Englethwaite Hall Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Another relaxing break

Another five days of total relaxation, what a fabulous site, one day of sporadic rain, four days of dry November weather, clean and dry enough to walk round the lakes and forest twice a day and admire the lovely new bench that was made by Jason & Yvette (neighbours of the site) plenty of hard work for the excellent managers Mick & Carol who keep the site immaculate but no matter how busy always have time for a friendly chat. Thank you so much and roll on next March when the site re-opens.

Dweebs

Reviewed on 06/11/2023 20:26

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Ideal for our short stay to show our puppy at The Border Terrier Clubs national open show

A beautiful tranquil site with excellent dog walking facilities. We will definitely be returning for any shows we are exhibiting in in future in the wider Cumbria area. We will recommend the site to other dog show enthusiasts who find travelling to shows in the area in just one day too stressful.

ClubMember2EF7CBED00

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/10/2023 13:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site for a Relaxing break.

This is the second time we have stayed at Englethwaite Hall as its a convenient site halfway between our home in the Highlands and our family in the Westcountry. We received a warm welcome upon arrival and chose our pitch and enjoyed our time there in a most relaxing way. There are no toilet and washroom facilities and no parks. However, my granddaughter enjoyed walking through the woods to the near by lakes and seeing some wildlife and horses on the way. This is a relaxing site where you can kick back and read a good book. Its all about tranquility. I think this site is suitable for couples and families who enjoy nature and their surroundings. Englethwaite Hall wouldn't suit kids looking for parks, wanting to kick football's about or want to ride around on electric scooters. Its a bit off the beaten track but you will receive a warm welcome when you get there, and there's a small shop which stocks a few essentials and ice lollies.

Steve803

Caravanner from Aberdeenshire

Reviewed on 29/08/2023 21:01

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Perfect

From the perfect floral display upon arriving at the reception, to the friendly hardworking wardens who do an incredible job keeping the site immaculate, my five day stay again was perfect, this site is worth so much more than an overnight stop when on a long haul trip. Definitely time to sneak in a couple of more visits before the end of this sites season. Thank you

Dweebs

Reviewed on 24/08/2023 15:44

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A very pleasant return.

This site is definitely one of my favourite on the entire network. The location and the surrounding area is just stunning, especially when (like me) you get the weather. Armathawaite is a lovely close village, as is Wetheral, and both offer great walking along the River Eden. Coombs Wood is a great place to walk the dogs near Armathwaite. The site is beautifully maintained and the display of flower baskets and containers all around the site, especially at the Reception building, are amazing. The Site Staff really know what they're doing here! The Staff were very welcoming. No facilities block which really appeals to me as it makes for a very peaceful site, and pitches are arranged in amongst varying areas of the grounds. A great dog walking field on the site, and direct access to High Stand Forest from a gate on the site. Thanks for a great few nights!

IainGill

Reviewed on 15/08/2023 17:14

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Happy Returning Caravaner

This is our second long awaited visit to Englethwaite Hall and we're not disappointed! We simply love this site. There are no toilet/wash facilities, but the site and reception are always clean, tidy and well presented. It's a true pleasure to return and enjoy the 'haven' the site has to offer. It's peaceful, relaxing anc provides walks and woodland which are wonderful to experience. The pitches are also very nicely spaced to provide a more private feel. We would visit far more often if lived closer, but when the opportunity arises again (which will hopefully be soon) we will certainly be booking to stay again. We highly recommend Englethwaite Hall if you want an enjoyable relaxing holiday!

WalterR

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/07/2023 17:22

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Nicest site our dogs have ever been to

Stopped just one night on way to Scotland. Chosen just because it was convenient being just off M6. Lovely site with everything neat and tidy and level - as you would expect. What we did not expect was (instead of the usual couple of hundred yards of so-called dog walk) this site has a decent woodland walk right round the perimeter of the site, plus an off lead field to play in, plus access to the adjacent forestry commission site offering more off lead walks through the woods and round the lakes. Just the job for tiring them out before loading them into the van for another long haul north. Will definitely revisit.

Linda

Motorhomer from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 18/07/2023 21:41

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Buddy the GSD upholds the 5 Paws of Approval!

I asked Dad if he'd dictate this review for me - I'm Buddy the GSD dog. I stayed at your pawsome site last week & wow!! 5 Paws of Approval isn't enough numbers, this one should go up to 11! Mam & Dad have been before, but it was my first time. Sooooo very peaceful & relaxing for them, they said you feel all stresses melt away the minute you arrive, already knowing what a fab site it is.. for me, it was the ultimate in doggy utopia! They have so many exciting woodland walks it's like being on a daily sniffari, we could've gone for miles & miles, a huge safe enclosed doggy field I could run around & the friendliest most welcoming humans at reception who gave me cuddles, scratches, told me I was a handsome boy & gave me biscuits! Mam & Dad had to have the fab ice cream every day too. So.. if you love a site that, even when nearly full, is so tranquil that you feel you're the only one's there, then this is the place for you! Mam would love to share the pics she took of me looking ultra happy there if she can.

McPawPod

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/07/2023 20:09

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely and peaceful.

We stopped off here for a night on the way to Scotland and changed our return stay a week later from one to two nights it was so nice here. The staff are friendly and helpful. The site is well looked after and very pretty, nestled in the trees. Well located with Carlise City within a few miles and easy access to the lake district. Very close by is river Eden and small lakes/ walks. We plan to return for a longer stay very soon.

ScreenName8559D1B10F

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/07/2023 18:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Peace and tranquillity

I found this little haven of peace and tranquillity for an overnight stop between the Moray coast and Warwickshire. I would love to return for a longer stay in the future.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer