Dornafield Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

This is a wonderful site.

What a wonderful site in a beautiful area. The individual sites are extremely well spaced with a disguised bin shared between every two. It’s extremely well maintained by lovely friendly staff. The bonus for dog owners is the very large, off lead area with a huge field on a hill where the dogs can get their much needed exercise in safety. Quite close by is a lovely pub with excellent food too. We loved it and plan to return.

RileysJourney

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/10/2023 09:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic friendly little site.

This is a lovely clean, well maintained little site. The receptionist greeting you was very knowledgeable and friendly. All staff very accomodating and cheerful and this reflects on the site. Nice size pitches, we booked a serviced pitch which included our own water tap and refuse collections from a bin nearby. Showers and toilets were absolutely immaculate, could not fault these at all. A nice seating are with mirror and plug points to be able to use a hair dryer or appliance if required. Very friendly holiday makers, as the site is smaller, you see the same faces around as you walk and it makes the holiday more enjoyable. Lots of children playing, which again was good for my own daughter to join in. There is a games room which is good, an information room with a library of books should you run out of reading material and need a swap. The play park and tennis courts were unfortunately out of bounds, as they are due an upgrade/refurb? This was minor but the park would have been good for the kids to go to. My only real gripe is very very poor internet connection. We had no signal for the TV and no wifi for phones. Having two teenagers, this was the end of the world. I did spend £15 on wifi from the club, but it was very intermittent. One other negative feedback is the very narrow country lane that you have to go down to get to the park. The locals know this road well and bomb down it, so you need to be very aware and alert when towing down it. Also when going out and about (without van) you need to approach each bend with care and caution. Fantastic holiday here and we will definitely return.

ScreenName934AF75FCB

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2023 16:18

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Sure to become a favourite of ours

Spotless toilet and shower facilities, lovely wardens, very peaceful and relaxing. And a super friendly local pub just a short walk away. We shall return for sure.

stevehilleard

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2023 18:48

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Still a good site ...

This was my first visit back to Dornafield this year having had quite a few visits over the last few years. There have been changes. The site is still lovely. Toilet and shower blocks clean as expected. Especially love the space in the showers (but not the push button for water) as there is room to change and keep everything dry. The grass around the pitches was longer than has been previously. There is now long grass in the smaller dog walk which is not ideal as long grass equals seeds equals vet bills. This was always kept immaculate. The larger dog walk was open and is a delight to see all the insects and butterflies thriving. This is an unmown area with a path through. The view at the top is great. WiFi is expensive and 4G non existent. The childrens play areas werent open but that doesn't affect me. The site was peaceful and not busy at all. Most of the wardens friendly and welcoming. I think there is less staff there now so an extra pair of hands is probaly needed. The shop wasn't very well stocked but again I wasn't bothered as I popped into local shops when out. The garden centre and butchers at the top of the road is a must to visit. Easy to get to Totnes, Torquay, Salcombe, Paignton and out onto Dartmoor. I have more visits booked over the next few weeks so I'm hoping the weather is going to improve as it was very wet and windy. There is a pizza van on site Friday and Sunday. Tasty £12.50. Fish and chips is going to be on Wednesday as the old on site hut has gone. I'm used to allocated pitches and pre-booking my pitch there. This has changed and isn't going to be easy in peak period as some pitches are quite small. Overall a lovely site but CMC please don't try and fix what ain't broke.

Tiggydog

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2023 15:57

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous campsite

This is the 2nd time i have stayed here, I was on the grass pitch No 2. By reception. Fabulous place and beautifully maintained. The toilet block and shower block are spotless, they also smell lovely and are always clean. The staff here work very hard especially the cleaners. I used the launderette which was very helpful saved me a journey to town, although one machine was broken and they are dated but they still work, same price as town but they did the job no stress. I would definitely recommend this site for beauty, cleanliness, friendly staff, and generally a really nice 2 weeks. They also do pizza i think once a week on a Sunday although sadly not had one but they were busy.

ScreenNameEFDB2943F6

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/07/2023 17:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great site - spacious and friendly

We have been visiting Dornafield for many years and have always enjoyed the family atmosphere and the clean and spacious pitches. A little reticent with the site being taken over this year , have noticed a few changes but have still enjoyed quite a few breaks already. We have survived No Mow May but feel strongly that there is far too much grass on this site to forego an entire month of no grass cutting. The appearance was not a good look and the wet grass pretty tedious being trudged in and out of the caravan. As predicted - the mowing work to return the grass to its neatness seemed to take 3 times as long! Hopefully, this tradition will be excused at Dornafield next May. Still love the pitches but disappointed with the hedges this year, again, they were always maintained so regularly and so well , hopefully it is just a blip while much needed further staff are engaged. Please note that these points are in no way directed at the wonderful wardens and staff who the Caravan & Motor Home Club have been lucky to inherit, but without doubt, they are being asked to carry one heavy load. Extra tip….bring your own toilet roll - That has definitely changed!

lizbec

Reviewed on 20/06/2023 20:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

This was the first time we had been to Dornafield and hopefully not the last. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially when we had no electricity once we had pitched up but the problem was sorted out quickly. Never been to a site where the facilities were separated into a shower block and also a toilet/wash up block. Plus the number and size of the cubicles together with the spaciousness was brilliant definitely the best facilities we have used on any Caravan Club site. The site is laid out as though in different boroughs of a town and each one is then separated with hedges some with only two caravans in a section. All are service pitches with the addition of your own concealed dustbin with a disc to advise the wardens when it needs emptying. On using the lane to/from the site you need to be very careful and alert for other traffic. Would have liked to have stayed longer but will definitely be booking again in the future.

maidstone cjc

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 04/06/2023 00:03

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very helpful staff

Whilst staying on site in early May we had a major emergency whereby my wife was admitted to Torbay hospital. The staff onsite were brilliant and the problem was compounded by the fact we had our car as well as the Motorhome. I drove my wife home in the car and the Motorhome was rescued by the AA. Special thanks to Paul for his reassurance and advice. John and Jane Walker

jwalker73044

Reviewed on 23/05/2023 16:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Very quiet

Just returned from a week at Dornafield. The two wardens on site were very friendly and welcoming. Toilets and showers were the cleanest I have ever been to on a Club site, spotless. Washing up facilities are excellent, even have a bowl and drainer! Pitches varied in size, we have a twin axle caravan, some of the pitches were a bit short. Children's play area was not open, needed some tlc, so hopefully this will improve, tennis court again not open and needs attention. The indoor games room was ok to spend a little bit of time in. We did not use the shop, didn't look like there was much on the shelves. One dog walking area was open the other larger one which apparently has a lovely view from was closed due to tree felling. It is a perfectly placed site to visit Dartmouth, Dartmoor, Torquay, Salcombe, Blackpool sands etc. The nearby garden centre is fabulous, lovely cafe, onsite butcher etc. The pub at the top of the road, is a walkable distance, generous plates of home cooked food.

angiepanjie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/04/2023 17:25

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Revisiting places when I was a child - 40+ years ago!

We stayed here recently for 9 nights with my parents. They had a Motorhome and we had a caravan. We booked Blackrock Copse and were sited next to each other as requested. Booking in was simple, pleasant. and courteous. The facilities were excellent -modern, clean and tidy with piped music! They got the big thumbs up from our teenage daughter! The information room was spot on with lots of good information and plenty of it. The games room had plenty of things for the children to do. Also, there were two play areas for the children. On site, they have fish and chips two nights and pizza two nights - all served at the Quarry kitchen on site. Additionally, they have a little independent place serving freshly ground coffees and homemade cakes/ biscuits on three days during the week between 9am and 2pm. My mum said the coffee was lovely and service was really nice. Yes, the site is situated down some narrow lanes and it is tight on the exit from the campsite, but if you take it nice and slow you will not encounter any big problems and you can pass other traffic safely. The site was ideally located for us to revisit all the places I went to as a child with my parents and grandparents in the 1970s and 1980s!! A lot has changed since then. We would definitely come back to this site.

Andyp72

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/08/2022 16:53

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer