Dunnet Bay Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful beach site

Two minutes walk to the beautiful beach at dunnet bay. Site clean and well run. Ideal for walking and for pets. Walk in the woods just down The road from the site which is worth a visit.

Dawnie55

Reviewed on 29/09/2023 20:51

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

NC500

Only stayed one night doing NC500. Lovely site very close to beach. Facilities where good. Staff very helpful.

ClubMember2F0D8D0CE4

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/09/2023 18:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site, friendly staff

We had a fabulous two night stay here with our dogs as part of an NC500 trip - easy access to the beach, clean facilities and a peaceful stay over all. Highly recommend.

ClubMember192185B18F

Campervanner

Reviewed on 17/08/2023 12:19

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site on great beach location

Great site with nice and clean facilities and friendly staff. Great location not far from John o groats. It’s on top of a lovely clean sandy beach which see saw lots of seals and seal pups on and it’s great for a walk along too. Highly recommend for a stop over

Paul Pring

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 19:53

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great one night stay

Another club site we used during our tour of the Highlands and NC500. A friendly welcome and some great views. The pitch we had was a grass one but solid, which we were pleased with as it was a night of wind, rain and even a bit of hail. Good access to the beach which our dog enjoyed. It is always a pleasure to pitch on these club sites as they are of a high quality and the staff are always friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night before continuing on with our tour so can only comment on our experience during this time.

Lionel Murphy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/08/2023 15:44

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Gorgeous beach side living

Just left and had drag the kids away! Sandy grass underfoot when we stepped out of the van this morning with coffee in hand Off for a toasty hot shower to wake up( bit too much vino last night as we watched sun set over Dunnet beach) . Clean facilities, friendly staff,private gate directly onto beach and dunes Small shop with essential ice creams and pop Quieter than when we were last here in 2021 ..which is a good thing Midge free Surf lessons on safe beach Didn't catch any fish off my paddle board..might try flat fish tackle next time as it's a shallow sea going out miles Fresh fish van from Scrabster calls( fresh unfrozen haddock for me Scallops for the Mem Pizza van once a week This site is on a great beach within a vibrant local community which you help support with your local spending.The road behind the site is used by locals going about there lives,tractors, buses and local families going to the beach..it's deadly quiet at night All in great stay .

Andyandsue

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/08/2023 12:30

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed!

We were really excited to get to Dunnet Bay campsite, looking forward to 11 nights with beach walks on a quiet site. Unfortunately, we were disappointed due to the fact that the site is poorly laid out and VERY noisy due to the busy road that runs to the side of the site, with no hedging anywhere on the site to even dampen the noise. (thank goodness for ear plugs!) We are caravanners, so often stay for more than a week to explore the area we are in. This site is really catered for the 'overnighter' motor homes and campers, that are using this as a base for the NC500 and the travellers going to and from John O'Groats. The beach is beautiful and clean and easily accessible. The facilities on site were good and well kept with some essential items to purchase from reception if need be. The ice creams are a great idea. We had a clear view of the bay, which really was the only redeeming thing about this site as it gave us some lovely sunsets. If you want to use this site as a quick drop in then it would be ideal for you, but if you're looking for a longer stay I would suggest you find something more off the beaten track.

Freedom Freddie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2023 11:13

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Transient Site

Overall the sight is in a great location being almost on the beach and a lovely bay it is too. What you will need to know is this is a very transient site with exceptionally high turn over of motorhomes doing the NC500. Unfortunately due to the popularity of the NC500 the area and the site is somewhat spoilt by a small minority of feckless motorhome users, that seem to think that it is acceptable to walk between pitches, play football around the pitches and sit there running their engines for hours on end. So if these types of selfish behaviours are going to irritate you, then this is not the site for you but then probably every campsite on the NC500 will be a problem. Also if you are thinking the wardens will challenge any antisocial behaviour then think again as they won’t! The site itself is OK in terms of amenities but I don’t know what it is about Caravan and Motorhome sites but they seem to be incapable of maintaining the site so that there are level grass pitches. Personally I don’t care about the mowing and would happily for go that for a bit of peace rather than the feeling you are visiting a construction site. I do however have an issue with pitches that are a mess in terms of grade, slopes are fine but the ones that are all over the place are ridiculous. My only other comment was upon arrival the code to the toilet block is held as ransom until you tell them where you have pitched. Whilst they will give you the code if pressed, it seems to be under the duress of you having to have a toilet emergency! What in the 21st century gives people the right to think they can make people feel awkward about asking to use the facilities you have just paid to use. It is this type of pedantry behaviour by wardens that really irritates me that they seem to think the place is run for their connivance rather than for the benefit of the members who pay for it.

Why Oh Why

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/07/2023 21:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely clean and quiet site with a great beach

We stayed in our motorhome on this lovely site for 3 nights at the very beginning of June 2023. It has spacious, all grass pitches with power. It is pretty much level, although some pitches will need chocks. The check in was quick and easy with friendly and helpful staff. The utilities were security coded with a number lock, but that is good because the general public would be able to get in otherwise. There were plenty of showers and toilets, as well as an inside dishwashing area, all with hot water. Unfortunately for us, the weather closed in the day after we arrived, but we still had a great time with our dog. The beach is accessed direct from the site, as well as the public carpark next door, and is almost all sand, which we were told is 2 miles long, and the tide goes out a long way. Even when the tide is in it does not cover the whole beach, so you can still get onto it. Our dog loved just running up and down as she was allowed off the lead. Behind the site, and across the road, is a large woodland which has lots of laid out walks. Every now and then you will see a carving, and on one walk you can come across a log cabin; but it only has benches and information boards, no drinks unfortunately. The dog can go off the lead here as well. There was no children's play area on site, but they probably won't need it here, with the beach and woods. We will definitely return, hopefully with sunny weather.

Lady Lesley

Reviewed on 23/07/2023 10:59

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

Great site with friendly and helpful site managers. Had a relaxing 3 nights here, great views and a lovely beach accessed straight from the site which the dogs loved. Visited John O'Groats which was very quiet, then drove to Duncansby Head Lighthouse and had a walk to see the Stacks which was very scenic. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer