Dornafield Touring Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site with excellent facilities

We’ve just returned from a seven night stay at Dornafield. As previously mentioned, the site is down a very narrow lane, but no worse than many sites we’ve visited. We had a fully serviced pitch, number 40, in Blackrock Copse. This was a hardstanding with our own fresh water, waste water, toilet disposal, EHU and dustbin adjacent on the offside. Some pitches have facilities on the nearside, but there doesn’t seem to be any rules about pitching in any direction that suits you (some vans pitched nose in, others across the pitch). Our pitch had a view across to the dog walk and field beyond (you don’t appreciate the hilly nature when looking at the site plan). We had a walk around the large lower area (Buttermeadow) and the grassy Orchard, and realised we were in the best part to suit us. One of the play areas was directly behind us but, being just outside the school holidays, we didn’t even notice it was there. There is an information centre on site, as well as a room with table tennis, snooker and other games available. You can order newspapers, bread and other items from the local bakery in the site shop, and the farm shop and butcher at the nearby garden centre are good. There are fish and chips on site Monday and Friday evenings. We only tried the chips to accompany our own food, and they were nicely cooked. The shower and toilet facilities are spotless and modern, and apart from the showers being push button, were excellent. The washing up area and laundry looked clean and well maintained, however we didn’t use them. We enjoyed our week at Dornafield and would recommend it, particularly for caravans (which were by far the majority of visitors), but Blackrock Copse is the nicer, less crowded area in our opinion.

bandgirl

Caravanner from East Sussex

Reviewed on 12/09/2021 16:58

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Great Site But....

This is a lovely site. Clean and well maintained. The staff are really friendly and the site & facilities kept clean. The showers are however, quite dated, and reminded me of my school days (rinsing shampoo from ​my hair and trying to find the button on the wall to restart the water, without getting soap in my eyes.) The site is in a good location for visiting the South Devon area, however the road in and out is very narrow, and not the best access for larger caravans (we live in Cornwall so I don't make this comment lightly. We're used to narrow roads and tight corners.) For us though, the biggest disappointment was the lack of thought for children. There are signs everywhere stating No Rollerblades. No Scateboards. No scooters etc... And while there is a very large dog exercise area, there is no area for the children to safely play ball games. There is a very small (and old looking) play "Park" in a wooded area. Made for little ones. Not for children older than about 7. We visited with our 12 year old, and there was nowhere to play badminton or Boules, or football etc. She couldn't use her very quiet electric scooter. And we resorted to doing crossword puzzles with her, in our "down time." All in all a lovely site with lovely staff. But we won't return because of the lack of a suitable area for slightly older children to play and run off some energy. This site really would benefit from a large, open area for ball games at the very least.

HappyKampa99999

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 15/06/2021 08:41

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Clean and tidy with facilities on each pitch

Great location. Large busy site, Recycling facilities great and toilets large and clean (although a little dated). EHU, water and own waste on each pitch. Pitches are quite tight and if you have an awning, you will have to park you car elsewhere or across the front of the pitch. Access to site down a narrow but not busy road.

idpnc cc

Reviewed on 08/05/2021 16:22

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Rocket propelled lawnmowers

Just back from 10 days at Dornafield and we loved it. Nice pitch, facilities were excellent, the wardens we met seemed very friendly and helpful. Obviously everything is different because of you know what, but we thought the site had the balance of extra precautions whilst still allowing everybody to make the most of their holiday just about spot on. If you want a really good meal out, we can heartily recommend the Union Inn Denburgh, which is about 5 minutes from the site. Would cheerfully go back.

kipper01

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/07/2020 22:03

23 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great place to stay!!

Just come back from a three night stay this month (October 2019) and what a wonderful site. Absolutely immaculate, facilities are the very best we have ever seen and such welcoming Wardens. Great little shop on site and we had some great money off vouchers on the back of our site map, which we took advantage of. Amazing, safe dog walking areas, which our two hounds loved. Must be our favourite site so far and will definitely be staying again. The area is incredible and our first visit to this part of Devon. Will definitely be back.

mahootny

Caravanner from Staffordshire

Reviewed on 13/10/2019 19:32

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

We stayed in October 2016. A lovely site with fantastic fenced dog walk with pleasant views. The facilities were well maintained but cleaning of the shower block was below standard. Some of the wardens were unfriendly a smile or hello would have been nice, if you don't like your job then leave because a site is only as good as the wardens help make it. Great place to stay and I would visit again.

expression2016

Reviewed on 07/03/2017 05:15

11 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic stay

Just returned from 10 days at this site. Wardens and staff friendly and helpful. Our Pitch in Butter Meadow was a suitable size for our caravan and towing vehicle, and clearly marked with pitch number, so easy to find on arrival. Toilet and shower block were clean and a pleasure to use.  Laundry room was a distinct plus with washing machines, driers and an iron and ironing board.  Access road a bit narrow but plenty of passing spaces. Shop had adequate stock of essentials and fresh bread, rolls etc from local bakery could be ordered up to 4.30 the day before. Fish and chips available from Quarry Kitchen on site on Monday and Friday evenings - freshly cooked to order and worth the wait.  Overall an excellent site that we will stay at again. 

Beefee007

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2016 14:58

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Dornafield

We were looking forward to spending the last four nights of our holiday at Dornafield. The site itself is beautiful and very well maintained and the dog exercising field at Blackrock was brilliant. Unfortunately our first doubts of the friendliness uuof the staff, surfaced at the booking in stage - a smile is so welcoming but we didn't get one!

 

We had to ask the warden on duty if he would kindly dispose of some broken crockery for us (the result of a slight run in with a railway line en route) - again, his manner was unfriendly. Each time we saw him, not once did he say good morning or smile. The wardens can make or break your holiday. On another note, the wardens seemed to use the site as a race track and unlike usual Caravan Club sites, caravans and cars seemed to park as best they could in the space provided - cars were parked quite higgledy piggledy in places. We were disappointed at such a beautiful site otherwise - we do not think we would return to Dornafield. 

Briana55

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/07/2016 18:57

7 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Dornafield

Access to the site is via a single track road with passing places for approximately half a mile. This can be a little tricky if you meet an oncoming vehicle. However, the site is immaculate and well-maintained with two excellent dog-walking areas - one is enclosed with close-cut grass and the other has close-cut pathways through long grass and wild flowers. Good fish and chips are available on site twice a week. We encountered two problems which would make us think twice about returning: the pitch we were allocated was too small (despite providing the length of the van when booking) which resulted in the tow-bar being right up to the roadside (it should have been 1 metre back). We asked if we could move to a larger pitch as we would be there for just over two weeks but were told that this wasn't possible, even though there were many pitches unoccupied at the time. We noticed that a number of smaller vans had been allocated longer pitches and some other caravans which arrived after us were experiencing the same difficulty as we had. The irony is that, after two or three days, the site owner stopped in his buggy and he commented that we were too close to the road. We explained that we had asked to move and he apologised and asked if we would like another pitch. With the caravan set up and the awning in place, we declined. The second problem – which we considered far more serious – related to the speed at which many of the service vehicles (including golf buggies, tractors and ride-on lawn mowers) travelled around the site. They ‘zipped’ around at speeds which often far exceeded the 5mph limit. It was interesting to note that a number of other caravanners commented on this, and we would certainly not consider taking our grandchildren to this site because of the safety aspect. A large number of the residents had seasonal permits and caravans are stored at the site and towed back and forth as required by a tractor. Unfortunately, the tractor driver also drove rather quickly and seemed to have little regard for the caravans he was towing along ground which could sometimes be a little uneven. We hope that the owners will take steps to resolve these issues as it really is a lovely site.

Bentota

Reviewed on 27/06/2016 14:54

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Tricky Access

Site very clean and tidy but a bit regimented.We were told where to pitch unfortunately under trees, constant drips.Hard standing a bit tight for large units no room for our awning, not allowed on grass off the standing.We tow a car this also not allowed next to motorhome except by special request. The site has many seasonal pitches full of regulars we felt excluded. The access is via a very narrow lane not really suitable for larger units. All in all a good site for solo car drivers who leave their vans for the season not for tourers

Witzend50

Reviewed on 03/06/2016 10:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer