10 minutes walk and the local brewery tap another 10 minutes walk. Similar to many club sites, this site is miles away from any town or village. So if you are in a motorhome, stock up before you arrive.

Apollojim

Motorhomer from East Sussex

Reviewed on 30/07/2020 09:08

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Our first trip of the year and off to a great start

Our first visit to Daleacres after a 25+ year absence and we were very pleased indeed with our stay there. Even though there were hygiene restrictions from the COVID situation we never experienced a queue at the facilities and the wristband system seemed to work well. We cycled in the virtually traffic free lanes outside the site and the nice scenery and lack of hills made for an enjoyable experience. The wardens were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The only negatives for me was the incredibly small dog walking area and that the kids play area was locked, which was strange given that Government advice was that they could reopen on 4th July. However these are very minor issues that in no way spoiled our experience. A first class site that we recommend.

Barry Dibble

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 29/07/2020 16:47

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Virus, what Virus!

Just returned from 14 nights 5/7/20 - 19/7/20. Greeted by smiling Wardens, booked in with every aspect of Coronavirus safety respected. Like going home! Have been going to Daleacres Man and Boy for over 40 years! The restricted facilities worked well with the wristband system, and they were always immaculate, the crew at Daleacres deserve every praise. I felt comfortable and safe, from the day I arrived until the day I left, with a lovely goodbye and wished a safe journey. My first 'ex lockdown' trip was a real pleasure, Very Many Thanks. Keith Bennett

Gen

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 19/07/2020 17:09

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic place!!

Well what can I say.. An amazing clean tidy and well kept site.. The staff are all very polite and always welcoming... They all work hard at being jolly and keeping the site spotlessly clean... Lots of special touches like flower and herb baskets placed around the site.. Making it look pretty .. Its a must to stay there... Beautiful views from the site... Lots of walking places to go to and cycling... We stayed from 4/7/20 until 11/7/20 and truly enjoyed every single minute... Richard and Jackie... You are the best... We will definitely return again.. Thank you.. 1 other mention... As the site opened after lockdown from covid 19.. Every single effort was made to make it safe for everyone... Thank you..

wenbil01

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 11/07/2020 18:40

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great campsite

Thanks we had a lovely stay. The nearby walks were brilliant and we really enjoyed cycling in the area. Friendly staff made us feel very welcome

MandyJohnSmudge

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/08/2019 23:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer