Englethwaite Hall Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

A hidden gem!

This site was a 2 night stop for us as we were travelling up to Scotland. Wow, what a wonderful site, beautiful surroundings and well kept grounds, the wardens and staff here are doing a great job of keeping this site nice, keep up the good work. Lovely to be in the woodlands, peace and quiet and lots of wildlife about. Just wonderful. We would recommend this site and we would definitely return if we are travelling in this direction again.

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Such a wonderful site

Just back from a two week stay. We have been members for over 40 years and this was our first time at Englethwaite Hall site. What a wonderful place to stay. The site was extremely well kept and is a tribute to the all of the work put in by the site managers and volunteers, all of whom were very friendly and hard working. The layout is superb with ample room on each pitch. Good to find that site does not have a facilities block as we always use our own, but has everything else that is needed. Lovely walks both on on off site. The road outside the site was generally very quiet and suitable for taking ourselves and dog for a walk. The site is very quite and really is a nature lovers paradise. Many of the pitches are very sheltered but you did not have to walk far for lovely views. Hope the club keeps this site as it is and we will definitely be returning.

Reviewed on 09/10/2021 11:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Up There With The Best

It's been a few years since we last stayed at this site but we were not disappointed. Peace, quiet, back to nature are all words/phrases that spring to mind and are all up our street. Super friendly and helpful wardens who work hard to keep the site beautifully maintained. Plenty of walking from the site - direct access into the forest and a decent dog walk for the early morning/late night excursions. Highly recommend Duke of York at Armathwaite for food - newly refurbished and new owners. Easy access from the M6 making it an ideal stopover but recommend you make time to stay longer.

JennysJaunts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2021 21:38

130 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Don’t miss the Fariy Dell

First time on this site. Very friendly and helpful temp wardens. Gave me loads of advice about the local pubs and which ones had room for a M/H in the car park. Don’t miss the Fairy Dell is really great, a lot of work has gone into this. Sorry to say we didn’t see any Red Squirrels but glad to say we didn’t see any Grays either. Lovely walks in the woods. Just wished we had time to stay longer. Beautiful display of flowers around reception.

RASB

Motorhomer from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 05/10/2021 16:25

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful

This is not a site for you if you have children as there are little facilities for them. The site itself is located a fair distance from "civilisation" and a car journey is necessary to be able to reach places. That said, Armathwaite station is within walking distance for trips further afield, but do check the timetable as they are not that frequent. The fact that the site is a minimal facility location appeals to us as we have perfectly adequate facilities on our unit so don't tend to use the toilet blocks of other sites. We have stayed here before and will do so again as there is just so much to explore on foot and further afield. Can recommend Housesteads Roman Fort near Haltwhistle. I cannot add much to what others have already said, but I was disappointed not to see any red squirrels. Saw plenty of grey's and this is probably the reason why as they will out-compete the reds.

pegwr33

Caravanner from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 18:39

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

superb site very well maintained

First time we had ever stayed at this site, and it will certainly not be our last. The site has to be one of the best in the site network and beautifully maintained by the very enthusiatic and welcoming wardens. Everywhere is clean and tidy and there are superb walks through the trees (and fascinating grotto created bythe wardens) and onwards to the lakes and forest. Lots of walking and all accessible from the site. Apart from the woods for the dogs, there is also a dedicated dog run which is a securely fenced and gated field again very well maintained. We only stayed 5 days, but shall be back next year even though it is a 400 mile drive for us. Thank you wardens, your hard work is appreciated

rkj52

Caravanner from Cornwall

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 08:26

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Stopover on route to Scotland

No satellite coverage because of trees, no facilities, no yapping dogs or children. Just perfect peace and quiet. Went for a cycle around the local villages. Site immaculate, wardens were excellent. Too good a site for a stopover, my favourite site on this current road trip

letouldren

Reviewed on 07/09/2021 20:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peace and tranquillity.

Stayed here with our caravan for 5 nights on a fully serviced pitch which was excellent; large grassed area to the rear and magnificent trees all around. Very friendly and helpful wardens and site maintained to high standard. Local walks but other attractions of this beautiful area require transport to access so perhaps less attractive for longer stay motorhomers. Only ‘hot spot’ WiFi available at reception which is disappointing but shown as such in Sites Directory. We enjoyed a day on the Carlisle to Settle railway joining at the local village of Armathwaite (limited free parking). Much better than driving 6 miles to Carlisle and paying for a day’s parking. Peaceful and tranquil site set in beautiful surroundings. We will return!

jayaretee

Caravanner from North Yorkshire

Reviewed on 24/08/2021 22:49

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Just wonderful!!

This was the 5th site out of 6 on our tour this August and was my firm favourite. Fabulous welcome from the wardens who were informative, friendly and with a good sense of humour. The site is idyllic with a choice of more open or sheltered pitches. Great amount of space around our pitch and access to a woodland dog walk with our Labradors. There is also an enclosed dog area where they can run off lead.....just brilliant! Everywhere was really well kept with beautiful flowers covering the reception. Carlisle and it's facilities are a short drive away. Already booked to go back next year if I can wait that long!

ScreenName2A843212CA

Reviewed on 19/08/2021 15:42

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer